We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$153
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
US$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$319
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
636
22
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstide poolsla guindazip linehowler monkeysbird watchingcosta ricahorseback ridinglong hikenight hikeclassic cabinthe pacific oceansan josefer de lancehoneymoon packagehiking trailsopen airguided hike
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 668 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent 6 nights at El Remanso for our delayed honeymoon. We could not have asked for a more perfect experience. I could repeat the entire previous review, it was just an amazing, most special adventure. The lodge and the grounds were beautiful, the owners Adriana and Daniel, wait staff, and activities staff were extremely warm, friendly and accommodating, and the activities were wonderful. Gerardo and Rinaldo were fabulous guides with an enormous wealth of knowledge and passion for the Osa Peninsula. The wildlife was amazing, even just sitting on our balcony we saw monkeys, toucans, scarlet macaws, and more.

We liked that there are not more than 30 guests, and that all of the staff knew us by name from the first night. Although there are no locks on the cabin doors, we could not have felt safer among our fellow travelers and the welcoming staff. We stayed in the La Guinda cabin, which was worth the splurge for a very special romantic, private retreat. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. We did a lot of planned activities, but also had time to relax as well as explore the deserted, pristine beach and hike on our own. We added on surfing lessons one day which was fantastic and definitely worth the money.

We were particularly impressed by the sustainability and green measures the lodge has taken, it was inspiring. Completely unplugging from technology for the week was delightfully refreshing. We would have been happy to stay another week, and I already miss the paradise we found at El Remanso, it was truly the vacation of a lifetime.

Room Tip: The La Guinda deluxe cabin was the perfect private honeymoon retreat. The view from the balcony was breathtaking, and we could even see the ocean from the shower!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had the great pleasure of being guest in January 2012. Four amazing days, wishing we had arranged to have stayed longer. From the moment we were greeted at the airport in Puerto Jimenez by Gabby's brilliant smile and warm welcome... we knew we were in good hands. Our driver was happy to share his knowledge about the surrounding country side and wild life on our drive to the Lodge. He also had wild life picture and information cards available for us to read. He went out of his way to stop enroute to point out monkeys, (which I am in love with), scarlet macaws, and various other species of birds.

Upon our arrival, Lovely Silvia greeted us with a refreshing ice tea and a complete briefing and short tour of the property while the staff delivered our bags to our cabin. Silvia talked at length about our options for daily activities and assured us we could change around our intinerary based on our interests. Very flexible. Silvia was always readily available to assist us on any matter. She was a great pleasure. The grounds were breath taking. Spotless, easy to get around, a garden in paradise. Amazing staff!!!

The dining was excellent, the food choices were excellent and plentiful. Sunset cocktails and appetizers daily. Great wine selection. The waiters and waitresses were excellent, anticipating your every request. Gathering around the bar at sunset was always much fun. The open air dining room was comfortably furnished, intimate, view to the ocean breath taking and candle light at dinner so relaxing and romantic. Tea, water and snacks are available all day. Coffee was of course costa rican, the best ever!! With fresh cream!!! I appreciated it being fresh all day long.

We arrived at our cabin after sunset. Much more than what I had expected. The pictures on line did not do it justice. It was softly lit and so romantic. Fresh flowers on our bed, and on the sink basin. Very Private and Intimate! The cabin was spotlessly clean. And kept this way each day. The king size bed and linens extremely comfortable. The entire cabin is screened in. Ceiling fans kept us cool. Napping in the hammock in the afternoon.The mosquito netting around our bed was never used. It was definately a romantic touch, Being in the jungle, the most we had was a few ants. No other critters. Enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle. Woke with the howler monkey's in the early morning. Coffee was available at 6:oo am!! Endless hot water in our open air shower. Upscale bathroom fixtures. Our front deck was perfect for morning coffee. Humming Birds, butterflies, wild life all around. An extra lovely touch... tea lights and matches replaced every day. We fell asleep at night in candle light.

The following day we met Gerardo for the long nature walk.Turns out Gerardo has a degree in Evironmental science Lasted 4 hours and within miinutes of meeting him we were captivated with his enthusiasm and knowledge of the forest we were walking through. A guide in the jungles of Costa Rica is a must because the animals are everywhere around you, blending into there environment, camoflaged and invisible to the untrained eye. The following day we were encouraged to go on the early morning bird walk, we were not disapointed. Gerardo found 4 different species of monkeys, Toucans, Parrots, mating pair of Scarlet Macaws in there nest feeding their young. Because he was the best guide ever he found a sleeping sloth curled up in a tree.
Next adventure was the waterfall repelling. This adventure follows a river and we repelled down 4 different waterfalls. Pay attention when Gerardo say's " I have something very beautiful to show you." The guides are very experienced and are comfortable taking anyone through this trip, safety first. We had a great time.
Next day was a horse back ride with a local operator. Through the jungle along a river ending up on the beach. Another great half day trip. The horses are halter trained, no bit. Loved this! Sure footed, gentle and clearly able to read your experience level. Our guide's experience and love of his environment was just another example of El Remanso providing the right person for the right adventure.

The last day was a free day. We hiked a well groomed trail to the beach. Beautiful tide pools. We saw no one else. The hike back up required a couple of stops to catch our breath but was well worth it. We hung out at the pool, enjoyed an amazing pina colada,napped in our hammock, and finished up with a night walk guided by Rinaldo. Again the jungle turns into a total different experience. Highly recommended. Rinaldo opened our eyes to the night life in the jungle. I was a little nervous about the night critters, but after a few minutes he had me captivated by his knowledge and love of what was around us. We enjoyed all of our tours tremendously.

The owners Adriana and Daniel checked in on us each night to see how things were going. They are sincerely warm and gracious hosts. Wanting very much to ensure your vacation experience is the very best it can be.
I had an interest in the power system and spent an hour with Daniel the resident power plant manager learning about life off the grid. Their commitment to the environment is present in all that they do.

The Osa peninsula is one of those places still left that is for the most part wild and undisturbed by man. El Remanso offers a unique environmentally responsible experience in a jungle environment unmatched anywhere else in Costa Rica. We had wanted to go to the Osa for many years. El Remanso was the perfect choice for our first experience there. There was internet access at the main lodge if you wanted to use it. We really loved disconnecting from all the technology and found great pleasure in natures sounds and none that was man created. I can not wait to go back. Thank you El Remanso !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

There's a reason that, as of this writing, there are about 160 excellent reviews and only one that is 'very good.' El Remanso is unique - warm and caring people, a stunning parcel of jungle, beautiful cottages, every conceivable amenity and totally guilt-free because of their commitment to the environment. It is one of the few lodges with a perfect sustainable travel rating, and they are setting the standard for improving environmental practices.

The lodge offers real jungle (a river hike complete with snakes and a crocodile, monkeys, sloths, etc.), 'typical' CR adventures (waterfall rappelling, trips to Corcovado, etc.) and spa (pool, massage, great bar). The center of the lodge is a beautiful outdoor dining area and balcony with a mile long view down to the ocean. Every morning, we watched birds and monkeys fill the tree tops while we sat drinking great coffee. The food is very good (if you have teens, just ask for larger portions) and everyone on the staff seems genuinely concerned that you have whatever you want. The people on the staff are at least as excited by the wildlife as the guests, and do all kinds of little things to ensure people can see the animals and bugs. They are completely flexible about scheduling activities and are perfectly happy to leave you alone with a book or binoculars.

We had a near emergency that gave me every confidence that a real one would be handled well. (An evening run got dicey as darkness comes very quickly after sunset. With no light, no water, no food, no phone/radio and a half hour late to return, I got nervous. Within five minutes, Daniel had a team on the trail to the ocean and another heading onto the road when our runner arrived, having been picked up along the road by a neighbor.)

The lodge has a 20 year history. It was founded by the current managers' parents, one of whom is the captain of the Greenpeace vessel, Rainbow Warrior. Their environmental innovations are fascinating. Ask and Daniel will share a slide show about the mini hydro electric generators, waste handling and community development projects.

During four days, every guest we encountered had the same awestruck impression. El Remanso is unique.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had such a wonderful vacation at El Remanso. The jungle is all around you-real jungle with lots of birds, butterflies, and animals. The setting is spectacular. The people at the Lodge were all so wonderful. Gerardo and Renaldo are the most excellent guides and enthusiastic ecologists with the sharpest eyes of anyone ever! They were patient, funny and extremely knowledgeable ! Adriana and Daniel are super concerned about their impact on the nature around them and gave a VERY interesting little talk on how the place runs and what the impact actually is. Tamara and Sylvia made sure everyone had a good time and got what they needed.
The beach is a bit of a trek, but I think that is a good thing. The surf was wild and exciting-too dangerous to swim but there is an amazing waterfall to walk to and that was a great experience.
This place is for those of you who want to immerse yourself in a "real" experience with Nature, but get good food and a drink at the end of the day. It is all very peaceful and exciting at the same time.
I recommend a massage with Laura! She was GREAT.
There is an absolutely beautiful Yoga platform if you want to take advantage of it.
I really loved this place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

There are too many staff members to thank by name, but each was extraordinarily helpful and accommodating. The property is unbelievable and our experience there will never be forgotten. The guides not only demonstrated vast knowledge of the plants, animals and geography in and around El Remanso, but did so with great passion. Their role there is much more than a job to them, but their inspiration. Interacting with such individuals in such a beautifully remote paradise afforded a magical experience for my family and me. There is no doubt that we will be back for more as soon as the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews