We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$153
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
US$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$319
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
636
22
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstide poolsla guindazip linehowler monkeysbird watchingcosta ricahorseback ridinglong hikenight hikeclassic cabinthe pacific oceansan josefer de lancehoneymoon packagehiking trailsopen airguided hike
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 668 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I have never been to a place so beautiful that is also managed by the kindest people. The managers, Adriana and Daniel, are friendly, relaxed and very easy going. They have made a beautiful place to visit. Their dedication to the environment is very noble. The fact that they produce, using hydroelectric power I believe, all the energy that they use still has me in awe. There is not one bad thing to say about El Remanso. Everything was amazing! Even the other guest staying there were fantastic. The staff, especially Michael and Elyer, were so friendly and helpful. Great to talk to. Our guide, Geraldo, was bubbling over with information on every topic in nature. Birds, monkeys, snakes, trees, you name it, he knows it. He was also the one who took us waterfall rappelling. I had never done anything like that but could not have felt more safe or secure. Our suite had the most fantastic view of ocean and forest. We didn't stay in the cabins but in the suites and they were perfect. They offered total privacy while allowing us to leave almost all the windows and the doors open. It was so lovely to be able to feel the breeze at night while sleeping. The grounds are also very pretty. The whole place is just so aesthetically pleasing. Also, the food is incredible!!! I truly enjoyed and savored every single meal. The meals were very diverse. You could go your entire stay without having the same thing twice. When you visit at El Remanso it is the best present you could be giving yourself. It is relaxing and very active at the same time. We did the kayaking and surfing, both are done outside of the lodge, and they were awesome. The place really offers very unique and interesting experiences. I have never been to another lodge in the Osa Peninsula and feel like there would be no reason. They simply can not compete. It really was one of the most blissful and peaceful trips of my life.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAlFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2009

This was by far the best experience and vacation I have ever had. The location could not have been more perfect. The Osa Penninsula is absolutely gorgeous and the hotel property is picturesque for an eco lodge. Beautifully maintained grounds with the perfect hint of grooming; not too much, not too little to maintain a friendly and inviting atmosphere for all the wildlife. I have never seen so many different wild animals in one place. We stayed in the Azul cabina and it was perfect. The rooms are roomy and private. While our safe was not working (batteries are on order) we had absolutely no problem with leaving anything in our room. There were the occasional bugs in the room, but that has nothing to do with cleanliness and everything to do with the fact you are literally in the middle of the rainforest. You are so far off the grid - its a wonderful feeling. Sure we had lizards, large grasshoppers and a few roaches inside, but again, its only because this is an open air room and you are in the heart of THEIR space. The staff is absolutely fabulous. Gerardo, Elyer, Charlene, Adriana, Daniel, Michael, etc - everyone was fabulous. They are all so very nice and kind and are willing to do anything for you. They are always smiling and making sure that you are enjoying your trip and asking how everything is going. We felt like we were friends with all of them in a matter of minutes. The food is fantastic; better than expected and better than what you normally eat. The chef is amazing and creates the perfect dishes, whether you are carnivorous or vegetarian. The desserts are delicious and are worth hiking it off the next day. A lesser known fact is that if you head to the bar around 6pm you can get appetizers served to you as well. This is very welcomed after sweating half your body weight off during your day hikes. We did the birdwatching, the ridge trail hike, and waterfall rapelling and had the time of our lives. Gerardo (as everyone has stated) was made to be a naturalist. This guy knows EVERYTHING you want to know. From fungus, to trees/palms, to wildlife - its truly amazing all of the knowledge he has. Definitely something to be envied. We will definitely go back, because while we were very active, there are still so many things to do on the Osa, and we simply ran out of time. The only point I would make before booking is to ask if there will be a large group there during the time you are planning on staying. While the staff managed the group of about 12 fairly well, it detracts somewhat from the experience of the quiet and peaceful eco lodge that you are most likely searching for. El Remanso is truly a unique experience - and one that we are very thankful and grateful to have.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antiguansunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2009

After one perfect week at El Remanso all I can think about is when I am going to go back. If you are looking for a Costa Rican rainforest vacation look no further. The grounds are a large private forest reserve allowing for opportunity to see wildlife like you never have before. Whether you are drinking afternoon coffee at the restaurant, or you decide to take a hike along one of the many trails provided you are almost guaranteed to see all sorts of rainforest animals, many of which only live in the Osa Peninsula.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We stayed in La Vanilla, a 2 bedroom cabin near the trail to the beach. the openness of the cabin combined with the fact that it is set apart from the other rooms gave us the feeling that we were sleeping in the rainforest... very cool.
The quality of the staff was exceptional, and every effort was made to ensure that we were as comfortable as we could be. The owners were accessible and exceedingly accommodating. Special mention needs to go to Gerardo who handles all of the rainforest hikes, rappelling tours, and ziplining. His knowledge is amazing, and his passion for his work is infectious. If you book with El Remanso be sure to book a hike with Gerardo.....
Another high point was the food... Each meal was well prepared and the portions were perfectly sized (you may initially think the portions are a little large but after a day of hiking in the rainforest the extra bit is much appreciated) While not given too much special mention on the website, the food was a highlight for me, and I looked forward to each meal.
Simply put, I cannot say enough good things about El Remanso. This is a truly a hidden gem in Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula.....

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeeveseastboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We had a fabulous time at El Remanso. The couple who run it are cosmopolitan and lovely, and they did their best ensure that our stay would be relaxing, thrilling, and full of surprises. From a room open on one side to the Pacific, we heard monkeys howling at dawn and saw scarlet macaws flit across our view. The food was always inventive and appetizing. The naturalist guide, Gerardo, was passionate and knowledgeable, always on hand to point out some incredibly exotic species. The bed was comfortable, and the night vibrant with tropical breezes. Swimming at the hotel beach is not encouraged because of heavy riptides, but there is another, idyllic, beach nearby.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
Thank galitny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at El Remanso. The location was splendid, the birding was fabulous and the accomodations were excellent. The hike down to the beach was easy but the hike back was a steep challenge. Nevertheless, it is well worth the trip as that beach is a wondrous place. We encountered a jaguarundi running along the beach path. We and it were the only creatures for the miles that we could see.

Our hosts were attentive but laid back. We went on the "river" hike which was great fun, but a challenging and wet experience. We plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genezonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews