We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Eco Lodge”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Oh My what can I say that has not been said already. This is an eco lodge in the middle of the beautiful Costa Rican Rain Forest. Wild animals, the best scenery ever. Pay the extra and get one of their better rooms, not that the others suck but having screens on all the windows is a plus. We heard other vacationers complaining about having to keep their shutters closed at night because of little flyers. I can't find one little thing to complain about. The food was the best I have EVER had. Nice choices and excellently prepared. I asked the managment if they ever put out a cookbook to notify me. It was that good. Loved our nature guide Geraldo. Probably a good idea to plan paying for a guided hike the first full day you are here so you can get the lay of the land and what to watch out for but after that there are numerous trails to explore. The waterfall repel was worth every penny we paid. What an awesome experience. We even loved the drive from town and our driver was very informative, showing us all the sights and animals to see, stopping for us to take pictures. The beach was a deserted paradise, all ours. (although the hike back to our room was a [--]!) Can't wait for a return trip. Exactly what their web sites says.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank d1m1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2009

I have never been to a place so beautiful that is also managed by the kindest people. The managers, Adriana and Daniel, are friendly, relaxed and very easy going. They have made a beautiful place to visit. Their dedication to the environment is very noble. The fact that they produce, using hydroelectric power I believe, all the energy that they use still has me in awe. There is not one bad thing to say about El Remanso. Everything was amazing! Even the other guest staying there were fantastic. The staff, especially Michael and Elyer, were so friendly and helpful. Great to talk to. Our guide, Geraldo, was bubbling over with information on every topic in nature. Birds, monkeys, snakes, trees, you name it, he knows it. He was also the one who took us waterfall rappelling. I had never done anything like that but could not have felt more safe or secure. Our suite had the most fantastic view of ocean and forest. We didn't stay in the cabins but in the suites and they were perfect. They offered total privacy while allowing us to leave almost all the windows and the doors open. It was so lovely to be able to feel the breeze at night while sleeping. The grounds are also very pretty. The whole place is just so aesthetically pleasing. Also, the food is incredible!!! I truly enjoyed and savored every single meal. The meals were very diverse. You could go your entire stay without having the same thing twice. When you visit at El Remanso it is the best present you could be giving yourself. It is relaxing and very active at the same time. We did the kayaking and surfing, both are done outside of the lodge, and they were awesome. The place really offers very unique and interesting experiences. I have never been to another lodge in the Osa Peninsula and feel like there would be no reason. They simply can not compete. It really was one of the most blissful and peaceful trips of my life.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAlFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This was by far the best experience and vacation I have ever had. The location could not have been more perfect. The Osa Penninsula is absolutely gorgeous and the hotel property is picturesque for an eco lodge. Beautifully maintained grounds with the perfect hint of grooming; not too much, not too little to maintain a friendly and inviting atmosphere for all the wildlife. I have never seen so many different wild animals in one place. We stayed in the Azul cabina and it was perfect. The rooms are roomy and private. While our safe was not working (batteries are on order) we had absolutely no problem with leaving anything in our room. There were the occasional bugs in the room, but that has nothing to do with cleanliness and everything to do with the fact you are literally in the middle of the rainforest. You are so far off the grid - its a wonderful feeling. Sure we had lizards, large grasshoppers and a few roaches inside, but again, its only because this is an open air room and you are in the heart of THEIR space. The staff is absolutely fabulous. Gerardo, Elyer, Charlene, Adriana, Daniel, Michael, etc - everyone was fabulous. They are all so very nice and kind and are willing to do anything for you. They are always smiling and making sure that you are enjoying your trip and asking how everything is going. We felt like we were friends with all of them in a matter of minutes. The food is fantastic; better than expected and better than what you normally eat. The chef is amazing and creates the perfect dishes, whether you are carnivorous or vegetarian. The desserts are delicious and are worth hiking it off the next day. A lesser known fact is that if you head to the bar around 6pm you can get appetizers served to you as well. This is very welcomed after sweating half your body weight off during your day hikes. We did the birdwatching, the ridge trail hike, and waterfall rapelling and had the time of our lives. Gerardo (as everyone has stated) was made to be a naturalist. This guy knows EVERYTHING you want to know. From fungus, to trees/palms, to wildlife - its truly amazing all of the knowledge he has. Definitely something to be envied. We will definitely go back, because while we were very active, there are still so many things to do on the Osa, and we simply ran out of time. The only point I would make before booking is to ask if there will be a large group there during the time you are planning on staying. While the staff managed the group of about 12 fairly well, it detracts somewhat from the experience of the quiet and peaceful eco lodge that you are most likely searching for. El Remanso is truly a unique experience - and one that we are very thankful and grateful to have.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antiguansunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

After one perfect week at El Remanso all I can think about is when I am going to go back. If you are looking for a Costa Rican rainforest vacation look no further. The grounds are a large private forest reserve allowing for opportunity to see wildlife like you never have before. Whether you are drinking afternoon coffee at the restaurant, or you decide to take a hike along one of the many trails provided you are almost guaranteed to see all sorts of rainforest animals, many of which only live in the Osa Peninsula.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We stayed in La Vanilla, a 2 bedroom cabin near the trail to the beach. the openness of the cabin combined with the fact that it is set apart from the other rooms gave us the feeling that we were sleeping in the rainforest... very cool.
The quality of the staff was exceptional, and every effort was made to ensure that we were as comfortable as we could be. The owners were accessible and exceedingly accommodating. Special mention needs to go to Gerardo who handles all of the rainforest hikes, rappelling tours, and ziplining. His knowledge is amazing, and his passion for his work is infectious. If you book with El Remanso be sure to book a hike with Gerardo.....
Another high point was the food... Each meal was well prepared and the portions were perfectly sized (you may initially think the portions are a little large but after a day of hiking in the rainforest the extra bit is much appreciated) While not given too much special mention on the website, the food was a highlight for me, and I looked forward to each meal.
Simply put, I cannot say enough good things about El Remanso. This is a truly a hidden gem in Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula.....

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeeveseastboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We had a fabulous time at El Remanso. The couple who run it are cosmopolitan and lovely, and they did their best ensure that our stay would be relaxing, thrilling, and full of surprises. From a room open on one side to the Pacific, we heard monkeys howling at dawn and saw scarlet macaws flit across our view. The food was always inventive and appetizing. The naturalist guide, Gerardo, was passionate and knowledgeable, always on hand to point out some incredibly exotic species. The bed was comfortable, and the night vibrant with tropical breezes. Swimming at the hotel beach is not encouraged because of heavy riptides, but there is another, idyllic, beach nearby.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
Thank galitny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at El Remanso. The location was splendid, the birding was fabulous and the accomodations were excellent. The hike down to the beach was easy but the hike back was a steep challenge. Nevertheless, it is well worth the trip as that beach is a wondrous place. We encountered a jaguarundi running along the beach path. We and it were the only creatures for the miles that we could see.

Our hosts were attentive but laid back. We went on the "river" hike which was great fun, but a challenging and wet experience. We plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genezonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My husband and I honeymooned at El Remanso 1 year ago in May.

I am going to give you barebones honesty and try to make it short and sweet.

THINGS TO TAKE:
*Shampoo, Conditioner, Bodywash
*Bug spray
*Flashlights (or headlights)
*Sunscreen
*Hiking/Water Shoes (my husband took sneakers that got super dirty)
*Tabasco
*Junk clothes to get dirty in for hiking, rappelling, horseback riding
*Dirty clothes bag
*Frebreez!!
*Mini umbrella*flip flops you can rinse off


DON' TAKE:
*Heels
*Blow dryer
*Straighter
*I wore dresses every night but most people don't wear that type of stuff.

Go. It was great. If you don't like wildlife or open air rooms, bugs that sneak in, ect. Do not go. You probably won't like it.


Flight from Houston was short and easy (not an entire day of travelling)

Domestic Flight to Puerto Jimenez was delayed til the next morning but worked great.

We phoned El Remanso. Left two messages and Daniel was waiting for us the next morning when we arrived.

If your plane is delayed you can catch a flight the next morning or there is also a bus ride that would take 5-6 hours.

The puddle jumper was such fun.

The drive to El Remanso was fun but rough. Bad roads and about an hour drive.

Service was amazing. I would say 5 star food without a doubt.

Breakfast you have 10 choices, Lunch usually 2 choices, Dinner usually 2 choices

We were never disappointed. We ate like royalty.

La Vanillia was beautiful. Romantic and beautiful views. By the pictures on the website it looks like they have updated the shower/bathroom and closed it off for more privacy.

In May it gets dark at about 4:30pm - 5:00pm and there are ONLY two small lamps the size of my fist to give you light.

I repeat. ONLY TWO SMALL LAMPS. No outlets for blow dryer, straightener, etc.

The windows are open which is a blast but bugs will come into the living area, bathroom, bed if the lights are on and make sure you close the netting around the bed the entire time you are gone for dinner.

Don't take heels.

In May it rained once a day usually after lunch ( approx. 1:00pm). Great for napping or you know :o)

The activities were amazing fun as well.

We did:

*Waterfall rappelling (better than i imagined),
*Horseback riding (we never laughed so hard in our lives running down the beach...hold on tight!)
*Wildlife tour was awesome. We loved the guide and saw animals and heard great stories.
*Sports Fishing Trip - We loved every second of it.
*Zipline - we cancelled it was only one line and looked kind of lame. There is an 8 platform run near by but we didn't do it.

Beach hike was exhausting if you are in shape but we loved the beach. Great exploring and go see the lava formation Down about 1 mile on the left and that was our favorite place we swam and hung out for an afternoon. Go chase the crabs for us.

It isn't what we expected but we miss it and had the best time I can't even explain.

It was such good value that we stayed 9 days!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsamandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
1.9 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
2.8 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
18.9 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
172 reviews
14.1 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
355 reviews
31.8 km away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Golfito
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range: $162 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing