We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
644
22
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tide pools la guinda zip line howler monkeys bird watching costa rica long hike night hike classic cabin the pacific ocean san jose fer de lance honeymoon package hiking trails rip tides guided hike knowledgeable guides
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 676 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

With 2 adults, 3 teenagers and a 9 year old, it is hard finding anything we agree on. But we all loved our stay at El Remanso. A beautiful lodge in the middle of a secondary rainforest, it aims to be environmentally sustainable and the focus is on nature and the environment. This runs through everything they do there, but in a charming way. The tour guides were passionate and knowledgable, patient with the children and we saw & learnt so much during our various hikes and walks (4 species of monkeys, tarantulas, snakes, mackaws, parakeets etc). All the staff were incredibly friendly and did everything they could to make our visit as memorable as it was. They made an effort to learn all our names and all our preferences and were without fail, friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and airy, and we loved the outdoor showers and veranda. Nature was literally on our doorstep- we could watch the monkeys eating lychees from our room. The surroundings are magnificent too. The rainforest itself, but also the beach below, where there are rockpools and waterfalls, as well as clear white sand. We loved our holiday in Costa Rica, but this was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Truly unique and memorable.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Anushka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful site above the ocean on the Osa Peninsula. I loved the isolation and wildlife. My teenage daughters were less enamoured of the lack of in room WiFi and limited electricity supply (no hair straighteners / hairdryers allowed). The food and service were excellent. There are many trails on the doorstep, on-site guided walks (at extra cost) and offsite activities available (would recommend surfing trip). There is access to the beach below the property - it is not suitable for swimming but there are large rock pools further along where we soaked and fished. It is isolated and there is a lot of more rugged terrain on some of the trails which may not suit everyone but I would definitely visit again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Alison and Rich... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Having spent a good month looking at potential Eco lodges on the net and what they offer in the Oso peninsula we decided on El Remanso lodge. From the great food, accommadation helpul staff and extremly knowledgeable guides our experienience was trully memorable. Frankly it was a just GREAT!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

This is a pretty big statement and I apologise if you think this has to be an exaggeration. I was moved to tears when we said goodbye.

Ok, so this hotel is in the middle of a secondary rainforest in the heart of the Osa peninsula. OSA is one of the last remaining totally unspoiled rainforests left on the planet. The abundance of wildlife in the rich rainforests will NOT disappoint.

We saw everything at this hotel, and more from the whole of road trip in Costa Rica.

The rooms are to die for. Beautifully planned and private with unusual spaces and outside showers, as well as amazing views and the hotel uses 100% renewable and sustainable energy it’s also impressively sustainable with its whole ethos.

The staff are all delicious and also LIVE the ethos of the owner who was the captain of the first Greenpeace ship “Rainbow Warrior”.

The food was TO DIE FOR! The best we had in Costa Rica. I am not veggie, but am now. But there are also lots of organic locally produced meat options. My husband and teenagers filled up on the all-inclusive local specialities, rice and beans, tortilla, steak, pork and delicious local fish. I’m still dreaming about the tuna - cooked rare with mouth watering spices.

All the staff remember your name AND preferences. If you like your beer in the bottle it will always be served with that way.

The tours were delivered by Marlon - he is so qualified to guide you and was genuinely excited when we found rare sightings. He is passionate about eco tourism and was so so so knowledgeable.

He spoke to us from the heart. He shared so many extra snippets of information that left us all thinking more deeply how we could conserve our beautiful planet.

Cindy (a hotel staff front desk member) suggested I read “from cradle to cradle” which I now have read. I’m sure the author knew the owner of this hotel as he too worked with Greenpeace.

The book starts with the quote “the world will not evolve past its current state of crisis by using the same thinking that created the situation” Albert Einstein.

This quote encapsulates “el remanso” it truly thinks outside the box and if you LOVE natural things combined with luxury, this wonderful haven of desolate beach and rainforest will carve a space in your hearts forever.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful property next to the Pacific Ocean with a well preserved tropical rain forest.
Tasty and well presented food plus excellent and warm service.
A place to rest, to explore, to admire and enjoy nature.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank naturesebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews