We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place at Carate”
other traveller has booked this property
Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Living area
living area
Kitchen Island and table
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Closet
master Bathroom
Guest bedroom
Guest Bathroom
Bunk Room
Front of house and parking area
Front of house and patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carate, Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Nico-Zeis...
1 review
“Best place at Carate”
Reviewed February 28, 2020 for a stay in February 2020

Justin and Gary are two one of a kind super hosts! If you want to stay in a self contained home rather than a lodge, please do not look any further - you won't find anything better. Both are super responsive, helpful and warm hearted. We would recommend anyone to stay with them. Also if you are looking for tours or advice there is no need to even leave the house. Gary is the best guide in town and awesome with kids. We wish them all the best for their future plans!

Date of stay: February 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2020
Thank you Nico! You and your family were a pleasure to host. We cannot wait to see you guys next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
britnyr
1 review
“Best experience and amazing house”
Reviewed February 16, 2020 for a stay in February 2020

I've stayed in Carate before but this was the first time I stayed at a house rather than a hotel/lodge and I'm so glad I did. The property is beautiful and the house was amazing. The pictures don't do it justice. Justin and Evee responded quickly to any questions I had and the house had everything we could need.
Gary was so helpful and was the best guide. He took us to the national park right down the road and he enhanced every aspect of the experience.

Date of stay: February 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2020
We were so happy to host you! Thank you for choosing our home for your adventure. We hope you come and visit us again soon. Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most unexpected dream house amongst the rainforest and beach!”
Reviewed February 12, 2020 for a stay in February 2020

My partner and I rented Scarlet House for 4 days in Feb 2020 and wished we had booked to have it for longer.
I found the property on Tripadvisor and within a couple of hours of sending an inquiry to the owner Justin – he replied back with answers to all my questions. He also provided a list of must do activities whilst in the Corcovado area and hooked us up with an incredible guide Gary.
Upon arrival to Scarlet House we were greeted by Justin & Gary and given fresh coconut water (straight from the coconut) to drink whilst they walked us around the grounds and went through all of the house’s amenities.
The house is beautifully furnished and comes fully equipped with everything. The kitchen especially has everything you need. The beds are very comfortable and the shower in the en-suite is to die for (it’s like standing in the rain). It had a good wi-fi connection and even had an Alexa!! All your home comforts.
There are hammocks scattered all over the property for when you might want to escape the midday heat and has a surf & boogie board you can take to the beach.
Prior to our arrival we had already booked excursions with Gary who is an absolute asset to Scarlet House. If it wasn’t for Gary – we wouldn’t have enjoyed our stay as much as we did. He has lived in the Carate region all his life and is an extremely knowledge guide, so please make sure you use him. We became good friends with Gary during our stay and had him over for a couple of evenings in too.
Things you must do whilst staying at Scarlet House:
Corcovado Hike
Sunrise kayak
Visiting Tortuga de Osa
Sunset every night on Carate beach
Surfing

At the property itself you’ll see plenty of wildlife including coati’s, monkeys, birds and lizards – everything you came to Costa Rica to see.
Carate beach - You pretty much have the entire thing to yourself (no exaggeration). It has warm water and great waves to play in.
We had our own car for our trip and it really did come in handy! It meant we were able to do a lot more during our visit. We visited some places that were off the beaten track so it’s best if you have a 4x4 (especially if you’ve never driven on non-paved roads before). The drive from Puerto Jiminez to Scarlet House is so simple - It’s one road!
In a nutshell we had a truly memorable time whilst in Corcovado and it really was because of Scarlet House. We would have no hesitation in returning and we really miss the feeling of seclusion (very different to London UK).

Date of stay: February 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2020
Thank you Louise and Oli. We are so glad you guys had a great time in Carate. You guys were a fantastic couple to host and we would love to have you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.