We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slice of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lookout Inn with my family (parents & siblings & partners) this past February and had the time of our lives. It is the perfect place to travel with friends and family. **Gay friendly**

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are welcomed with such warmth, attention and care. Terry and Katya run a very tight ship, are very dynamic hosts, and always provide a good time. It's a welcome departure from the typical resorts that feel lifeless and too-regimented.

The beach is a sight that can only be fully realized and appreciated when standing on it. No pictures or videos will do it justice, seriously, as it is YOUR beach. You rarely encounter another person while strolling on the beach, which is truly wonderful. This is time for you and your loved one to relax, rejuvenate and enjoy each others company.

We stayed in a tikki hut which we absolutely recommend to get the true Lookout Inn experience. There's nothing like waking up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach and birds singing. One morning we even woke up to a number of monkeys in the area, one of them just outside our hut not more than 10 feet away! It was a thrilling experience that will never be topped.

The food is terrific - always prepared fresh daily. All dietary restrictions are considered and treated carefully by the chef who makes true substitutions as opposed to just offering the side dish. A highlight was definitely the 5 foot rooster fish which was caught just hours before being cooked for dinner. Fruit will never taste the same after having the pineapple and papaya every morning.

Prepare to be delighted at every meal! And to eat a lot...

If you're interested in exploring there are plenty of paths you can take that always yield beautiful sites and wildlife. Guides are available for the more adventurous hikes (definitely recommended), and day trips (we visited the http://osawildlife.org/ to visit the sloths and monkeys who have been rescued and are being released back into the wild). A real treat.

The question isn't IF we'll return - it's WHEN. This place is really special.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for the tikki hut or cabin. A truly unique and wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
129
266
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a Tiki-Tent and really enjoyed the experience of sleeping "open" to the jungle. A fabulous experience - pounding surf and a joyful dawn chorus - ear-plugs a must for light sleepers though!

The owner is brusque and quite rude and it was impossible to relax when he was around.

The road from Puerto Jimenez would be impossible to drive after any amount of rain even small. We had a good 4x4 and were there in the middle fo teh dry season - for us it was a bumpy adventure ride but would be dangerous/impassable after any rain. There is a small airfield just a short distance away though.

The food was excellent although Terry prowling around the tables, shouting at the guests and addressing them gruffly by their countries of origin was pretty off-putting. He needs someone up there to show him how to be a helpful host adding value to his lovely inn rather than prowling around like he does.

Our tent-room was clean, simple and the bed was comfy enough. A couple of comfier chairs would have been nice. The shower and toilet (shared) were clean and worked well. The water was warm enough.

We took the stairway to heaven and did the junge walk from there. The Stairway itself is very steep but safe enough as long as it is dry and you take care. Perhaps it could be swept of leaves from time to time and there are a few steps shich need a bit of attention. But all in all well worth the climb up there.

The swimming pool was lovely - deep and big enough to be about 3 swimming-strokes. Think of it as a "dip in and cool off" pool rather than a "swimming" pool and you won't be disaapointed. It was very clean.

The rest of the staff were all lovely and very helpful. The room was nicely cleaned and the buffet-meals were well set-up and tasty.

All in all, two nights were enough and we will most likely not stay there again even though we plan to return to Corcovado. The main reason for that is the owner. I'd like to be able to relax comfortably next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Switz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our third trip to the Lookout Inn, this time with our three adult sons and their partners. Everything you need to know has been covered in other visitors' reviews.

What I especially appreciate about this place is that there are always staff there whom we've met on our previous visits, and they become friends. The guests who book here are interesting, and from all over the world. On this particular trip, we were serenaded after dinner by a charming octogenarian who sang La Vie En Rose in Swedish! It was magical.

There are many different places to escape to, for privacy - the beach, assorted eating areas, hammocks by the pool, or your own room.

We always make a point of staying in a Tikki Hut or one of the small cabins - the "Spa", or "Monkey House" or "Butterfly House" because we love the open concept and there is nothing like splashing around in a shower looking directly into the jungle, watching the Scarlet Macaws and monkeys in the trees.

If you're looking for a place where you can drink excellent coffee, listening to the waves crashing on a deserted beach while you watch the sunrise, this is it.

And our sons and their partners loved the place as much as we do. We can't wait to go back.

p.s. if you're looking for a really worthwhile day excursion, Terry and Katya can arrange a trip into Puerto Jiminez where we love to shop for Lizano in the Supermercado, take a boat ride across the Golfo Dolce to the http://osawildlife.org/ to visit the sloths and monkeys who have been rescued and are being released back into the wild. It's a fascinating and inspiring trip.

As well, the "Bat Cave" hike - a three hour morning trip - is a favorite of ours. Elias is an exceptional guide, and the walk through the creek through rocky gorges is beautiful.

Room Tip: Book a cabin, either a Tikki Hut, or Monkey House, Butterfly House or the Spa. It's more money b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Second trip to the Lookout... and there is a reason I went back. The place is like your own personal paradise where you can go to escape the rat race. Terry, Katya and the crew are like family... they welcome everyone with open arms and do their best to ensure all guests get the best "Osa Experience" to be found on the peninsula.

The accommodations are perfect for the environment. Open-sided cabinas, mosquito net covered beds and showers surrounded by broad-leaf plants only add to the already amazing experience. The meals can be described in two words... without equal. Fresh ingredients with locally procured meats (or not, for the vegans), fruits and vegetables prompt a second and third trip to fill your plate. If you plan to lose weight at the Lookout, you best be taking the stairway to heaven on your daily hike into the jungle.

Waking up with the near constant sound of crashing waves and jungle creatures is not for everyone, but for me, it is heaven on earth. Countless scarlet macaws, beautiful song birds, reptiles, monkeys and odd animals such as the tapir appear randomly while at the Lookout Inn, so have your camera ready at all times. You may even be lucky enough to catch a glimpse of a puma.

I will be returning to the Lookout Inn. It is my "home base" for an unforgettable and amazing time on the Osa Peninsula. If you're looking for that "once-in-a-lifetime" adventure vacation that you can have two or even three times, the Lookout Inn is where you should start. Trust me, I speak from experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergeantsandbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from our 5 night stay at Lookout Inn Feb 20. When my husband and I, and our two friends, first met Terry at his picnic tables on the beach, we were taken aback by his robust attitude of “buy me a drink at happy hour!” And he wasn't quite sure we'd booked with him for the rooms we said we’d reserved. That truly made us nervous and prompted us to go over to the Lookout the next day with our email reservation proof. Since we still had another night at Finca Exotica, we wanted to make sure we were in fact booked at Lookout and not sleeping on the beach. But fear not, Kathia was there and we had nothing to worry about at all! Terry is just a loud guy; he's a great host and he's not shy to kid around. He was extremely hospitable.

But where to start??? The views from their main deck are spectacular. And even better from the upper deck where dinner gets served. We reserved The Tiki Huts and they are great if you know the people you're sharing the bathroom with. We traveled with another couple and they were in the other Tiki Hut, so we were set. I would suggest getting the room closer to the shower and not the toilet side. We got a few whiff's of urine at night. The room is clean, but does not get much of a cross breeze at night, so it does get hot. Bring a small pillow or request extra pillows. We found the ones in the room to be terribly flat and uncomfortable. We managed to prop up our heads at night with duffel bags and travel pillows, so we never asked for more. You can hear the blue/orange crabs crawl around under the huts at night, and don't be surprised to find large spiders either. You are in the jungle. Howler monkeys can be heard in the morning, and the waves sound like thunder at times. They do offer lanterns to bring down from dinner, so that was very helpful to see in the room besides just our flashlights.

The shower is a warm water shower, sometimes hot and is pretty nice to have to lather up, rinse off and wash your hair. It's definitely not cold! Just because it's 85+ degrees doesn't mean a cold shower is a nice shower. I've never met anyone that likes a cold shower.

Meals are served buffet style and in a communal area. It's not one table for all, it's several tables to sit where you want with everyone. Terry did make fun of our little foursome as we weren't too inclined to hang out with the other guests. He called us the secretive group, but we didn't mind one bit. We vacation to get away from people, not hang out with total strangers! The people that were there, however, were nice, friendly, and fun. We just didn't spend too much time with them at meals or happy hour. As for the food: Terry and JuanQ are so amazingly accommodating on likes and dislikes, it's fantastic! If you don't like seafood, fine by them, they'll make you an alternative without it! There are always soups, salads and fruit as well. I loved their popcorn at happy hour, goes great with the drinks!

The area has a lagoon that you can walk to, takes about 20minutes and there are so many birds there, caimans and crocodiles. You can really see their reflective eyes at night from your flashlight. Kayak on the lagoon for $35/person, it's relaxing. Terry can arrange that for you.

Terry and Kathia are a cute couple. He's loud and obnoxious (we loved that about him when we got to know him better), and she's quiet and probably brings him down to Earth once in a while. They watched the sunsets together, arm in arm, and took morning walks on the beach. We could hear his knees from the bar. Good luck with your surgery, Terry!

Terry arranged our transportation back to Jimenez, and it all went smoothly, except the roads. Bumpy and dusty. Be prepared to get sweaty, walk a lot, eat well, relax, find things to do, read and have fun. Take lots of pictures of all the animals you see! We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Tiki Hut: stay on shower side of bathroom Travel pillow, flashlight, bug spray are musts Monkey Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cricket0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Back here in Toronto the cold rainy weather seems unreal. Reality is hours away by plane and car at the Lookout Inn on the Osa peninsula. Just two short days ago we were in the remaining hours of what proved to be one of the most engaging, fun, lazy holidays EVER! Living at the Lookout Inn for a week is a tonic that cures everything that ails you. Terry, Katya and their great friendly staff ensure happy and contented guests. The people who enjoy a place like this place are like-minded in that they are friendly, adventuresome and good humoured. We had so many great conversations with people from all over this little planet. Tiki Hut was clean and comfortable and it was great to wake up with the rising sun, the songbirds and the sounds of the ocean.

Some folks ventured into the Corcavado National Park for single or multiple day hikes and there is no shortage of wildlife around and right at the Inn. There are lots of walks to take - early in the morning along the misty beach at sunrise - off to the lagoon and its multitude of shorebirds from big grey herons to smaller waders. walk for or fifteen minuites from the Inn and wander up shady lane to the waterfall but beware! at the very end of shady lane is a property and if you get too close to the gate hordes of barking dogs fly out all fierce and guardy to warn you off. But, never fear! They are all little dogs. you'll want to get pictures believe me. They are hilarious.

Did I mention the food? oh the food, morning noon and night, buffet style , different decks for each meal. Big pitchers of water and juice. And yes, the water is great! No worries there. Delectable desserts - a great bar and before supper the gathering of guests and hosts to admire the setting sun (where's the green flash? quick, don't miss it!) Then it's early to bed and early to rise as the saying goes.
All credit to Terry, Katya and the staff as well as the absolute beauty and mystique of the place for ensuring a return murph visit.

Room Tip: If you take a Tiki Hut you share toilet and shower facilities with folks in the other Tiki Hut. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lookout Inn was all we thought it would be.Terry, Katya & Staff made it perfect! Terry answered all of my many questions I had before booking the trip and he is a most gracious host.
It is worth the time it takes to get there. We stayed in the Monkey House and it is a very romantic setting! We had fresh flowers in our room and I loved the netting around the bed.It does require 48 steps to get to it, but well worth it. You definitely get in shape staying there. I loved listening to the macaw's and the ocean every night and waking up to the sound.There are no bugs, only Halloween crabs that come out at night and head to the beach so wear closed toed shoes if you head to the beach at night! The monkeys came 3 times during our stay and did not come into our house, they just jumped from the roof to the trees ! It was AWESOME!
Laying in the hammocks in our house we saw a toucan, monkeys, lizards, coati and other birds I cannot name .The flora & fauna are spectacular also , Terry did a great job of transforming Lookout Inn into a paradise.I took over 500 pics while staying there.
We hiked to area waterfalls and they gave us a map as we did not want a guide. We walked on the beach a lot and for the 7 days we were there only saw people on the beach twice! I think for the most part the guests were like us and wanted privacy. They were a very diverse group and we enjoyed the family style meals and talking about our daily adventures.
I highly recommend Lookout Inn if you are looking for solitude, watching birds & animals, hiking, great scenery and wonderful food!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nccagirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
18.9 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
38.4 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
19.5 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 km away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Property: Lookout Inn Lodge
Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing