We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight from the "Life of Pi" - Bioluminescent Kayak (April 2017)”

Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Coconut Experience Tour in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure experts in the Tropical Rain Forest and Tropical coast... ..."Our Home". Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce is a family business born in 1992 as a beautiful dream, to live and work in the natural paradise found in the Osa Peninsula, having the Golfo Dulce as neighbor. With a lifetime experience living in the tropics, our goal is to share with you our Tico heart and our deep love to the Osa Peninsula while we take you into an unforgettable adventure. Our guides are certified according to the national regulations. They have wide experience in the field and leading groups in the wild. Our professional guides have gown and liven in touch with nature, complementing the academic knowledge with empiric experience and the fresh costarrican culture.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This is a bit delayed review but I would not do justice if I did not review these guys! We did a bioluminescent kayak tour back in April with Aventuras Tropicales and I have to say that it was even more magical than expected!
We first kayaked a bit in the mangroves, a beautiful experience in itself. The guide was very nice with a lot of knowledge on the ecosystem (his English is not that good, but we could understand Spanish). At some point we went out of the kayaks to drug them through a short strip of sand from the mangrove canals to the open sea. We arrived at an isolated beach almost when the sky was dark. The guide cut some fresh fruit for us (delicious!) and then, when I went to wash my hands at the sea, I saw it! First it appeared as little bright green dots at the edge of the sea. Crabs were also going out of the sea at that point, walking among the luminescent dots. Then we jumped into the water and started swimming and it was like swimming among the stars! We stayed in the water for more than an hour (water temperature was perfect as well!). TheBioluminescence was so vivid, like from the "life of pi". And the fact that we were alone (just me and my friends) made it even more magical! The guide gave us masks as well so that we could dive in and see the bio-luminescence inside the sea as well. As we came back, the paddle of the kayak would leave phosphorescent trails along the surface of the sea and fish were jumping out of the water - it was a scene of magic realism. The guide told us that because that night there was no moon the bio-luminescence was more visible, so I would recommend for anyone to check the moon cycle before going.

Thank phaedra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventurasTropicales, Owner at Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, it is indeed magical realism. We are so happy you got to live this adventure with us, and really appreciate your review, the parallelism with "life of pi" is a great way to explain it, we will use it in the future. You're also right about the moon, there are better nights, anyone can ask before booking, we have those nights identified.Thank you again and please come back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

My wife and I went on an evening kayak trip to enjoy the sunset (luckily everyone else that had signed up for the night was scared off by rain an hour before we left but the time out was perfect) which ended with some incredibly fresh pineapple and an opportunity to snorkel among bio-luminescent plankton.

Initially I thought the effect from the plankton had been over-hyped, but within moments I was mesmerized by the swirling patterns of lights created by our every movement. Your camera won't be able to capture the effect, so save your time and just enjoy the moment.

Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventurasTropicales, Owner at Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thanks for sharing your experience, is very important for us to know your experience with us was remarkable. And we agree, bioluminescence is magical and the experience of glowing movements absolutely enjoyable. We wish you the best and hope you are able to come back to enjoy another adventure with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Three of us did the kayaking mangrove tour. The area and scenery are absolutely beautiful. Our guide Omar was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. I am a biologist and currently living in Costa Rica, but Omar was still able to teach me many new things! I wouldn't hesitate to book another tour with this company.

Thank hookahhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventurasTropicales, Owner at Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comment. Is a great joy to hear we are getting high profile tourist and still able to impress. Will give Omar a hi5 for this feedback on his great work and passion for nature. Thanks again and you are absolutely welcome to come back and share another adventure with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a beautiful, peaceful kayak trip through the mangroves with our guide Alberto. We, a family of 4 with adult kids,have all kayaked previously but I believe anyone can do this easy trip. Flat water with minimal current. Amazing birds and monkeys too. Alberto is extremely knowledgeable,experienced, and polite. We learned a lot about the area and local wildlife. Well worth the $45 per person. We stopped at the beach for a snack of fresh, delicious pineapple on the way back. A beautiful spot!

Thank Klapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventurasTropicales, Owner at Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your family trip with us! We love family adventures since we are a family business. Is great to know you have enjoyed and we added to your experience in Golfo Dulce.

Thank you so much for sharing you experience and please come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Rainforests aren't the only way of experiencing Costa Rica. Waterways provide a new host of flora and fauna in the convenience and protection of a guided boat. Howler monkeys, Gators and Caymans as well as various birds are fun to see in their natural habitat.

Thank bicycle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventurasTropicales, Owner at Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you so much for your comment and your appreciation of this beautiful ecosystem we inhabit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Aventuras Tropicales Golfo Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing