We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
356
187
35
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
187
35
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free kayaks golfo dulce the owner coffee maker boat tour costa rica small pool private deck air conditioning thoroughly enjoyed our stay location was perfect corcovado national park ocean view hot water close to town laid back drake bay
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 605 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017

John give us a great welcome, this place is the perfect place before or after your trek in the corcovado park
They can keep your luggage during the trek.

The room are nicely decorated and well equiped, balcony, view on the bay, king size bed, outside kitchen, tiny summer lounge
There is a swimming pool, kayak and bicycle that you can borrow

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frédéric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. And it is nice to hear that you appreciated the use of the Kayaks, the pool and the bikes. And view of the " Golfo Dulce" " The Sweet Gulf "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

Beach side room, terrace and a view of the bay with the sunrise. The room was so new, fresh and clean with AC, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and juice/smoothie machine. John the owner was helpful and informative about the area and nature. He directed us where we could take bicycles (free for all) and see by ourselves the local crocodiles and caimans in small mangrove. Paddled a kayak (also for free) to another mangrove area John showed me. We could have easily stayed longer had time allowed!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thank you for your " luxury room, terrace and view without the Price " . It is greatly appreciated by us. Hope to see you again.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Been coming here for 10 plus years. Bungalow 1 is our home away from home. Private deck and kitchen that look out over the bay. Clean and close to town. The landscape is beautiful - they add more and more each visit. Nice small refreshing pool all to ourselves in September. Staff is friendly and helpful. We recommend it highly.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JD-GD--ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you for your " Home away from Home " review. ! It is very much appreciated by us. We hope to see you again from your Home away from Home. John and his wonderful Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Our initial plan during our extensive travels in Costa Rica recently, was to drive to Puerto Jimenez from Golfito and explore the Osa Peninsula from there. This however did not work out because of landslides, and time restraints.
We did however, contact the owner of Cabinas Jimenez where we had originally booked a night stay, to inform him about our inability to travel there by car and keep this booking. We simply had too much luggage and camera equipment to take it across the Gulfo Dulce on a ferry. We did however, take the ferry over for a day trip as we desperately wanted to at least do a quick walk around the Puerto Jiminez town. We popped into Cabinas Jimenez (probably the best tourist accommodation in this very laid back little seaside village), to say hi to the owner and once again tried to explain our dilemma to him.
Cabinas Jimenez certainly looked like a very quaint if somewhat rustic but very laid back and relaxed place to spend time. It overlooks the bay at Puerto Jimenez, it has direct water access, it has multiple facilities in terms of recreation (bicycle, paddleboards, surfboards, kayaks etc).
The overall feeling when we walked in there was inviting, relaxing, and almost a little bit throw back 1970s hippie style.
As far as the little village was concerned, it is small, intimate, and very functional with every basic amenity one would want or need. We even had the joy of witnessing the parade from school children from all the surrounding schools commemorating the a nature park day, stressing and making us once again aware of the importance that this country attaches to looking after its beautiful natural resources.
We hope to one day get back to Cabias Jimenez and to have the opportunity and time to explore this natural wonder called Osa Peninsula.

Room tip: This I am sure would have great views no matter where you are
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you for your review of The Hotel. It is appreciated by us. " A change of plans by Mother Nature.. " As with traveling plans, things can happen.. Landslides, Torrential rain, missed flights... We are pleased, as you must be, that we did Not charge you for the cancellation. Hopefully, we will see each other again, in the Osa peninsula. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

This is not a destination resort. Dishes and coffee maker were very dirty. Friendly employees. Very noisy. You can hear people talking at all hours. The small pool is not big enough for more than about 3 people. Just okay for overnight.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank susanmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews