We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of The Market

The Market
Ranked #4 of 193 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Always open, always delicious. Promising quality and affordability, The Market is open 24 hours for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late-night dining. You can build your own sandwich, pasta, pizza or gourmet burger. A large selection of salads, Carpaccio and ceviche is also available. The beautiful terrace overlooking our pool and gardens is perfect to enjoy it around the clock. The modern ambiance and lively exhibition kitchen are the perks of this new concept restaurant.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

It had outstanded our expectations, having heard from their big and varied menu to the good service that is offered from the kind staff.

As arriving we had a friendly greeting from the staff at the entrance which keeped being positive while we got our menus and our waiter had introduced herself to us.
From the menu we had a pretty good starter a pizza well prepared and with a good thin crust (that i specially liked) and also meat with great fries. We also had part of the "famous" Salad Bar which we have to say is just great for a quick or light lunch, since it has a very big and fresh variety of ingredients.

Deserts are also great joined with a good coffee!! So make sure to leave some extra space to try them out.

Taking in consideration that the restaurante has a high occupancy id recommend to take in consideration to call for a small reservation or choose a wise meal time.

We were very grateful with the service that we had received and it will not be our last visit. We are tempted to go for the great Breakfast or just by again for a small lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Celine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente at The Market, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Dear Celine, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our restaurant that much and that all the meals we of your taste. We are truly glad that our outstanding service and menu keep over your expectations.

Hope to have you with us again so you can try more of our dishes and share good times with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2016

You can compain about the service--but bienvenidos a Costa Rica amigo (although there are places that get it, see my other copious and sloppily typed reviews). This is an above average hotel restaurant by North American standards (and definitely superior on cental/south american standards). So YEY! And we come here often, usually in the lobby bar (that shares the same kitchen/menu). I was especially psyched to try their chiago style deep dish pizza.... tough to get right anywhere.. and sadly the rsult here is mixed as best. Over cooked? Undercooked? This is NOT a meal to be taken lightly by pizza amateurs so, lo siento, it fails. But not a BAD try.... only place in CR with it on the menu, and hard to find anywhere outside of Chi-town. And pittsburgh.but i digress. They get the basics right, good clean food, burgers, steak, pasta, all passable or better, none remarkbale (although to this day they deliver the most beautfu plate of nachos imagainable-they just don't live up to the appearance after a bit of eating.... and "cheese sauce"??! Please!!) and almost always open on days whenmay others places are clsoed (watch those operatinghours those, at ALL the places in the IC--NOTwhat you expect (Factory closed monday? iike, why? like, hire more people, even Outback is open 7 days a week)..

You will get a decent meal here. And if perchance what they deliver SUCKS, which it can, send it back and they'll sort it out. Still charge you for it so don't come too hungry as you will be waiting. But hey, it really isn't bad. It's conveneient. \generlly open. Nice enough wait staff (tip early and often or be a regular for slightly improved service).

WouldI get off my plane at SJO to come here? No. But if yu are here, and on the gringo restaraunt no real sens eof adventure (undrestandably) can you eat here? Definritely. Better th anything across the road at the muliplaza (save taco bell, but that's another story!!). Don't take less thanfour star quality and you'll do fine here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AgC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente at The Market, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and the food served. We are going to take all your comments into consideration to improve and provide our clients the best service and also the best dishes.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

Amazing buffet breakfast, great lunch, nice dinner! The wait staff and cooks are efficient and freindly. The buffet breakfast always had Costa Rican traditional dishes, and anything else your appetite could want. Lunch choices were nice and the food was great. Dinner choices were also great.

Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente at The Market, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Dear Penny,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are proud to know that our food was of your taste and that you enjoy the services provided by our waiters.

Hope to see you very soon at our restaurant so you can enjoy more delicious meals.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

Great service. Large array of items to choose from. I ate there twice for dinner and three times for breakfast & it was great every time. I was able to eat something different each time and everything was great! I especially liked the Brie salad.

Thank emszagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente at The Market, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Dear Grace,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are truly glad that you enjoy all the variety of dishes that we offer at our restaurant, and that you can try the salad buffet that offers salads and ingredients for all tastes.

Hope to have you very soon at our restaurant.

Best Regards.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2016

Service is friendly but way to slow. The time spent detours from my food enjoyment. Food is very good. Does get busy and that translates to slow. Ill keep trying!

1  Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente at The Market, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Dear Mr Vatsmia,

Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to know that you enjoy our food, we are keep trying to improve our service to make it faster and better for you.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Market also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to The Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing