We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and experience!”
Review of El Punto

El Punto
Reserve with OpenTable
El Punto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 194 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We like to utilize progressive kitchen techinques to provide an artisenal aproach to our work. We combine technology and ingenuity to provide fun-filled dishes that potentiate the essence and flavor of each ingredient. As these different textures mix they evoke emotional responses that transmit respect and passion towards the food, awakening the five senses to feed your soul.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

The food at this place is top notch. The service is 5 star and the experience can't be missed. The ever evolving menu put together by chef Rodrigo Montesinos is exciting and unique. Take a date, friends or the family...you won't be disappointed. Great craft beer on tap and craft cocktails as well.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaddyHM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Great place with modern food. We had been here a while ago and now they changed the menu and we were positively surprised. Good and innovative dishes and excellent service. Priced reasonably for the quality. Will be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AMajch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Make sure you reserve a table outside in the garden area a beautiful green space. The place is charming with different areas tthat keep a certain privacy. Very quaint decor. Service is ok, seemed a bit disorganized.
The cocktail menu is short yet creative and varied. Prices vary mid to high range.
The menu is ecléctica with interesting use of the “new” ingredients like coal dust and very fresh ingredients.
We ordered two appetizers the pancetta (pork) and the duck dumplings. Beautifully served and very tasty. The pork as an appetizer is heavy so I suggest it is one to share. It is a good size, had a lot of fat for taste and over a tamal like pure.
For main dish I ordered the recomendaron which was a sea bass and black rice “not with the tradition black squid ink” but darkened with coal dust. The fish was a good portion, dry and the rice was not tasty. Call me traditionalist... the others ordered the cochinita pibil which is delicious, this dish I highly recommend.
For desert we shared the “cajeta” that has coconut and milkshake foam... it was pretty and really good.
Overalll a good experience, for three with a bottle of wine we paid 90,000 colones (about 50 per person).

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank AmandaV45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimena M, Gerente at El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Hi Amanda,
Thanks for your feedback, we will work based on your comments.

Hoping to exceed expectations next time!!

Regards,
Jimena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

The food is just amazing, I loved everything I tried and the staff was very friendly and fast. And the ambience was very nice too. The food was Latin with a very Mexican touch that makes the food new and surprising.
Even the cocktails were very good and creative.
Thank you very much to all the staff we had a great night!
I will definitely come back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank gabyveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimena M, Gerente at El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Hello Gaby!
Thanks for your review!
We are very pleased knowing foodies as you are, had a great time with us!!

For sure, we will wait for you to come back!!

Regards,
Jimena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Not much to say, great service, nice quiet place. Great food. Everything looks great and tasted even better.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jose b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimena M, Gerente at El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Hi Jose,
Thank you very much for you review we are very glad your experience was a great one !!

Hope we will see you soon!!
Jimena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Punto also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
Ciudad Colon, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing