We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Real Indian Taste.!”

Taj Mahal Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 194 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 1st Indian Restaurant in Costa Rica (estd. 2002) set up in a historic home (built in 1979) to enjoy The Royalty of vivid flavored food. The romance of ambiance and the symphony of flavors creates memorable feast for all the senses. Ethnic style beautiful decoration, Indian music and traditional hospitality makes one feel like a Royal. THE CUISINE OF MAHARAJAS Inspired by the feasting traditions of ethnic Indian kings and queens and using Nawab and Moghul cooking techniques from various states of India, chefs from India concoct timeless dishes; perfect for sharing and exquisite in their mastery of spice and flavor. SPECIAL DINING For a true Indian feast, book special dining in one of the private rooms or banqueting Darbaar – ideal for corporate dinners, groups and events. UNFLASHY, CAREFULLY HONED RECIPES INSPIRED BY INDIAN PALACES’ KITCHENS Vegan and gluten free selections. Certified 5 Star property by Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT).
Reviewed November 4, 2018

I was looking for a good indian food in costa rica as I am vegetarian and i am not able to have local food, so i tried this place it was awesome. Great and peaceful environment best service and food is awesome.! Must go place for anyone who likes indian food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank jaiminpatel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapil G, Owner at Taj Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you and serving you again, soon.

Namaste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 529 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

I have been in more than 50 indian restaurants in Latin America and this easily the best. Loved everyting.

Thank Gerardoguti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapil G, Owner at Taj Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thank you for your visit, giving us opportunity to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you again, soon.

Namaste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Glad to have such a nice place here in Costa Rica, customer service is unique, flavours are outstanding! A place to come!

Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapil G, Owner at Taj Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you for your visit, giving us opportunity to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you again, soon.

Namaste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Good food, excellent service, cozy, romantic and unique setting.It was an experience I will always remember. Except that we over ordered. Servings are big and two or three kinds of dishes would gave been enough. But there were nicely prepared and delicious.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank jst29us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapil G, Owner at Taj Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you for your visit and compliments for the food, service and ambiance at Taj Mahal.

We look forward to welcoming you and serving you again, soon.

Namaste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

beautiful space. The food is authentic and the service was very on point with everything. They have this amazing patio in the back area.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Roam40720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapil G, Owner at Taj Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Thank you for your visit and compliments for the food, ambiance and service at Taj Mahal.

We look forward to welcoming you and serving you again soon.

PS : Enjoy Indian dance performances on Fridays 8pm onwards.

Namaste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal Restaurant also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Taj Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing