We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another splendid repast”
Review of Park Cafe

Park Cafe
Ranked #2 of 822 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Please read important reservation information on our website before making your booking. Thank you.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in San Jose area by far and stays that way after our visit last week. Interestingly enough my wife did have the duck in chocolate sauce reviewed and slammed so inappropriately by the person called Cobionk. Park Cafe is for those with more sophisticated tastes. And my wife's duck was delicious as was my beef with some unusual sauces and potatoes like I have never tasted before (and that is hard to do with potatoes) - delicious indeed. We started off with 3 marvelous starters including an excellent scallop and a foie gras - you could just do the whole meal from the appetizer menu and make your own tasting menu. This is a place to bring friends when they come to town. Splendid indeed with service second to no restaurant we have been to.
Thanks Richard & Louise & Alex.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alajuelanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarathustra_10, Owner at Park Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Really, thanks so much. The visit of that brute was so upsetting. People such as yourselves should continue to eat in restaurants, enjoying yourselves and giving encouragement to the people who work in them. Genuinely thank you. See you soon. Best wishes, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 328 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2016

This was our second visit to this interesting restaurant and we weren't disappointed. We have only come on special occasions, bringing both sets of parents on a visit from the UK and we all loved it!

Great quality ingredients and some wonderful combinations which challenge your assumptions. They are apparently changing the menu a little regarding the degustation. We have had the degustation twice which was fantastic, if a little too much food, but this may be part of the change.

Recommend for those with an open mind to trying new food combinations and anyone that loves food on the whole! Thank you!

Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarathustra_10, Owner at Park Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2016

Thank you very much for the review. I'm always happy to have nice people here. Sadly TripAdvisor seem to have blocked my account, as I've spoken to six guests in the last two weeks who have assured me that they've written reviews which are not being posted. This is very disappointing as TripAdvisor is quick to post calumnious 'reviews' from people like the imbecile who wrote two weeks ago, yet are not posting glowing reviews. I suppose they have their own agenda, maybe the hateful pieces are more 'entertaining' and therefore take prescedence. I thought the site had some responsibility to the restaurant industry? No, silly me, and you can't even contact them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2016

My wife and I enjoy many things, one of them being dinning experiences.
We had heard about Park Cafe but had not been able to go.

Great service.
Personal attention from the Chef/Owner
Fantastic presentation of food.
Perfectly balanced flavors.
Lovely environment.

One of the best in Costa Rica and comparable with many great places around the world.

Thank you

Tizoc

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tizoc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarathustra_10, Owner at Park Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2016

Thank you so much Tizoc. It was your first visit to Park Cafe, so it is great to see you enjoyed yourself. It is so important for the restaurant industry that people like you continue to dine out, rather than people such as Jacob Cobi Babchuk, the Rhadamanthus-manque who uses internet forums to vent his frustrations with life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2016

From appetizer to desert, the food was amazing. Best dining experience I've ever had. Even spent about 15 minutes talking to the owner / chef after dinner. The restaurant itself is a unique place to dine. Don't miss it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Winnetka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarathustra_10, Owner at Park Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2016

Thank you so much for the kind words. It has been a difficult few weeks since we have been visited by other types unlike your charming selves. People such as the guy three reviews below, who certainly didn't come to the restaurant to enjoy himself as you did, but instead to destroy and embarrass. It is such a shame that people like him have lost the ability to enjoy dining out and instead see it as an opportunity to imagine themselves on a TV panel of judges as they prod, poke and dissect dinner. Let's all raise a proverbial glass to the bon vivants such as you, and may you always make working in restaurants a pleasure. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2016

I've visited this place twice in the last 6 months. Both times with a group of 4 with all of us taking the degustation menu. The setting is beautiful and the food is like art, every course amazing and entertaining. Great flavours (loved the duck in chocolate sauce, snapper, lamb, ...) and despite being very full, we all managed to polish off the equally enjoyable deserts!

Not cheap, but great for a special occasion - Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarathustra_10, Owner at Park Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2016

Dear David and Emma,
Thanks so much for the review. It was a pleasure to have you here. Always great when the restaurant is full of good people, people who participate in the ambience of the house, rather than the the reviewer below, who having seen a few episodes of Iron Chef, desperately wanted to be one of the judges. Keep coming to Park Cafe, keep going to restaurants and enjoying the pleasure of eating out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Park Cafe also viewed

 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Park Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing