We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All The Fun of Collage None of The Education!”
Review of Sportsmens Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sportsmens Lodge
Ranked #11 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This hotel is like a frat house full of fun! It has just about everything we needed, a bar, games, girls and rooms. Its a party hotel so sleep was never going to happen, way too much noise in the halls at night! Wish the place had a Casino instead of just TV screens, perhaps even a sports book. The staff was really helpful, especially Manfred who set us up on some great tours. We went zip-lining and visited a volcano as well as took an ATV tour that was a blast. We are all very serious fisherman, we each own our own boats back home in SD Calif. We wanted the best guide in the country! Manfred put us in touch with Captain Jose of Angry Marlin Sportfishing, we learned a lot about bait and switch fishing for marlin and sails from this master fisherman! Capt. Jose can look at the water see a ripple and tell you exactly whats below from a 100 yards away! We caught 6 sails one a small marlin and 4 large dorado! After the trip Capt. Jose took us to a great restaurant where we had a great shrimp soup that itself is worth going to Costa Rica for along with our dorado and beer as we watched the sunset on the Pacific. Life does not get any better than spending a long day fishing with your friends and our new friend Capt. Jose at a great restaurant then go home to girls, girls, and more girls. I highly recommend the Sportsmens Lodge, and Angry Marlin Sportfishing if your hanging with your buddies in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockrollfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2010

This is one of the coolest sportsbars I have been to. The sportsmens lodge is a very unique hotel, bar and restaurant. They have a wide variety of rooms. The nicest are in the Mansion Wing. It's a remodeled Presidential Mansion. It's a small hotel apprx, 30 rooms. Very happening bar. Busiest around happy hour. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner is served daily. Kitchen closes at 11pm. What a great place to watch sports! This is a party spot and definitely not for families.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rtseatrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Landed in San Jose for some international football and lounged and the Lodge. It is plopped down in a neighborhood in the city and is nice enough and run well. The room set me back about a $100 a night. There are probably more economical places, but this one had some character and alot of characters. The rooms branch out from a central restaurant/bar area complete with pretty decent dining options and plenty of libations and TV screens.

The room was spacious and equipped with the basics. The bathroom was large, but not luxurious.

The one downside was that there was quite a bit of hall traffic during the night and it often was loud. It is a partying place, after all.

They had some PCs for free internet access and the management was helpful for whatever your needs were. The clients were mostly internationals from all walks and talks.

If you are looking for a decent place that is sure to provide some nightlife (although bar closes at midnight), you could do worse than this place. Hopping all day and evening.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
6  Thank Goodpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FelixCaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,521 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
0.4 km away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 78 in San Jose
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,480 reviews
0.3 km away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#58 of 78 in San Jose
61 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmens Lodge

Address: Casa 949 en Barrio Otoyo | Calderon Guardia, Calle 13 Ave 9 y 11, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $84 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmens Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sportsmens Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmens Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing