We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, and Quiet”
Review of Hostel el Museo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel el Museo
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Hostel El Museo was great. I arrived several hours later than I told them I would check in and they saved my private room, although several other guests wanted it. Also, I only paid $30 for a private double (the price of a room without a private bathroom), and yet I received a room with a private bathroom! They were friendly and showed me to my room, which was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The place was overall very chill and quiet for when I was ready to sleep. The location is super convenient as well, just a couple blocks from all the shopping. If I am every back in San Jose I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Museo, Gerente at Hostel el Museo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi, Friends thanks for yours comments, we hope see you soon again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

after sitting on a bus for two days i arrived at the tica bus terminal i new the hostel where i wanted to stay but only had a rough idea of its where abouts but really needed to walk avoiding the taxi drivers i set off only to find myself incredibly lost after wondering the streets and also being late at night i found this place by accident it is super close to down town and the place is real homely the rooms prestige and with the free breakfast in the morning was just the cherry on the top!! the best part of my stay was the staff so friendly and helpful they were just happy to be there ,which me as a solo traveler happy to be there too.i was only passing through but had so much fun and made friends with the staff i stayed for three nights and will be back thank you Carmen for my morning coffee and breakfast and thank you Natalia you are the best for your company and even inviting me to see a concert that was happening at the time i will not forget your hospitality .i will be back ,come stay here and tell them Nacho said hello going to miss you guys!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwiNACHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Museo, Gerente at Hostel el Museo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi, Friends thanks for your comments, we hope see you soon again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Hostel El Museo is the place to stay in San Jose! Best thing about it was the fantastic service - the staff was very welcoming and made it a very fun stay. Perfect location and value make this one place you do not want to miss.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geetarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Museo, Gerente at Hostel el Museo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi, Friends thanks for your comments, we hope see you soon again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This was my first stay in a hostel, so I was unsure of what to expect. The rooms were kept clean & the beds were comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful & friendly, which made my stay very enjoyable. They were quick to offer use of the phones & Internet, as well as advice on where to go out safely for night life. The location was convenient to all in San Jose.
My only one complaint was the lack of hot water for showers.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Museo, Gerente at Hostel el Museo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi, Friends thanks for your comments, we hope see you soon again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

In terms of value for money this hostel is best we have stayed in. Clean and well maintained, very comfortable beds and a friendly staff. For the price, you cannot find anything better in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Museo, Gerente at Hostel el Museo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi, Friends thanks for your comments, we hope see you soon again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

By far the best location, just few steps from everything!! The staff is awesome, the rooms are brand new and really clean, you feel like if you where in an Hotel instead of the typical dirty, ugly hostel.
All the staff are experts on turism, San Jose BEST places to visit and they will answer all the questions you may have, also they have made some partnership with a local café, so if you stay at the hostel they give you special treatment!!
The common area is very relaxing, they have 2 satellite Tv's. and large sofas to take a nap jeje. Its like stay with family!
The internet is really fast! and complementary, if you don't have a laptop they let you use the one at the reception, no charge!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drealovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Museo, Gerente at Hostel el Museo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi, Friends thanks for your comments, we hope see you soon again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Hazely_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.9 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,484 reviews
2.2 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
300 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 78 in San Jose
509 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,521 reviews
1 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel el Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel el Museo

Address: Avenida 2 Calle 17 | In front of Museo Nacinal, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 80 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location in San Jose right in front of the south side of the National Museum of Art on Second Ave. 60 mtrs from judicial courts, National assembly, fine restaurants and bars only walking distance. National theaters and other museums only blocks away. Discounts on car rentals. Discounts on all tours for local beaches, canopy lines, water rafting, water falls. Ground transportation available private or groups. Free secured parking. Free WI-FI Free continental breakfast. English spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing