We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and convenience”
Review of Casa Abierta B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Abierta B&B
Ranked #7 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Casa Abierta, while not in the heart of San Jose, is in a very convenient location as a starting point to explore (by foot or by bus) San Jose or other parts of Costa Rica. The owner/operator, Darrylle, provides everything you need to start your explorations including a map of the city and its surroundings.

And the B&B itself offers a great retreat -- the patio/garden area is perfect for starting your day with a quiet meditation or a good book. Breakfast time provided engaging conversations with Darrylle as well as the interesting people he attracts to his B&B.

And speaking of breakfast, the fruit and homemade bakery are always fresh and delicious. "Bet you can't eat just one!"

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Two thumbs up for Casa Abierta!! My host, Darrylle, made every effort to ensure my stay in San Jose was enjoyable and worry-free from arranging airport transportation to providing delicious home-cooked meals. The house is clean and cozy offering fast WIFI, a great location in a safe neighborhood and a peaceful environment. I will definitely return to Casa Abierta!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

On my first trip to Costa Rica a friend and I spent several nights enjoying this wonderfully inviting B&B. The owner of Casa Abierta, Darrylle, makes you feel welcomed and special from the moment you arrive. He literally opens his home to his guests. The guest quarters are very comfortable and clean with bright, airy rooms. Darrylle provides a luscious assortment of homemade goodies at the breakfast table each day -- be sure to indulge yourself!

Downtown San Jose is just a short walk from the B&B. We also experienced a private walking tour of San Jose and Cartago lead by a highly energetic and passionate Tico, Marlon, who really knew the history and lore of Costa Rica. Another must experience during your stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in Casa Abierta on the last night of our stay in Costa Rica. What an amazing stay! My husband and I were overwhelmed by Darrylle's hospitality, modesty and affection. He is incredibly well-traveled, very well read and is an extremely good conversationalist. He also set us up with a sort of guide, Marlon, who knows San Jose very well, and we discovered San Jose for the amazing city it really is! I say "sort of guide", because Marlon is so much more than just a guide. On a walking tour with Marlon, we discussed philosophy, food, theatre, history, family and so much more that he can't be called a 'guide'! Thanks to Darrylle, we made two friends in one night in San Jose, CR. We also ate the best potato empanadas I have ever eaten, thanks to Marlon.

The house is very tastefully decorated, and feels peaceful without pretension. The breakfast was splendid and caters to all tastes.

I've never used so many superlatives in one review before, but stay at Casa Abierta, and you'll know what I'm talking about! We plan to visit Costa Rica again, and obviously, we will adjust our schedule, so we can stay at Darrylle's.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chandana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at Casa Abierta our first night in Costa Rica. It was so wonderful to have such clean and welcoming accommodations. So very clean and beautiful! I immediately felt comfortable to sit on the back patio and read a book. Darrylle was incredibly helpful with any of our questions, and also a great person to share a conversation with. A great host indeed!! He recommended a cute cafe down the street where we stopped on our way down to the market. We slept so well and woke up to yummy homemade granola, yummy breads, homemade jams, and hot coffees. I look forward to staying there again on our next adventure to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeannaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here the last seven days of our 3 week + trip on a tour of Costa Rica. After touring the country, riding the bus, staying in the many hotels on the tour, Casa Abierta was a real shangrila and place of rest. Darrylle made us feel at home and like family. We are glad we found this one of a kind bed and breakfast after a busy tour schedule. On our next trip to Costa Rica, this will be our first stop. Thank you Darrylle for your kind hospitality. Sorry it took me so long to send a review.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaii103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Casa Abierta was the perfect place to stay after a long bus ride and before a long plane ride. Not only was it clean & very comfortable, Darrylle was an amazing host ready with cookies, tea & conversation. My time there felt like a visit to a friend's house; much more than an overnight place to 'crash'! I would highly recommend the stay here for those who like comfort, affordability and a great place to relax.

Thank you to my new friend Darrylle & Casa Abierta!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissABC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,505 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,020 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Casa 69
Hotel Casa 69
#1 of 68 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Capital Boutique Hostel
Capital Boutique Hostel
#10 of 79 in San Jose
8 reviews
10.0 km away
La Boruca
La Boruca
#5 of 68 in San Jose
158 reviews
5.2 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abierta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta B&B

Address: Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go? We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing