We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Jose Bike & Bites Ride
44

Book in advance
from
C$78.28
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience ChepeCletas Tours
from C$78.28
More Info
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
116
16
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
16
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike tour central market great tour highlights knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 136 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2015

I found the people at ChepeCletas to be attentive and well-organized. I was met at the pre-ordained time for a one-person bicycling tour of San Jose, and my guide Charlie was more than capable. I enjoyed the trip!

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank chrisreedfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2015

We had Carla in San Jose, and I don't know what we would have done without her. Perfect way to start our time in that city, very knowledgeable, so much fun to spend time with. Carla, if you are reading this, you have an instant tour guide in us anytime you come to NY to visit!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 14, 2015

I have been exploring San Jose an number of infinite times since the 1980's. While accompanying guests yesterday, I still managed to enjoy San Jose in another perspective. I was thrilled to realize how much the city has changed over recent years to become a delightful, more pedestrian friendly city. It is now one that I would recommend that visitors spend time discovering rather than to avoid as I had suggested in the patsy I would not have enjoyed this recent trip in SJ without the knowledge and delightful enthusiasm of our guide, Marie Jose. Bravo and thanks.

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank Willow456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 14, 2014

ChepeCletas – So there I was: no chance of catching the city tours available and with 6 hrs. to spare before heading to the airport. Luckily GoVisitCostaRica (they who planned my trip) had connections with the college-student based ChepeCletas (“Chepe” nickname in Spanish for José; “Cletas” abbreviation for “bicicletas”, bycicles).

This dynamic, well-informed and reliable group of students *luv* San José and promote their city via special events, social media and private tours. My guide, Maria José, squeezed two hours out of her schedule on a Thursday morning to walk me through little-known and hidden landmarks and sights. Further, she kindly arranged the transportation back to my hotel with a reliable and safe driver so that I could explore the Pre-Columbian museum for a couple of hours.

Highlights:
* Centro Nacional de la Cultura (vertical sun dial and “fábrica de licores” - rum and liquour cauldrons!)
* Edificio metálico (1896 building made of iron)
* Calle 0 0 – nacimiento de San José de la Boca del Monte (birthplace of the city of San José)
* Edificio de Correos (Post Office) – 1917 architecturally stunning building where beautiful stamps can be purchased for your postcards.
* Mercado Central (Central market) – 1880 historical and cultural heritage site where you can enjoy a “resbaladera” (barley and rice chilled drink flavored with cinnamon and sugar, purchased mine at “Puntarenas”)

Walk around “Chepe” as a native with the ChepeCletas!

Date of experience: October 2014
3  Thank Cathy_Civy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roberto G, Director General at ChepeCletas Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thank you for your valuable comment Kathy, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and it is great that you could visited Central Market, one of the best places to taste costa rican food and popular culture. I will let Maria Jose know about your comment. Thank you again and hope you can come back to San Jose in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was an excellent experience. I have been visiting San José for years, but the ChepeCletas guides included stops I didn't know, alongside longtime favorites. The guides are knowledgeable, welcoming, and friendly, and they created an experience that was enjoyable, safe, and educational. Though they change destinations each time, on the evening that I went, stops included historical locations and explanations of urban infrastructure, an innovative artistic center, a coffee shop/craft beer establishment featuring local products, and a favorite restaurant that provided presentations by the owners and samples of the delicious food for which the restaurant is known. It was more than worth the small fee.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews