We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-04
Hotels.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-04
PricelineUS$65
TravelocityUS$58
Agoda.comUS$58
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
178
275
115
31
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
275
115
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recommend this hotel train tracks no elevator light sleeper stayed here for two nights beans and rice convenient location clean rooms volcano
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 624 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2022 via mobile

It's a basic, but clean hotel for a low price. Access is only via a small stairs. No 24h reception, but access via an access code. We had no A/C in the room, but a standing cooling fan. Service was friendly. Rooms are a bit noisy, train is running nearby. Hotel is very close by the city centre.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank frankv447
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 12, 2022 via mobile

We stayed here twice in February, once at the start of our trip and once at the end.

The staff are friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome.

The first time we were there we had a relatively small twin room. The lovely thing about it was that it had a small internal terrace. The shower was good too - good water pressure.

The second time we stayed we had a much larger twin room (Two double beds) and this one was facing the front of the building so we had a fantastic view of the volcano out the window.

The hotel itself has lots of public seating areas including outside tables.

Breakfast was good. The typical beans and rice, eggs, cheese and plantain. As well as toast and jam, and fresh fruit to start.

The only thing to consider is if you’re a really light sleeper, there is a train/tram that goes past near the hotel. It didn’t bother me at all.

Definitely recommend this hotel

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GabriellaN957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 10, 2020

This hotel was last stop on my tour. It was right across main st to main city square/park. 3 museums are next to the park. Off to the left after you pass the park is dead end with many tour buses parked there,turn left and you find a car less street with a promenade of shops for 1/2 mile which ends up onto the outdoor stalls which probably is another 1/2 mile. Just before the outdoor stalls is the underground museum. It ha 3 stories underground.2 blocks from the hotel is a wonderful Pan Asian restaurant I recommend. 1 block away is a large and noisy fish house around the corner on the main blvd. Room has a phone!!! Room was small but not too small but bathroom was large. breakfast was very good.

Room tip: Ask for 1st floor as it is a walk up and the stairs are tall.
Date of stay: April 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krken2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fleur Lys, Director General at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2020

Dear customer, thank you very much for your comments. Our location is well appreciated by our customers because the main attractions of san jose are only some steps from the hotel. We have several categories of rooms with different sizes according to the requirements of our guests. Our breakfast is typical from our country with seasonal fruits. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I hope you can come and visit us again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2020

A lovely "little" gem next to some nice bars, restaurants and very close to shopping in San Jose. Many rooms on two floors that stretch back through quaint plant filled hallways. Business center for small conferences/workshops. Very friendly staff and cute breakfast area. Breakfast is basic and good: eggs, toast, yogurt, beans/rice, fresh fruit. Reception even called to make sure I didn't miss breakfast when the buffet was closing! Very attentive. For the price, some slippers and a robe would have been welcome as well as a mini fridge. ($50/night)

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank sunrisesintheeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Dear Customer, thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. Our location is well appreciated by our customers because the most attractive places in San José, are nearby the hotel. The computer we have in the workshop area is used by guests to print boarding passes and do specific works. Our breakfast is traditional with the intention to connect visitors with the Costa Rican experience. Indeed, some rooms have minibar according to each category. I am very happy to know you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope you can come and visit us again in a near future. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on the 10th & 19th Dec. For our first night the room we stayed in was Amapola, it was comfortable and pleasant, we literally just needed it for the night as we were setting off early the next day. We arrived in the evening around 7pm, the location is very central so there is a lot of noise from the traffic but this died down around 9-10pm when we were ready to sleep. The staff members were very friendly and pleasant and helped with all the questions we had. The breakfast was buffet style, plentiful and very tasty. My friend drinks coffee and she said of our whole trip the coffee at the Fleur de Lys was the strongest and to her liking. On the last night of our trip we arrived from Monteverde, upon arrival the receptionist said we had been upgraded to a suite! That was a nice surprise and I wondered if it was due to staying before. We stayed in the Lirio room, it was more than double the size of our double room from the first night. It had a walk-in wardrobe with a fridge and safe and a spacious bathroom. This room was street side at the front of the property so unfortunately we got a very early Friday morning wake up call from the rubbish truck which broke our sleep. That night we had a very reasonably priced fine dining experience at 11.47 Restaurante Aranjuez which was £2.50 in an uber. I highly recommend it but there’s only 6 tables so you need to reserve in advance. We were lucky we managed to reserve a table for 8pm at around 4pm that day! The next day we had time to kill before our transfer to the airport. The hotel had secure luggage storage and the member of staff at the front desk kindly broke our larger colones notes into smaller ones which was helpful. So we walked to the San Jose Central Market where we picked up souvenirs much, much, much cheaper then the airport which is ridiculously expensive. There wasn’t anything I didn’t particularly like but I would suggest the rooms have just a little TLC and a bit of an upgrade but still in keeping with its character. The carpet in our suite was ripped in places. The bathroom fixtures, fittings and suite in both rooms could do with some love and upgrading. The tub in our suite was damaged which was a shame as it was a good size and would have been nice to soak in.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank judeg163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Dear Customer, first at all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments, your perception is very important to us and it is the only way to be able to improve our product. Our location is appreciated by our guests because the most interesting places of san jose are nearby the hotel. It is true that city is noisy and for that reason our receptionists always offer earplugs to customers with the intention to improve sleep quality. The buffet breakfast has traditional options with Costarican dishes and season fruits. I am happy to know you enjoyed our property and I Hope you can visit us again in a near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews