We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice hotel, overall. It is in a location where you can easily walk to restaurants and shopping. A little scary after sunset, but generally nice. There is a nice Americanized restaurant across the street that sells pizza, beer, and other treats.

The room is small. Beds were good. Bathroom nice. It did the trick for one nice in San Jose.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahartwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear Ahartwick,

Thank you for staying with us, the restaurant name is El Patio, just across the street. He hope you can visit as again, please be welcome at Hotel Presidente. Regards,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel Presidente is located in the heart of downtown on the pedestrian mall ofSan Jose. There are many restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Most of the historic landmarks including the National Theater, museums within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BezRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear BezRaz,

Thanks for the review, if coming back to the city, more information of attractions located walking distance from the hotel, and also events going on in the city can be found at our webpage. Cordially,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Presidente after 8 days all over Costa Rica. After the 3 previous places i was SURE that it was illegal to have a comfortable mattress in costa Rica. But that's not true because Hotel Presidente was soooooo nice. The bed was the perfect firmness coupled with the perfect softness. The sheets and blankets were crisp and clean.
We had a standard room. I didn;t need more than that. It had 2 beds, a night table and a small sitting table and a TV. Really that's more than enough. The view was crap but thats because Most of the things to look at weren't of quality. Not the hotel's fault at all.
We blew a fuse at one point because my bf was messing with the reading lamp. All power to the room went out but they had it repaired within 5-10 minutes.

Breakfast comes with the room and it included eggs, rice and beans, stewed chicken. also there were fruits, breads, cereal, juice and coffee. It was plenty.

Also, since we didn;t travel with computers it was especially nice that there are 2 free-use computers in the lobby. Perfect for checking sights and things to do or reading reviews on a restaurant.

speaking of Restaurants, we went to La Esquina de Buenos Aires. It was about 5 blocks to the left and 2 blocks over. We walked and it was fine. The crime around San Jose is presumably high but we went to a festival and walked around a lot during the day. Just be smart and alert.

They got us a cab to the airport which ran about 30 bucks US.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Mr. Ikirol,

It was funny reading your first lines…. You seem to be a person who sees the good side of everything! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and get a deserved rest on our beds. If there is any suggestion or service you feel we may add to improve our guests experience, it will very helpful to hear it, my email is manager@hotel-presidente.com. At your service,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Amazing location right on the main pedestrian street in downtown San Jose. As every building in San Jose this hotel also has an address. Yet, to locate this address is impossible as there are no street names posted anywhere but the map. If we did not have a GPS, there is no way we would have ever found this place or any other place in San Jose for that matter. If you do find it though, you will see a very modern, well maintained property. Check in very personable, very quick and efficient. We were given a map of the city, told where to go, etc. We had dinner reservations at the local restaurant in the suburb, the front desk set up the cab over there. The taxi belonged to the hotel, but the price was the same as with the city cabs. The driver had no change, so he asked if he could also drive us back to the hotel, gave his card, and we did use him for the ride back as well.
The room spacious, shower strong, we had a jacuzzi - very clean. Bed comfortable.
Breakfast basic - adequate, there is an omelet station in the back we did not see immediately. Breakfast is buffet style, coffee/tea is served by the waiter. Breakfast included in room price.
Parking on site - few spaces, very difficult to get in, you really needs to be good at Tetris. Our night it was secured by the huge iron gate with a magnificent barn lock and a guard that was comparable in size to Perry the Refrigerator.
Everyone exceedingly friendly, even the guard.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4,865,853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear 4865853,

It is correct our city does not have street names posted, and it is hard to find an address, so what we recommend is that our guests download from our webpage, the map with directions of the hotel to/from the international airport. The map shows updated pictures of the main turns indicated at the map, to make it easier for foreigners driving by themselves. The map is at the “Location” tab of the webpage. Off course the GPS will be the easiest way, thanks for the tip!! And for all the nice compliments on our property, it will be a real pleasure to host you on a future stay. Best regards,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Hotel Presidente is located in the heart of downtown San Jose. If you are looking for a place that has many restaurants and shopping within walking distance this is the spot since you have many historic landmarks including the National Theater, museums within walking distance, and you are right on the central avenue shopping district. The pedestrian mall is several blocks long and offers a wealth of shopping.

The hotel itself has modern accomodations and very helpful staff that aim to help. After reading several posts it is accurate that your best bet is to get a room that does not face the central avenue, but since you are in the heart of San Jose you can expect some traffic noise, but it is bearable. Also it is true that at times you could hear people walking thru the hallways rolling their luggage at night. In all the pros outweigh any cons and i would return here for my next trip to San Jose. The breakfast buffet included in the price was good and you can not beat the location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elcoqui13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear elcoqui13,

Thank you very much for your contribution and all your compliments to our location. We hope you can return soon, it will be my pleasure to meet you in person. At your service,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After staying in many small, rustic, bungalow-like accommodations throughout Costa Rica we were quite happy to stay in a modern and spacious room. It felt like home! The room decor was nice, the shower was great, flat screen TV, new and crisp bedding - no complaints at all (we just didn't have any towel hooks in our room!). The front desk staff was very professional and friendly - went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast buffet was excellent - good selection of food and real service. They even offered to make pancakes for our 2 year old son when he mentioned they were his favourite. The location is perfect - on the main pedestrian street within a 10 minute walk of the market and all the museums and buildings of interest. Several good restaurants in the area and lots of fast food options if you need them! Tip: We only paid about $80/night as the hotel was running a promotion with Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SawmillGolfTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear benj09,

I am glad the staff took care of your son, he might be missing his home made pan cakes also, if you were travelling for a while! Thank you for all your compliments, we are glad you enjoyed the room, I will let the staff know about your review so they continue pursuing small details that can be of great convenience when travelling with kids. Warm regards,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I spent two nights in the Hotel Presidente in downtown San Jose. It is located right on the pedestrian walk which is nice as you can walk out the door and walk immediately to shops, grocery stores, restaurants. However, this part of San Jose is not attractive and the shops are mostly low end clothing. There are several grocery stores just a few blocks in both directions and they are a good place to buy coffee (if you want to bring back coffee as gifts).
Now the hotel: there were lots of good things about it. In the lobby are two free computers which you can use anytime. The buffet breakfast was included and it was good with a variety of fruit, bread and hot dishes (the hot dishes are generally the same). The staff was extremely helpful and polite. The fitness room/gym was on the top floor with a fantastic view over the city. It had a new elliptical machine, a new treadmill, rowing machine, a bike and one weight machine. So while it was small, the equipment was good. I had an interior room that seemed more like a cave (very little natural light) which I didn't particularly like but I must say that it was quiet. I saw other rooms with windows and they were nice. My room had a refrigerator and a safe but no coffee/tea maker which I would have liked. The bathroom and shower were huge with lots of hot water. All in all, I recommend this hotel as a very nice place to stay. I particularly liked that it is an older building that has been renovated rather than a cookie cutter modern hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are interior rooms with very little natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blanco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Blanco1,
Thanks a lot for the review, I am glad you enjoyed our facilities while you stayed and definitely, city view rooms are nicer that interior ones. A tip to buy coffee will be to go to the central market, just walking the pedestrian boulevard where the hotel is. At the central market you can choose whole coffee beans of different regions and toasts (light-strong), you can buy it as whole beans or request them to be grained, you can even ask for a mix of beans…. And have a coffee your way!!. About the hotel, it was built in the 70’s and is owned by a costarrican family, so keeping the identity of the hotel has been a goal besides renovations have took place to guarantee modern amenities, technology updates and comfortable facilities. Hope you can come back soon,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
2.9 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
922 reviews
0.1 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $108 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing