We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 February 2012

When we arrived in San Jose Costa Rica, we were picked up at the airport and whisked away to this beautiful oasis in the middle of busy San Jose. When we arrived in the lobby we were greeted with a tray of flutes of the most amazingly yummy juice--a blend of fresh local fruit juices that we all agreed were the BEST!! Since we were also staying here at the end of our trip, we all looked forward to these amazing drinks they greet their guests with! Our rooms were beautiful--each opening out onto courtyards with fountains and amazing plants. We took advantage of the jacuzzi under the stars to wash off our traveller's tiredness from our long journey The beds are so comfortable.And the bathrooms are extremely well appointed. There are hardwood floors throughout. Breakfast was amazing, and the staff so accommodating. On our return stay at the end of our vacation, the staff at the desk were particularly efficient checking on our flight reservations for our return trip. I highly recommend this hotel..

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OkanaganArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Hotel Grano de Oro was a fabulous, unique property. Our room (the deluxe room) was wonderfully decorated with a king bed and didn't seem small at all.

We stayed two nights- one at the beginning of our honeymoon and one at the end, so we really were just there to sleep, not to see San Jose.

The staff was very professional and very helpful- we were greeted with a glass of fruit juice and a quick check in which was most appreciated given all the traveling we'd done that day.

The rooftop jacuzzi is very nice, although not very warm- more lukewarm than a true hot tub, but we still enjoyed it.

My only complaint is that the area doesn't feel very safe to me- it was dark when we arrived and we wanted dinner. After looking at the hotel menu, we thought it was pricy and thought we'd wander to see what else was nearby. After walking less than two blocks and noticing barbed wire coiled on top of each fence, we did not feel secure walking and returned to the hotel. I don't know that it was dangerous, but the barbed wire just didn't feel right.

We ended up eating at the hotel and the food was very good, though, as mentioned, a little on the pricy side.

Room Tip: Each room is unique so just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmtreelover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed 1 night at this very fine hotel!! (Feb 2012) Most staff spoke Spanish and English and were all very helpful and polite. Our room was superb. two queen size beds, nice area for the table to enjoy 1's coffee and 2 flat sceen TV's!! Superb!!! Free Wifi as well. The restaurant again was 5 stars!! Ya a little pricey, so one expects it to be good and it fully delivered. Their were 5 of us and each of us raved about the appetizers, the main meal, but we didnt have dessert. But looking around at others desserts, we sort of wished we had. Prior to supper we had drinks in the lounge, love the Tika sour, yum!!!

1 of the finest hotels I have ever stayed at! At the old Victorian charm with the hotel and its staff. Rooms were supeb, food was superb, staff was superb, can't ask for anything more

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have elevator service--so if you do require an elevator, make sure you mention tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Grano de Oro on New Year’s Eve, in between our Windstar cruise and trip to the Osa peninsula. What a great place to stay for the holiday! Our room was comfortable, sparkling clean, and very cute. Dinner at the hotel restaurant (see separate review) was a lovely treat. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays, and the staff was warm and helpful. The only disappointment is that breakfast is not included in the price of the room. Although this was not a surprise to us when we booked, once we got to Costa Rica it did start to seem odd, as every other place we stayed, even those very much less expensive, did have breakfast included. Still, we recommend this hotel for the restaurant, the hotel's ambience, and its originality. Each room is different, and as such, cthe hotel ompetes favorably against the many cookie cutter chains found in San Jose.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reptileenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGDO, General Manager at Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. As you mention, we are definitely not a cookie cutter hotel as so many San Jose hotels are. Our goal is to provide a unique hotel experience, one that gives our guests the opportunity to feel as if they are staying in an old San Jose home, yet still enjoy the comforts and amenities of a fine hotel (we were recently named by Tripadvisor as a Travelers' Choice 2012 Winner) . We are also very pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, we are very proud of our kitchen and wait staff who always give 100%. Regarding breakfast not being included, so many of our guests leave very early in the morning before our restaurant would be open on tours, which often include breakfast, or for the airport so to keep our rates as competitive as possible we have decided not to include breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I do concur that this was a great hotel. We stayed 2 nights. The first afternoon we walked into the city center and were back in the hotel by dark. I was not concerned for safety, but had left all my jewelry stateside. As others have said, there is not much to see of San Jose. We enjoyed the hot tub on the roof three times, after returning from our walk downtown, and the next day before and after our city tour. It was nice that we were completely alone and only 1 other couple even came up to check it out.
There are a few things I wished I would have known before our visit. 1.) We really did not need to exchange money. Every place we went accepted dollars at the same rate we received at the bank in the airport. 2.) The hotel's water is treat and perfectly safe to drink. No need for bottled water. 3.) Asked for a "to go" breakfast from the hotel as we were leaving at 6:30 as the restaurant did not open till 7. Oh My Gosh...what a treat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeDaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The staff are friendly, always available, very knowledgeable and helpful. Beautiful converted colonial mansion. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It is very well placed to go either into the center of town or to get out of the city. The restaurant is very expensive but good. The courtyard in the restaurant is beautiful and sunny In the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed in Grano de Oro for two nights in February at the start of our vacation. The place exudes professionalism, comfort and attention to detail. Our lovely room had a small 'outdoor courtyard' with plants and a fountain. We ate both nights in the very elegant hotel restaurant which had great options for both the vegetarian and the meat lover, and a most acceptable selection of wines. Very professional and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,525 reviews
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
7.8 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
1.8 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $222 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing