We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveller rating
1,413
430
60
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,413
430
60
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelgarden suitevictorian mansionrooftop jacuzzione nightcosta ricaboutique hotellast nightopen courtyardan oasisbeautiful roomfamily suitenext morningstandard roomwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotellong flight
Filter
Updating list...
1,021 - 1,026 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Food great, room beautiful,location ok just don't wander around at night, pricey overall but it's great quality .... I stayed there overnight before heading to manuel Antonio...had to stay elsewhere on my return home and boy was I missing the grano! No comparison .. Place is very upscale and classy .. No wonder y rooms sell out fast..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sead0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hotel Grano de Oro was our reprieve in the noisy San Jose. From the moment you pull up to the hotel... you know it will be an incredible experience. The staff was WONDERFUL - kind, helpful (even when we called from other cities), generous and made our stay perfect. The rooms were lovely, the restaurant served quality meals and the outside sitting area by the jacuzzi was the best way to end the day. We didn't spend much time in San Jose but stayed at the Grano de Oro when we arrived and before we departed - and our stays there were the perfect start and ending to our trip. Gerald was fantastic - he helped us navigate not just San Jose but the whole country. He's insight, and desire to provide surplus value positively impacted our whole trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saminish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is everything that is promised. You can easily walk downtown and to various museums, markets and sights. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms. The staff is great, they are attentive and extremely helpful. Their restaurant is excellent and very fairly priced. I would definitely return and highly recommend a stay here when in San Jose!

Room Tip: if you are beside a fountain ask the staff to turn if off for the night and they are happy to do this
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Grano de Oro many times and it is always a delight. The hotel is lovely with very well appointed rooms. Some rooms have outdoor patios. The restaurant is very good, room service is good and extremely fast. The best part about Hotel Grano de Oro though is the people. The service at this hotel is impeccable. The people are warm and friendly and always extremely helpful. If you find yourself in San Jose, Costa Rica, for one night or many, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an outdoor patio. Maybe you'll get one with a fountain and goldlfish...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJonesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Attention to detail, room quality, service was outstanding! Just felt like we were in Paradise. I would give it another star if it was by a beach! We had 2 nights here and it was bliss - so much so I wanted to stay and enjoy the property for longer but not so sure about San Jose itself. Had New Year's eve dinner here and the food was delicious - thank you so much. Your staff were excellent. Nice easy stroll to the centre of town also!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews