We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$135
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$120
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$119
US$97
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$97
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,933)
Filter reviews
1,933 results
Traveller rating
1,407
429
60
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,407
429
60
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelgarden suitevictorian mansionrooftop jacuzzione nightcosta ricaboutique hotellast nightopen courtyardan oasisbeautiful roomfamily suitenext morningstandard roomwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotellong flight
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,933 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and clean...restaurant food was great and the staff were friendly and helpful! I would highly recommend the hotel as a stop off before seeing the beaches or rainforest of Costa Rica!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Stayed here twice. Room in old mansion was great. Loved the front desk personnel. Restaurant was very good too but waiters seemed to have a bit of an attitude. The location seemed very good relative to the center of town.

Room Tip: Older part
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Nice hotel close to central San Jose. Outside and public areas are beautiful. The open courtyard outside the restaurant inside the hotel could be considered breathtaking. The restaurant was very good and the ambience was lovely. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed in a deluxe room which was fairly small. Bathroom was pretty basic. Bed was ok. It was fine a short two-night stay, I really wouldn't stay longer than that. Didn't really feel the accommodations were worth the price, which was high for a San Jose hotel with no resort amenities. At the time of our visit there was major construction going on.

This is a pretty well-known hotel so it's easy for cab drivers to interpret when you tell them where you need to go. Located about 25 minutes from San Jose airport.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

Beautiful, boutique style hotel that centres around a lovely courtyard that is beautifully lit up at night. Attentive service, good food served and great value. Bar prices are really reasonable too. Would stay again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank siburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Grano de Oro on our recent trip to Costa Rica. What a beautiful hotel!

We were there on 3 separate days/nights as we toured different parts of the country.

The hotel is a beautifully restored Victorian Mansion with different rooms on different levels. I chose the Garden Room Suite and loved it! We had our own private terrace and the room was gorgeous. The staff couldn’t have been more accommodating at every level.

The restaurant was amazing-food was of the highest caliber, taste & creativity.

Would highly recommend using this Hotel as your entry and exit hotel from Costa Rica. Beautiful, luxurious & serene.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cherijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews