We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
1
2
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
2
6
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Conveniently situated. This once must have been a nice old hotel. It now needs an update and a good clean. Staff helpfull, breakfast adequate (gallo pinto excellent). A lot of potential but needs a good shake up with money being spent on it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent one night at hotel Dona Ines after our arrival in San Jose. The owner is really helpful (also organized our transport from the airport) and friendly. The place itself is a little bit rundown, but o.k.. Matresses and wall paper need and upgrade! We didn't have any problems with cockroaches or whatsoever. The place is close to the city center (where there is not much to see). The hotel is close to the bus stations (only around 10min) and as we had to leave very early in the morning it was quite convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Well, cocroach in my backpack says everything (I really don't like them)... It used to be a nice place but now is humid and dirty. Stuff is helpful and very friendly. Very good location, close to every important spot in the city, like a bus stations and city center which is not nice, to be honest.
Price including breakfast is 65 $.

Room Tip: Ask for room with window.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Dona Ines has seen better days. To be fair, it looks like San Jose has too. She (Dona Ines) is clearly a grand old dame fading gracefully. The hotel is clean, quiet and the staff is excellent. There is a charming interior courtyard with lots of period furnishings. The hotel is fundamentally sound, and the breakfast is hearty and wholesome. The staff were tremendously easy to work with over email as we booked from Boston, and the service from check in to breakfast to arranging airport transport was absolutely flawless. While not a Marriott by a long stretch, it was a perfectly adequate for what we were looking for - a safe, clean, comfortable place to rest our heads for a night before continuing on to La Fortuna. Simple enhancements from new fabric on the headboards and settees and better lighting (especially in the bathrooms) would go a long way to enhancing her charms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preeti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2005

We recently spent one night in this hotel and were somewhat disappointed. The hotel was clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful, but there were a few drawbacks. The rooms are set around a courtyard, nice but at night it can get noisy when guests arrive late! And the breakfast was very basic. Also, the street where the hotel is located is not very pleasant, but it is not far from the downtown area, and there is an excellent restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danielle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews