We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A true oasis”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed here only 1 night and it's a shame, because I really liked it here. Good atmosphere, great friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable communal spaces. The transport to the airport arranged through Colours Oasis was rather expensive and the breakfast was continental. But besides that a great place to return to one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    72
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
5
90
65
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just visited Costa Rica for a few weeks and really enjoyed my stay at Colours. The staff is extremely friendly, had a very charming room and I can advise the good food. The bar was a ideal place to meet a lot of other nice and interesting guests.
Don't look any further ... this is the ideal place to stay !

For the dutch-speaking reader : een echte aanrader !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudi3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We recently spent a night at Colours on our way to the Osa Peninsula. The staff was very pleasant, the rooms cozy, and we greatly enjoyed meeting the other guests at the hotel. Several of us sat at the bar and chatted, then had dinner together at a local restaurant. The bartender, cook and hotel staff are all great. This hotel is located in a rather busy location, so if you have issues with some traffic noise take note. Also, the rooms are quirky and fun, not high-end hotel style rooms with granite and marble. Overall a nice experience we would definitely repeat.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms with kitchenette which appeared much larger than some of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellysells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I booked our stay here twice on hotels.com - and insisted/confirmed that there be two beds since I was traveling with a friend. When we arrived, they showed us to a room with a queen bed and a futon sofa. I was not happy with this - fortunately, the staff (who is very nice) upgraded us both times. I don't know if this would have happened during "high" season (we traveled "off" season). The jacuzzi was always tepid - yuck! The place is cute and eccentric - all the rooms are very different, but nice enough. I recommend eating at Jettsi's (sp?) just around the corner - wonderful fried chicken!
The staff will take care of you if they can - trust them for taxis, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was most helpful and the room was very clean and charming. This is a great place to hunker down when flying in late or leaving early out of San Jose or for a nice place to stay in and explore the city of San Jose. The hotel is located on the west side the city and is a short cab ride to many attractrions, bars and resturant. Breakfast includes coffee, fresh orange juice, freash fruit, cereal, toast and eggs of any style. They have a nice cozy bar to hangout, have drinks and just chill. Also the hotel staff will help arrange about any type of tour that you desire. During my stay the hotel help assist and set up a white water rafting tour and had the time of my life. The tour company picked me up at the hotel and transfered me back to my hotel after the rafting tour was over.
I will return to Costa Rica and plan to stay her at the Colour Oasis in the future. Thank you Colours for making my first trip to Costa Rica a trip that I will never forget!!!

Room Tip: I don't think you will go wrong with any of the room choices. I took a peek at several rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband & I stayed there in a recent trip to Costa Rica. The room was very cramped - the king bed basically taking up most of the bedroom. The step-down shower was very slippery due to the tile; almost hurt myself. Shower was old & mil-dewy. Just don't expect much from a room point of view. This place was "converted" from like 3 houses (as it was explained to us by the owner, James). The window in our room had no actual glass (only a blind) on it and was open to an adjacent room that had only Styrofoam blocking the window. That was fine the 1st night after a late arrival since nobody was there. But the 2nd night 2 lesbians checked in and were up chatting until like 1 AM with total disregard to neighboring rooms .. it made for tough sleeping. The "included" breakfast was the typical stuff and was made to order (eggs, fruit, pancakes, juice, coffee etc.). The front desk guy who was also the acting waiter/bartender (can't recall his name) had no clue how to make a Martini -- and all alcohol is "measured" .. so very expensive for what you get. So stick to Beer. The central area of the place next to the pool made for nice socializing and we met some really nice guys over the 2 nights. All in all a decent enough place to stay if you're held over in San Jose during a trip.

Room Tip: Check your room first to make sure any windows in the room have GLASS in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody94530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I visit Costa Rica twice a year, this trip for 18 days. Stayed 16 nights at Colours, with a break in the middle to travel to the southern part of the country.
There is no other gay establishment in the central valley/San Jose area that comes close to equaling what Colours offers. An on site full service restaurant and bar, gym facilities, pool, hot tub, travel services, all can be had on site---or many restaurants, stores, supermarkets and the weekly feria all within a few blocks. And the downtown nightlife-bars, discos, etc are a short $8 cab ride away---the other place is a $20 trip each way--ugh!
James, Liz, Armando, Javier, Waldo, David, Leo and Johan are all like one big family, always there to help whenever needed.
Great location, nice clean affordable to lux rooms, great food, many choices for breakfast, travel service, PLUS a never ending stream of guests coming and going---I met so many new friends from the world over and revisited friends we'd met on our last stay.
As I said before, There is NO OTHER place in the San Jose area for the gay traveler to consider---Colours Oasis Resort in the first and only choice. Five Stars!!!
Thanks everyone, we will see you in the spring.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ed4_vida_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#29 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
4.6 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Property: Colours Oasis Resort
Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing