We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Market (Mercado Central)
Save
  
Ways to Experience Central Market (Mercado Central)
from US$38.00
More Info
from US$66.00
More Info
from US$48.00
More Info
from US$65.00
More Info
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
203
281
118
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
203
281
118
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pet store locals shop pick pockets buy fresh household items poultry for sale local shopping coffee beans local culture costa rica sodas stalls maze souvenirs lolo tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 648 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2016

A very bustling, lively, varied place. A big indoor market with all sorts of shops, butchers, fishmongers, grocers, herbalists. Plenty of restaurants with delicious food. We ate in one of them, had great laughs with the waitresses as we don't speak any Spanish and they didn't understand English! But we managed to eat a lovely meal! From there we walked in Avenida 2 which was so, so lively! Please go there if you want to feel the Costa Rican atmosphere.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Frogandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

One of the highlights of our trip. We visited early and watched the vendors unloading their produce. Bring your camera but stay out of the way! I highly recommend dining at one of the numerous food counters. Great local fare. You can buy anything from live chickens to t-shirts.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank bbird9511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

We spent a couple of hours walking around and goin. In and out of the little shops. There was a lot of similar things, however it was interesting. It was a very busy area and lots of people to watch and things to see. We were told by one local gentleman that we should leave the area before dark and not wear jewelry as we would likely be robbed. We had no issues and were gone long before dark. Everyone was very friendly and we enjoyed the experience.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Kurt_Kels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Go here! No, seriously! There's great shopping for gifts, local food, local people, great architecture, great atmosphere, just a lot of fun. I walked from my hotel in San Pedro (a nice walk at about 20 mins). Saw lots of great old architecture before I go to the Market, and even more when I arrived. The street vendors are great and negotiate prices, and the food shops I visited were great as well

Date of experience: April 2016
5  Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

We liked this market and bought a number of nice souvenirs. Better than the touristy souvenir shops over san Jose. Close to everything and lots of windy lanes make it fun. Recommended.

Date of experience: April 2016
5  Thank JuneC683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews