We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day!”

Top Travel Costa Rica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Top Travel Costa Rica is your best option to get your dream vacation organized by travel experts at Costa Rica. You won’t find a better background than a company that was founded in 1989 (with more than 25 years of experience), licensed by the Costa Rican Tourism Board (ICT) and with 5 leaf’s level, the best possible level in the Certificate in Sustainable Tourism. At Top Travel Costa Rica, our country is our passion and we want to share our passion with the rest of the world giving the best possible service and exceeding our client’s expectations
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I booked the one day white rafting rafting with Valle Dorado Tours and had a wonderful day. I got picked up right on time, we went for breakfast first which had lots of fresh fruit. The white water rafting was so much fun and went through this beautiful river!

2  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valledoradotours, Propietario at Top Travel Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Hi Ray,
We are glad you had a wonderful experience at the white river rafting, and as well that you were glad with the service we gave you. We always try to give our best for our clients, we have many other interesting one day tours to offer, we would be more than glad to receive you again in our country! Pura Vida!

Irene Ortiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2016

We LOVED our trip to Poás & Doka coffee plantation & La Paz! Valle Dorado picked us up at the Tennis Club in San José right on schedule. The skill of our driver, Alex, gave us great confidence; we did not travel over any super-scary bumpy roads in the wilderness, but might have been a little worried if he did not drive so carefully.

Our guide, Ricardo, was wonderful! He talked most of the time, with great humor, saying nearly everything in both Spanish and English. His English pronunciation was excellent, something we can't say of every guide and lecturer we encountered in Costa Rica. And his Spanish was also quite understandable for Newbies like us. We really appreciated this chance to practice, since much of the purpose of our trip was to learn more of the language. Ricardo was also knowledgeable about everything we looked at. He was flexible and took special care to me sure the passengers were comfortable and happy and got connected with one another as we traveled and when we stopped. It was a nifty trip! Thank you for setting it up for us.

We enjoyed all we saw and learned a lot. Doka was interesting, and the breakfast there (even though not generous or interesting nor very tasty) was nice to have; the departure time for the tour (6:30 AM) would have made a super-early wake-up call if we'd had to eat first.

As many travelers must find, our 90 minutes at Poas Volcano were not as long as we'd have liked. Maybe we spent too long reading the signs or taking in the views or simply don't walk fast enough? We didn't have time to see the museum at the end. A reason to return some day!

The highlight was the La Paz animal rehabilitation center. The two of us decided we'd rather spend longer there with the animals and butterflies rather than walk up and down to see the water falls (which we had already stopped at briefly on a different tour). Ricardo was glad to let us go back to the starting point on our own and he and Alex and the rest of the group picked us up there as planned. In contrast to the meagre breakfast at Doka, the copious buffet at La Paz was delicious and we really enjoyed sitting there a while in the midst of the day's walking and climbing.

As we traveled we appreciated Ricardo's advice about what was worth buying where, and the breaks were all at places with clean bathrooms ... nice!

Our only slightly-negative feedback is that it seemed unduly difficult to schedule the trip. In most cases (at least during the past 5 or 10 years), we have been able to get on-line, learn what a tour involved, see the price and dates available, and simply click on a button to sign up and pay. Would better computer programs make Valle Dorado tours easier to book? We imagine that some travelers find that learning about and booking a tour is too complicated, and thus give up and decide to do something else instead. If so, they missed a great tour with this one!

Overall the tour was well worth the cost and trouble to set up.

PS - - Some of the buttons below don't make sense for us to click on. We're really trying to write about the overall tour, not the specific locations. For example, much of all three stops was wheel-chair-accessible, but parts were not.

Thank Chuck360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valledoradotours, Propietario at Top Travel Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Thanks for your kind comments! We're glad you had a fantastic experience. We hope you can come back and visit other areas of our country.
Kind regards.
Irene Ortiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Valle Dorado tour was awesome I can tell you Helen and the group asked a lot of questions found out price and what we as family with 2 kids wanted to do and scheduled a great trip in our budget. The places they booked and your company's where amazing. I am so glad I went with them. I even had last minute changes I requested you know being the pain in the butt customer but they worked hard for me and gave me a refund. They know Costa Rica. We went to both coasts and volcano they booked 4 hotels 4 activities they did amazing on all of them. People were referring the tours we had booked as the one to go on. Thank you so much GREAT family memories all good. Joe

1  Thank Joe83127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valledoradotours, Propietario at Top Travel Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Our experienced travel planners are happy to help set up your family vacations according to your needs and expectations!

We are proud to have your recommendation.

Kind regards.

Irene Ortiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

They made all the arrangements for me and I live in the States. Things could not have been easier. Excellent communication. Quick responses. Super friendly people. I would give them three thumbs up, if I had a third thumb.

Thank hfworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valledoradotours, Propietario at Top Travel Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2016

Thanks so much for your kind comments. Hope you can visit Costa Rica soon again.

Kind regards.

Irene Ortiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Several months prior to our trip to Costa Rica, I began planning a family trip with the help of Hellen with Valle Dorado. Hellen, I can't thank you enough for all of your help. You helped to make our family vacation truly memorable!
We had booked a private shuttle with Valle Dorado as we arrived at the San Jose airport very early in the morning. Our shuttle arrived on time and Raquel, our tour guide, and our drivers were outstanding! We were starving after a long night of travel so they found a small family-run restaurant not far from the airport. The food was so so good. Raquel provided so much information about Costa Rica to our family on the way to our Jaco. Once we arrived in Jaco, we had to stop and pick up keys for our condo. I don't know what we would have done without Raquel's help.
We also book a Manual Antonio sea kayaking and snorkeling day trip with Valle Dorado. Such a fantastic day! Our guides were so nice and keep an eye on our group at all times to make sure we were safe and having a good time. Lunch afterwards in Quepos was wonderful!
Valle Dorado- we will book with you again and again! Lisa

Thank Lisa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valledoradotours, Propietario at Top Travel Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

We’re really happy to read about how much you enjoyed your trip through Costa Rica.

Our experienced travel planners are happy to help set up one day tours according to your needs and expectations: Manuel Antonio See Kayaking!

We are proud to have your recommendation.

Kind regards.

Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Travel Costa Rica also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Top Travel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing