We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice apartment with very nice host”
other travellers have booked this property
Modern Executive space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern Executive space
Kitchen is open to the living room Fully equipped kitchen. All you need to start: spices, oil, coffe and more
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Modern Executive space
Kitchen is open to the living room
Fully equipped kitchen. All you need to start: spices, oil, coffe and more
Dining table for four
plenty of space to cook if you stay longer
Flat screen TV
Extra large bedroom with seating area
Queen size bed
Reading area
Modern shower
Modern bathroom
Sabana Parque walking distance
Bar stool
Airy open space
Paseo Colon near by
Farmers market close by
kitchen
Great space for entertaining
Big open Kitchen
Large sofa
garden
Art
Plenty of books to read
Welcome Gift basquet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Jose, San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
annaS6987...
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice apartment with very nice host”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed staying in mash's apartment. It was very easy to communicate with her and she gave us some useful tips. The apartment is in a good neighborhood. We felt more than comfortable there.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck360
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Masha was Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our six days there were great. The place is even prettier (and larger) than it appears in the photos ... we loved the decor. The kitchen was wonderfully furnished, and she left us bread, condiments, a pineapple, canteloupe, and other fruit ... a very nice touch! And Masha was fun to talk with, and we appreciate her help with getting on line. She also called us a taxi (we didn't have a cell phone). The location is fairly handy and we got to know the neighborhood a little ... there are several interesting and delicious places around La Sabana.

Two tiny problems detracted slightly from our stay. We can't fault Masha or her place; these are just the way things are in Costa Rica.

We wished she'd had A/C. She explained that it would be very expensive, and that most people don't need it. San José never gets extrememly hot and few places have A/C. In fact, being in the apartment during the day with her big fan blowing made it okay, but we had a little trouble sleeping at night when it only got down to 65 or so. But we are extremely heat-sensitive ... not the fault of her place.

Also, as nearly everywhere in Costa Rica (even in modern San José), it's nearly impossible to keep out the tiny little ants. There were some in the bathroom, and we simply stepped over their trail (which evidently did NOT lead to the kitchen). They do not bite and really were not a problem for us ... we'd stay there again despite them.

Making the reservation and paying were simple, and she simply left us the key code, which worked perfectly. Nice!

Overall, a great place that we enjoyed. Thank you, Masha!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: no A/C (but that's just us being finnicky)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckingw
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is exactly as the description and will exceeded our expectations on location, comfort, convenience and dealing with the Host. Masha is excellent and delivers on everything. We have not had a better experience in San Jose or many other hotels I've stayed in across the world. Other reviewers will verify my claims.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Masha!
Liked least: the noise on the street at times, but it doesn't keep me from staying here again.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy L
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location to start your Costa Rica trip and good value for money.”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Masha's apartment is located in a nice residential area (SABANA SUR) and walking distance to the vibrant very center of the city.
The apartment is spacious and well equipped to cook your own meals. What I really appreciated is the fruit basket and the litle goodies (milk, eggs, pancakes) to get started the next day after usually and long and tiring trip if you come from Europe.
Information about restaurants, grocery stores, etc... provided by Masha appeared to be very useful. Definetely a place to recommend.
Thanks very much Masha !

Travelling group: Seul(e)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsMurphy...
Chapala, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and centrally located condo in San Jose”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Masha's condo/apartment was very comfortable and well stocked with what we needed. It is also centrally located near a bus line and taxi stand. Or, we had the option of phoning for a taxi on the cell phone she provided with the apartment! She thinks of the little things that make a big difference when on vacation, like the large fluffy towels in the bathroom, the basic spices and condiments in the kitchen and the cell phone that came in very handy. She also placed notes with pertinent information about how the hot water in the shower works, how to call for a taxi and connect to the Wi-Fi. I highly recommend this rental!
Nancy

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los angeles
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing