We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
67
120
90
36
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
120
90
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here big suite sabana park rooms are clean nice hotel an older hotel hot water decent size breakfast buffet is pollo wifi clinic
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 337 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2015

We stayed here at the start and end of our tour with GAdventures and I wouldn't come back just to stay unless we payed for an updated room.
We were told the breakfast was included/wasn't included/was included... no one had the same story.
The hotel wasn't near much...it kind of seems away from any attractions and there aren't too many restaurants near by to choose from.
On our second stay we had a huge cockroach in our room and we had to push to be changed to another room but the girl at the front desk did accommodate us.
The beds were comfortable though and the pool area was nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2015

Authentic has a great location in San Jose. It is not far from the Pan Am Highway, US Embassy, many businesses, and the SJO airport. Taxi to SJO is about $25 USD. Rooms are simple but comfortable and have wifi along with Spanish and English TV channels. Breakfast is very good with a range to accommodate most palates. The staff is wonderful...very helpful and responsive. If you are seeking a rain forest lodge or 5 star hotel, this is not, of course. But it is great choice for staying in San Jose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool and courtyard.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BlueRidgeTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2015

We stayed here 1 night as part of a G Adventure tour. It was a good hotel for exactly that. The rooms were basic and clean. They could use a little extra lighting. On the plus side the water pressure in the shower was fabulous.

Our room was number 45 and right above the restaurant kitchen. Every 10 minutes or so we would hear a very loud laundry machine like noise. We did ask if we could have a different room however the gentleman at the front desk said it would stop. Thankfully it did once the restaurant closed for the night.

We did have dinner at the hotel which was a bit pricey but the portion sizes were massive and the food was delicious. Overall good for a one night stay and would recommend going elsewhere after that.

Room Tip: Don't go for any room in the 40's
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2015

The first room I got the air conditioner did not work so after they tried to fix it, they finally moved me. The rooms are not fancy. Very plain and the beds are hard. The front desk people were nice also.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

We had 2 stays at this hotel - start and end of of our tour group. This hotel was chosen by the tour company.
For both stays, the two rooms were in poor condition. For the first stay, our room faced the street and we heard street noises all night. For the second stay, the room location was better as we were above the dining room in the center of the hotel but the room was in very poor condition, bathroom fixtures run-down and falling apart. The hotel charges you extra to use the safe. The breakfast buffet was overpriced for what we paid.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kitcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews