We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent near airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leics, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent near airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We picked this hotel as a place to arrive and leave Costa Rica from with a 'build your own holiday.'

Pros
Airport transfer included
Excellent breakfast
Were very helpful with suggesting and then organising our car hire and multiple trips including white water rafting, Tortuguero.
Nice pool area
Good wifi with free phone calls (not mobiles, obviously)
Suite room was excellent.

Cons
Main building rooms were a little noisy with road traffic.
Food at night was ok, but the restaurant opening times were not an actual reflection of when you could order food. The first night we arrived at 2145 and the restaurant served until 2200. They were unkeen that we ordered food. We did however get them to do us some bar snacks (nachos).
Other eating establishments were 10 mins walk or short drive away.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side if you aren't able to deal with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andylosttheplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,518
    640
    122
    54
    21
See reviews for
634
910
288
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I flew into Costa Rica on February 10, 2012 and stayed one night in the Adventure Inn before going to Monteverde. After a long day of traveling, the Adventure Inn was exactly what we needed.

The hotel is just a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. The woman at the reception desk, Mary from California, gave us a warm greeting and answered all our questions. A gentleman gave us a brief tour of the hotel including the restaurant/bar, the pool and jacuzzi (closed when we arrived at 10pm but looked very nice!), the gym, the computers for guest use, and our room. It was nice to receive such hospitality.

We went to the restaurant for a late snack (my husband is always hungry), and they said they normally shut down the kitchen at 10pm. The other guests were just having drinks and chatting. However, they took our order and went ahead and made it for us - very accommodating! The restaurant opens out onto the pool area, so you can feel the warm Costa Rican breeze while enjoying your meal. The food was really good and reasonably priced. We took the server's recommendations for drinks and ordered sandwiches. They were very friendly.

Our room was very spacious, with two double beds, a sitting area, a dresser, tv, coffee maker, and bathroom. This was the biggest of the four hotels we stayed in during our trip. The bathroom was very nice and clean. The beds were clean and spacious, but not as comfortable as we would have liked. They are a bit too firm for us.

The one other thing that impressed us was the hotel allows guests to make FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS from their rooms during their stay! This was perfect because we were able to call home to the US and let our family know we arrived safely. The computers in the common area for guest use were helpful, too. It was nice to have wi-fi AND a desktop at a desk for our convenience.

We only stayed here one night, but it was a great way to arrive in Costa Rica. My only suggestion is to have more comfortable mattresses and pillows. I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers, ESPECIALLY families - this is a very family friendly place.

After we flew home on February 18th, I emailed the manager at the Adventure Inn to thank him for keeping such a friendly staff and clean, safe hotel. He even emailed me back to thank ME for taking the time to write. He said he posts traveler reviews for all the staff to see so that they know how appreciated they are. That was a nice touch.

PURA VIDA!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip, and 1 night at the end, mainly because it is close to the airport.
However, since we were not interested to see San Jose, we prefered to be out of town.
The hotel has a local flavour, larger rooms (ours was with Jacuzzi), including a coffee machine, fridge and safe, a cute pool to relax in the evening, and a small basic restaurant. Breakfast was so so, and we had some trouble to get what we wanted, since the restaurant staff didnt speak english.
One real flaw of the hotel is that there is no elevator. If you have a room at the second floor, and some luggage to carry, you'll have an oportunity to excerise your muscles dragging the luggage up and down several stairs till you get to your room.
On the whole, we enjoyed the hotel rooms & facilities, and we recommend it if you're not looking for something fancy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daninet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Adventure Inn is only two floors. Rather than having a clunky, noisy elevator, we have a porter 24/7 who will carry your luggage and show you to your room. I am not sure why these people did not use our porter, or simply request a room on the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our family of 5 (3 daughters ages 22, 24 & 25) had a wonderful experience staying at the Adventure-Inn.

Adventure-Inn went over and above our expectations!! Eric was very thorough with all our hotel reservations and would go beyond and above to accommodate us. The rooms we spacious and cleaned on a daily basis!!! The beds were super comfortable.

The Restaurant staff were always courteous and the chef did a great job with the breakfast and main meals, which we dined in more than once.

The Front desk staff, were bilingual and very informative.

It's like a 5 star hotel without the crowds and the pool was a bonus..

Thanks again Eric for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Value for your money.. 2nd level has computer station outside the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The proximity to the airport as well as the value of the Adventure Inn was what initially attracted us, but the funky and unique character of the inn made our stay very pleasant and enjoyable. A very friendly staff, nice restaurant and bar, along with very clean rooms made the Adventure Inn a place I would most definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missamerica1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Adventure Inn during our recent visit to Costa Rica. It was wonderful to have a very short ride from the airport after a day of flying. We were able to rest up for a long excursion the next day before traveling on for a week in Manuel Antonio.

The restaurant and bar was very reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The wait staff was also very attentive. Had the weather been warmer we would have taken advantage of the lovely pool area - even so it was nice to sit out beside it and enjoy the free wifi.

It really makes traveling so much nicer when you can bookend a stay near the airport on either end of your vacation - no more worry about driving from Manuel Antonio and making a flight on time. The free breakfast is a nice perk and they had quite a variety to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0ssum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Family Trip, 1st time Costa Rica (2 kids age 9 and 12). Thanks to all tripadvisor posters for recommending this hotel
About a 10-15 minute drive from airport
Great communication with staff prior to arrival and where to meet driver upon arrival

Easy free pickup at airport, easy check in at Hotel. Great hotel for 1st night and last night in Costa Rica.
I could even see using this hotel as a base to visit areas in and around San Jose for a week. I also rented a car from them. I highly recommend this hotel to families, business people, and everyone.

Great complimentary breakfast, free WIFI thru-out whole hotel, and free international phone calls. Eric and his staff will assist with all aspects of travel/touring in Costa Rica. Check out their website as they have so much information for the independent traveler or those that want to do daily tours with tour guide.

Upon departing the hotel, you can give the staff any clothes/shoes/other items that they will donate to an orphanage (they don’t advertise this). This lightened our load and kept our children aware of how lucky and appreciative we should all be.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fade32242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
6.0 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing