We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adventure Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
City Express San Jose Costa Rica(San Antonio De Belen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose(San Antonio De Belen)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,581)
Filter reviews
2,581 results
Traveller rating
1,694
681
131
55
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,694
681
131
55
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportmoon glow restauranteric robinsoncosta ricalast nightfree shuttlefree breakfastfree international callshot tubcar rentalnext morningthe san jose airportrestaurant barrooms are largepura vidawake up callan early flight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,650 - 1,655 of 2,581 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I flew into Costa Rica on February 10, 2012 and stayed one night in the Adventure Inn before going to Monteverde. After a long day of traveling, the Adventure Inn was exactly what we needed.

The hotel is just a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. The woman at the reception desk, Mary from California, gave us a warm greeting and answered all our questions. A gentleman gave us a brief tour of the hotel including the restaurant/bar, the pool and jacuzzi (closed when we arrived at 10pm but looked very nice!), the gym, the computers for guest use, and our room. It was nice to receive such hospitality.

We went to the restaurant for a late snack (my husband is always hungry), and they said they normally shut down the kitchen at 10pm. The other guests were just having drinks and chatting. However, they took our order and went ahead and made it for us - very accommodating! The restaurant opens out onto the pool area, so you can feel the warm Costa Rican breeze while enjoying your meal. The food was really good and reasonably priced. We took the server's recommendations for drinks and ordered sandwiches. They were very friendly.

Our room was very spacious, with two double beds, a sitting area, a dresser, tv, coffee maker, and bathroom. This was the biggest of the four hotels we stayed in during our trip. The bathroom was very nice and clean. The beds were clean and spacious, but not as comfortable as we would have liked. They are a bit too firm for us.

The one other thing that impressed us was the hotel allows guests to make FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS from their rooms during their stay! This was perfect because we were able to call home to the US and let our family know we arrived safely. The computers in the common area for guest use were helpful, too. It was nice to have wi-fi AND a desktop at a desk for our convenience.

We only stayed here one night, but it was a great way to arrive in Costa Rica. My only suggestion is to have more comfortable mattresses and pillows. I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers, ESPECIALLY families - this is a very family friendly place.

After we flew home on February 18th, I emailed the manager at the Adventure Inn to thank him for keeping such a friendly staff and clean, safe hotel. He even emailed me back to thank ME for taking the time to write. He said he posts traveler reviews for all the staff to see so that they know how appreciated they are. That was a nice touch.

PURA VIDA!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip, and 1 night at the end, mainly because it is close to the airport.
However, since we were not interested to see San Jose, we prefered to be out of town.
The hotel has a local flavour, larger rooms (ours was with Jacuzzi), including a coffee machine, fridge and safe, a cute pool to relax in the evening, and a small basic restaurant. Breakfast was so so, and we had some trouble to get what we wanted, since the restaurant staff didnt speak english.
One real flaw of the hotel is that there is no elevator. If you have a room at the second floor, and some luggage to carry, you'll have an oportunity to excerise your muscles dragging the luggage up and down several stairs till you get to your room.
On the whole, we enjoyed the hotel rooms & facilities, and we recommend it if you're not looking for something fancy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daninet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Adventure Inn is only two floors. Rather than having a clunky, noisy elevator, we have a porter 24/7 who will carry your luggage and show you to your room. I am not sure why these people did not use our porter, or simply request a room on the ground floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our family of 5 (3 daughters ages 22, 24 & 25) had a wonderful experience staying at the Adventure-Inn.

Adventure-Inn went over and above our expectations!! Eric was very thorough with all our hotel reservations and would go beyond and above to accommodate us. The rooms we spacious and cleaned on a daily basis!!! The beds were super comfortable.

The Restaurant staff were always courteous and the chef did a great job with the breakfast and main meals, which we dined in more than once.

The Front desk staff, were bilingual and very informative.

It's like a 5 star hotel without the crowds and the pool was a bonus..

Thanks again Eric for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Value for your money.. 2nd level has computer station outside the rooms
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The proximity to the airport as well as the value of the Adventure Inn was what initially attracted us, but the funky and unique character of the inn made our stay very pleasant and enjoyable. A very friendly staff, nice restaurant and bar, along with very clean rooms made the Adventure Inn a place I would most definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missamerica1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Adventure Inn during our recent visit to Costa Rica. It was wonderful to have a very short ride from the airport after a day of flying. We were able to rest up for a long excursion the next day before traveling on for a week in Manuel Antonio.

The restaurant and bar was very reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The wait staff was also very attentive. Had the weather been warmer we would have taken advantage of the lovely pool area - even so it was nice to sit out beside it and enjoy the free wifi.

It really makes traveling so much nicer when you can bookend a stay near the airport on either end of your vacation - no more worry about driving from Manuel Antonio and making a flight on time. The free breakfast is a nice perk and they had quite a variety to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0ssum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews