We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“garthanddeb (sweet dreams, lots of charm)”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very freindly staff, great comfortable beds, and room, we spent two nights while awaiting our trip back to canada, (shuttle service was right on time) the food in the restaurant was excellent, Everything was very clean, will definately stay there again

Room Tip: We had main floor room , Very comfortable and convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garthanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

I just don't have anything negative to say about this hotel. The little restaurant has great food and the staff is sweet, the rooms are large and cute, and the pool is beautiful. Free service to and from the airport, the only thing is that it's not near downtown at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Actually we are about ten or fifteen minutes from central San Jose, double that at rush hour. You can easily drive yourselves, take one of our taxis for a flat $15 or for an authentic experience, there are about ten public buses an hour that leave two blocks from Adventure Inn. Our guests seem to like our safe, clean suburban location, out of the pollution, congestion, noise and crime found right downtown, and it really isn't the world's prettiest city. We suggest day trips to the Central Market, the pedestrian walkway, the Teatro Nacional, and maybe the Museo Nacional and the Gold and Jade Museum. Adventure Inn is conveniently half way between the central city and international airport, and ten minutes from the Nature Air (Pavas) airport also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

After spending a week in Isla Bastimientos in Panama, we were beside ourselves with joy when we arrived at Adventure Inn. The room was clean and roomy. The large ceiling fan was a relief and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. We had been traveling all day and the long hot shower was exactly what we needed. Being able to order what we wanted for breakfast was a very nice touch and the service was excellent. What a nice surprise it was for us when we checked out and although we did not make arrangements to be taken to the airport beforehand, a cab was waiting for us when we were ready to leave. What a wonderful establishment you have. We return to Costa Rica every year and we have no hesitation staying here again and again. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and the parking lot was right outside our window; however, we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindakamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Walking out of customs and agriculture inspection at the airport it was convenient to find the placard with our name on it for the quick shuttle ride to Adventure Inn. On the way we passed a grouping of chain hotels that didn’t look like they had much charm. Adventure Inn felt like an oasis coming off a long day of flying from the states. Sitting by the pool with a cool beverage, in the tropical climate, was relaxing.

Placing a phone call to the states from our room was great letting family know of our arrival in Costa Rica.

Our room looked out onto the pool area and a nicely landscaped garden area. Hearing the birds with unique calls in the morning put a smile on my face. The included breakfast in the open air dining area was so nice. Fruits, cereal, breads, coffee, and juice were readily available along with a menu for ordering specialty items like eggs and French toast.

The rooms we had were unusually large and each had 3 beds, which made it so convenient for our family to spread out and the kids not having to share beds. The walls and floors are all solid masonry making them solid and soundproof. The air conditioner worked well.

Some in our group took an excursion to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and a coffee plantation. They thoroughly enjoyed the outing.

We arranged for a van through Adventure Inn to take us to Manuel Antonio on the Pacific Coast. We were able to stop at the Crocodile Bridge to view the crocodiles and stop at a grocery store. It was a nice van and very roomy for our group of 8. The driver was very courteous and friendly. The same van and driver drove us to the airport on our second stay, which was included in the price of the room.

Our group had a couple of dinners in the restaurant which was a very pleasant experience.

Communicating with Eric, the owner, was convenient by email. He shares lots of information about the area and offers many tours and services. The culture is different in Costa Rica, which makes it a special place to visit. Having Eric and his staff help navigate through some of these differences added much to our enjoyment and peace of mind traveling to Costa Rica. Adventure Inn met our needs perfectly and exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advised_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is a nice value. However, we found it came up short in comparison to some claims on the website.

Pros
We were very pleased with the tours we booked through the hotel. The front desk staff were exceptionally helpful. The pool is great. The internet wi-fi was great

Cons
Our room had sub par beds. One was even a single--smaller than the doubles advertised. One bed either needs to be rotated or replaced.

Bacon and sausage are touted on the website. If you are expecting an American version of either you will he left wanting.

Overall the restaurant is subpar. The food is not commensurate with the prices charged. In fact, my daughters and I got upset yummiest from dairy served there. Overall, it is hotel food...average and overpriced.

Finally, the warm water is not good. I waited more than the 3 minutes explained on the placard in the tub. However several nights I had lukewarm water at best. One of our tubs was in disrepair; the plug for the tub doesn't work. One of the sinks has a wonky knob...it is eccentric in that you have to turn it just right to turn it off.

We had ants also. We asked the hotel to help with the problem, but finally solved it ourselves, with a can of Raid.

Overall, I do consider the hotel a good value as long as you know what you will get for your money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cewaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

I am sorry this family is lactose intolerant and they also feel Costa Rica pork products don't compare to their American counterpart, perhaps travel doesn't agree with them if they are that sensitive to changes, but I don't see where we are to blame. We prefer to support the local economy where possible, and even give our food scraps to a local pig farmer. Regarding the beds that they didn't like, in the last half year we have replaced all of our beds new semi-orthopaedic hotel quality beds, so I find their complaint a bit strange, I guess everyone's preference is different with beds. Adventure Inn, like all hotels in Costa Rica that were built in a rainforest, has an ant problem if you don't heed our advice and leave your food sitting out. Fortunately they are just tiny little harmless guys. Using Raid on them is a waste of time and money and just contaminates the environment. We have a controlled fumigation every couple of months with eco-friendly products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We really liked the service here. Especially the front desk staff and housecleaning folks.

* The typical front desk person at Adventure Inn is worth any concierge at any of the top worldwide hotels I have stayed at. They will do whatever is needed to make sure everyone from taxi drivers to tour companies help you.


The hotel is not perfect, of course. Don't eat at the restaurant except for breakfast. Seriously. If the meal isn't tasteless it is overpriced. If it isn't overpriced the food tastes "off " (or stale). Unfortunately there are not many alternatives nearby but try them anyway. I ate half the menu (I am a slow learner and know whereof I speak, here). Skip it.

A bonus ... while any hotel's internet is generally crappy or expensive (or both) that was not our experience. Ours was fast enough to watch TV shows from our laptop. Bring an HDMI cable to output to your in-room TV. Now THAT is good hotel wi-fi.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

If your trip to Costa Rica is like ours - late night arrival and early morning departure - the Adventure Inn is a great choice. Near the San Jose airport, friendly and helpful staff, good (not great) rooms, excellent breakfast included with room charge. We were especially pleased with the staff - couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevanian2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
917 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,508 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
7.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
5.9 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $132 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing