We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do yourself a favour and don't stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica Backpackers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Costa Rica Backpackers
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and don't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I don't know where to start... We were a little hesitant at the idea of staying in a 'backpackers' in Central America, but after reading reviews of Costa Rica Backpackers we decided it sounded reasonable. Having stayed in multiple backpackers across Europe and Australia, we thought we knew what to expect.
Having booked their airport shuttle in advance, we arrived in San Jose confident that everything would go smoothly.... this was not so. After waiting over half an hour and being ushered into three different cars by people who said they were from the backpackers -they were funnily enough all named "Kendal"-..we finally got the 'right' van and were on our way. When we arrived at the backpackers we told them about the shuttle situation, the guy at the 'front desk' didn't even acknowledge our complaint.
The room was...UNINHABITABLE! The beds were sunken in the middle and ridden with bed bugs. The room smelt foul, damp...rotten...
Only plus side was that the room was relatively clean, which was surprising considering the smell. The beds were made and the sheets could have been clean...but we didnt bother getting in the bed.
We had booked an ENSUITE but upon asking about bathrooms, we were told they didnt even HAVE rooms with ensuites. When we'd booked online it had clearly stated 'Ensuite bathroom'...
We figured we would at least have Wi-fi, so we could book another hotel and be out first thing in the morning.... well we can't complain, we had Wi-fi... but only when we sat on the floor out the front of the shared toilets(the only place the Wi-fi worked).
We slept fully clothed on top of the mattress, checked out at 6am the following morning and forfeited the next two nights accommodation.
Such a disappointment...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    119
    86
    38
    32
See reviews for
10
83
101
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now and it is always so great! The beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, the coffee is delicious,the wifi is fast & the owners are so friendly and helpful. I would recommend Nomades over and over again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chakrachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

To make it short, a average backpacker hostel with everything you need:
- public kitchen
- free wifi and internet
- big comunal area
- TV lounge
- little restaurant and bar
- free lockers inside the dorm
What makes it very nice to me is the very big garden with swimming pool, hammocks, bonfire and sitting area. Just perfect to hang around and to chat to your fellow travelers.
The only downside: The beds are not the best and the furniture looks a bit shabby.
But the next time in San Jose I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karsten b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

First thing... location sucks. If you'd like to sleep past 630am than this place may not be for you. There is a train that passes by the hostel what seemed like every 5 minutes starting REALLY early in the morning. It sounded like an alarm clock you just couldn't shut off!

The beds are alright... nothing bad, nothing great either. We didn't check out the bar, but the restaurant was pretty yummy... the taco con queso was YUMMY -- not a taco at all, but sooo good!

The property itself is pretty sweet -- I love the pool and lounging area for everyone to hangout -- its a really nice escape from the city.

Wifi -- doesn't really exist, unless you're at the restaurant. Airport transfer costs as much as a taxi, if not a bit more...

Nothing terrible, but I would probably go elsewhere if I had to stay at San Jose again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reginaPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a decent hostel, most things about it are average. The computers/internet suck hard. Staff are excellent. Bar is average, beds are average, toilets are average, location is average... you get the idea. Not very memorable but useful if you're just passing through.

Room Tip: Room two has decent wifi, other than that there's no signal anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Insertnamehere31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

The hostel itself is nice. The common areas are great, but our bed in the downstairs private room had bedbugs and my girlfriend is full on bites now. We even used a sleeping bag cause it was cold, so now we have to get the bugs off the bag aswell. I really can't recomend unless you like to itch.

Thuogh i have to say, the staff was VERY nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeSCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed two separate nights at this hostel as we were travelling through San Jose. They have free bus station pick up if you call before catching your bus and tell them the time and terminal. We stayed in a dorm for 4 persons and also a dorm for 8 persons. The bunkbeds are old style but the mattresses are comfy. You are given linen and a blanket and have to make your own bed. There is a personal locker for each person in the dorm and they give you a lock with your room key. The hostel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the Avenida Central. They have a small swimming pool and a nice kitchen. The staff are very helpful and well informed about bus departures.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
2.4 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.9 km away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.3 km away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 104 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.6 km away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#5 of 79 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.3 km away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#4 of 79 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Property: Costa Rica Backpackers
Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing