We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very cool architecture!”

Museum of Contemporary Art and Design
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
San José City Tour
Ranked #34 of 119 things to do in San Jose
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contemporary Art and Design Museum at the National Cultural Centre -CENAC- the old Liquor Factory.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but very cool architecture!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

seems like they have changing exhibits in this museum, so I can't speak to what you will see when you go. at the time I went they had an amazing photography exhibit showcasing a contemporary Costa Rican photographer. As it's only $1 for locals and $3 for foreigners, you can't really go wrong in checking it out.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simonetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Gallery”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The space is grunge urban and is a fab foil to the art, which was intrigueing and exciting; good mix of sculpture, paintings and photo-art. I think is should be on your must-see if you are into art since it will give you a great insight into the current art scene in Costa Rica.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great contemporary art and design!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a great experience at the museum.

The building is a restored area of the old National Liquor Factory installation, it's a great space to present contemporary art.

During our visit we saw a fantastic photography display by a local photographer. He really captured the essence of inner city Costa Rican characters in his 24 portrait display.

Helpful?
1 Thank dmcccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terribly disappointed in this museum”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We thought we were going to the National museum of art (probably because of it's name on the side of the building being Museo Nacional de Arte y Diseño Contemporáneo) and were SO disappointed in this ultra modern museum.

I suppose if you are into modern art and don't mind walking through a museum that takes less than 30 minutes to see, in all, this would be your ideal place, but for someone expecting to see lots of Costa Rican art, we were not happy.

Just to be clear, this museum is right beside the National Park, you enter through some black metal gates with guards, and sits at a street corner.

Waste of 3000 colones and 30 minutes. :o(

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museo-MADC, Front Office Manager at Museum of Contemporary Art and Design, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Susan
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to the museum. We are the Contemporary Art and Design Museum and we show the most recent art works from costarrican and central american contemporary artists.
We recommend you to visit the Museo de Arte Costarricense witch is located in la Sabana park, if you want to see the history of costarican art .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art and Design also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art and Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing