We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
67
91
84
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
91
84
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsargentinian restaurantsmall poolnice staylovely little hotelclean hotelcosta ricagreat central locationcomfortable roomssmall hotelnational museumwithin walking distanceairportcountrytaxis
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 282 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2018

Located within walking distance of museums and other sights it was a convenient location.
It was possible to arrange hotel pick up and return, which made arriving in a foreign country early in the morning very easy.
The staff was very helpful.
The cafe had good coffee and some delicious pastries.
The Argentinian restaurant across the road was excellent.
rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you don't do well with stairs ask for a ground floor room.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank fotorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018
Google Translation

¡Gracias por su opinión! Nos motiva a seguir dando nuestro mejor esfuerzo para la satisfacción de nuestros clientes. Esperamos poder servirle en una próxima oportunidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

It was a great spot that felt like home because of how welcoming the staff was/is. We would leave with guidance from the staff on where to eat or get our bus tickets which was always spot on. The Hotel Colonial is close to center street which was nice. The pool was very refreshing and when we told the staff we were departing very early in the morning they had coffee for us.

We gave our taxi driver the address to the Colonial but he had to call because he said they don't use addresses. What they told him on the phone was "its behind the white church" he knew right where that was.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good in there own way.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thank you so much for your time in writing a review. It is nice to know our staff help you as much as you needed, because that is our mission for everyday; we will keep working on that path to give our guests, the best experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

The hotel has a nice location and good rooms. The pool is nice but very cold and has only 2 sunbeds. The breakfast has little choice but is generally good. The staff is not very friendly or welcoming, they speak bad english and they won't even bother to give you a smile or say hello. Also the noise of the road nearby is terrible, our last night we woke up at 4 AM and couldn't sleep anymore because of all the honking trucks.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carlijnvdvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, pues nos ayudan a mejorar. Es un gusto que haya encontrado las habitaciones agradables, así como nuestra ubicación y el desayuno. Vamos a poner especial atención a lo que nos refiere del personal, pues todos manejan bien el inglés, y deberían haberle dado la mejor atención posible, pues esa es una de sus principales tareas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018

Central small hotel with atmosphere. Good but quite nice location. Quality of rooms, particularly bathrooms needs to be improved. Small but good breakfast. You could get something to eat really early.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su calificación, pues nos permite ir mejorando cada día para dar el mejor servicio a nuestros huéspedes. Vamos a poner especial atención a lo que nos indica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Stay here! It was beautiful inside and out. It is perfectly located for exploring the city and offers a fantastic environment if you choose to simply hang in the hotel by the pool for the day. Breakfast was delicious and I can’t think of anything that wasn’t great about my stay here.

Room Tip: It was lovely
Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments! It helps us work in the right path, to give our guest the best experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews