We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
83
54
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
54
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge living roomyogurtfull kitchencosta ricanice poolbasic suppliesnice apartment hoteldeli meatssan josehot tubthree bedroomsparkling cleanbook toursthe hotel staffwalk in closettwo twin bedslaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 145 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2015

the place from the outside looks amazing and the area is high end area . but the interior is something else the furniture and everything else inside is not that good for my choice the sofas are old ,the living room tv is small, the place has new microwave the sotve is nice the fridge but other then that the place could have more luxury inside and i will give it another chance . my room had leaking water from air conditioner i call the lobby they send a guy to take a look . he turns it on and tells me i be back to chek in 15 minutes ..he never came back ..i decide not to call again and never turn it on again i dont like begging for things /. also the lady on the breakfast area she cleans the tables she was very rude to my wife and mother . they ask her for some yogurts and she told them is over there go get lt. i have never had that problem anywhere else . i spoke to the lady in charge and she was very nice and i hope she takes care of issues like this . i would like to say that this place has very nice staff .i would like to thank liz or lizeth not sure her name she was very friendly and help me out alot'' on my stay there she even help me find a dentist for my wife thank you so much . the pool is very nice warm water the whole time . after they clean your place they come back and check how was the service thank you for that . i hope this place gives more on the morning breakfast and it be better . the food was good .

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank everardo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csotela, Gerente at Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2015

Good Morning Mr. Everardo,
First of all, thank you for chossing us as an option to stay with your family. All these sugestions and comments are very welcome at Villas del Río so that we can improve. Recently we are working with an innovation plan in which we are purchasing new microwaves, refrigerators, smart tv's with Netflix incoporated, and many other surprises. As well, we are renovating our menu of the Breakfast with new products (like "Gallo Pinto" our typical dish of breakfast"), that we hope our guests likes them very much. For us it will be a pleasure that you give us another opportunity to let you feel like if you were in your home.
We are really sorry for the inconveniences that we caused you with the A/C and with the Breakfast. Hope the you enjoyed your complete breakfast with your family the day of your departure.
Lisette as well is one of our new ladys of the Front Desk Staff, and she is very grateful with your comments.
Have a nice day, and see you soon!
Regards,

Ms. Cristina Sotela Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2015

The hotel staff is exceptional, they are always willing and able to help. The breakfasts are great, but not if you're watching your weight...lot's of breads and sweets, eggs, cheese, yogurt, cereal and cappuccino, if you like.
The pools are nice and there's a great gym (to work off the breakfasts).
Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the rooms face a busy street and the noise starts at 5 AM or so. Suggestion, bring ear plugs ...seriously, it helps. The rooms are suites with cooking facilities and large.
Highly recommend if you want to see San José, but you'd need to take a cab or a bus to get there.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thetravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csotela, Gerente at Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Dear "thetravelerNYC",

Thank you for your good comments of your stay at Villas del Río. It was a pelasure to have you as our guest. We are really happy that you liked our breakfast, gym, pool and the rest of the hotel. As well, we are really sorry about the noise in your apartment. We have 4 towers of apartments in which in your next stay it will be a pleasure to give you the most quiet room and in an upper floor so that you can rest better with your family.
Have a nice day and hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at villas del rio in between our trips around Costa Rica. We had a great time and everyone made our stay really special and did everything they could to ensure we had everything we needed at hand. From picking us from the airport to helping us with day to day needs. In particular, Eunice was great during our 3 stays over a couple of weeks while we visited beautiful Costa Rica. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2014
Thank totocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csotela, Gerente at Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Totocol,
Nos agrada leer y recibir este tipo de comentarios. Para nosotros fue un placer haberlo tenido con nosotros en el Apartotel. Desde ya, le deseamos una Feliz Navidad y los mejores éxitos para este 2015. ¡Lo esperamos pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

If you are not sure of where to stay, this is the place. From check in to check out first class service all the way. It's in a great area, with all the comforts of home and familiar stores and restaurants if you. Best service. Small, secure resort and you don't have to leave if you don't want to.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csotela, Gerente at Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Thank you Mr. Chris for your opinion. For us it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. We will be very happy to receive you again next time with your complete family. Have a nice day! We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2014

stayed here for several nites, got a reasonable rate for the quality of this place. big rooms full kitchen nice furniture great view if you get up higher. very secure. just like a hotel in the usa or Canada. friendly accommodating staff. if your looking for a better place to stay this is it. weights 2 pools. parking is tight, but welcome to costa rica.

Room Tip: they have 2 buildings one lower and one higher. if you want a view ask for a higher room in the tallest building. its worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews