We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise...again...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Tahiti beach house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
house and mountain private outrigger canoe
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
house and mountain
private outrigger canoe
tahitan neighbour fishermen
master's bedroom
living room
tahitian food
fresh raw fish and coconut milk
breadfruit from the garden
smooth lagoon
white sand
rainbow in the evening
sunset bliss
living room from the loft
roofed alley through luxurious garden
room 2
Bathroom 2
room 3
pieces of art
fresh tropical fruit
room 2 and alley
gardens
kitchen
bathroom 1
master's bedroom
terrace, front garden and lagoon
outrigger canoe
morning or evening glaze on the lagoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Moorea, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
11235813
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise...again...”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were lucky enough to return to Tahiti Beach House after thoroughly enjoying our previous family vacation here during October 2012.
We are a group of 6- 3 adults, 2 teenagers and a 5 year old.
Weather was very warm about 30 degrees celcius and humid. Water temperature very warm too.
I will mention again the highlights of this property: Firstly the care and hospitality shown by the owner, Tepapa, is what makes this property so special for us. She speaks perfect English, and is full of information on the area, culture and activities. She is always contactable and quick to reply to communications but we never lacked privacy.
We feel safe and secure at this vacation home.
The home has excellent high speed wireless internet access- important for the teenagers to update their facebook status!
Since our last stay an effective fence has been erected to keep the neighbours dog away from the property, Tepapa explains that this was necessary as the dog was a nuisance to some visitors. There is a docile resident dog on the property and a sleepy cat, both of them no problem to us (in fact a highlight of our trip is having the dog swim with us and petting the cat at night.)
The home has a lovely open layout with plenty of space for privacy, book reading, naps.
Its great to be able to use a vehicle when needed, we use this for touring around the island and shopping. There is a small supermarket a short, two minute walk from the property where you can buy all of your cooking needs, a store next to that which sells all kinds of bits- fabric, pots pans, toys etc etc. A longer (about 20 minute) walk will take you to a shopping centre with souvenir stores, patisserie, pearl stores and supermarket.
We love to drive to Temae beach for snorkelling and sunbathing- about 5 minutes by car.
We also like to take a day trip to Papeete for the pleasure of the ferry ride and to browse the market there, although there is nothing there that cant be bought on Moorea.
When we're too lazy to cook we like to walk to the local roulotte which sets up outside the shop close by. It is open Wednesday- Sunday and relatively inexpensive for tasty large meals of poisson cru, curried shrimp, chow mein, burger etc
FYI eating here is not as expensive as many people say, especially if you cook for yourself and eat at roulottes. A good baguette is about 60-70 franc, large chunks of tuna are about 1000franc.
Snorkelling in front of the house is lovely, the further you swim towards the outer reef, the larger the sea life gets, we have seen turtles on both of our vacations at this house as well as coral fish all colours of the rainbow, smaller sharks, eagle rays, octopus etc. There is a narrow pass/channel that you can swim over- at first I was nervous of this channel! But it is not scary, you can almost always see the bottom, it is never dark, and the best snorkelling is along the edge of this channel.
I thoroughly recommend this vacation home to couples, families and extended families, you will not regret the experience and value that this property offers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality offered by the owner.
Liked least: Having to leave again.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Reviewed April 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheryl M
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation of a Lifetime”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We so enjoyed our 10-days in paradise time at the Tahiti Beach House in Moorea! The owner, Tepapa and her family, Nita and Julienne, were outstanding hosts and truly took care of us from the moment we arrived - which included a greeting accompanied by fresh cut bananas, coconut and mango, all from the property! Loved our lesson from Julienne on how to open a coconut as well. Our 'house guests' - Tonga and Peety - were so very friendly. We sure enjoyed their company. We enjoyed exploring the island and many beaches (especially Temae and Mareto) yet quickly realized that the best beach and snorkeling were right outside our back door, and use of the use of the canoe and kayak were a plus! Tepapa offered numerous restaurant suggestions - our favorites included Carmiline's for breakfast/pastries, Rudy's and Mahogany's for exquisite French cuisine, and must admit, Allo's Pizza was outstanding! Be sure to visit Belevdere Lookout and take the trek to the waterfalls... both magical. Highly recommend Moorea and Tahiti Beach House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and recommendations from owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
Reviewed January 18, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PinkLemon...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and house but household pets a little bothersome...”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We had a wonderful week in French Polynesia, we had a group of four adults and three young (under age six) children. The house is in a fantastic location a few steps from the ocean, a short walk to the supermarket and the banks and stores of central Maharepa. The owner/host Natea was very welcoming and friendly, helping to make our stay very memorable. A great spot especially for families with children, the large property is a great location for the little ones to run around. Also very nice that the house comes with a kayak and canoe, the outer reef is quite a swim from the shore so it's good to be able to take the boats out to the channel. We all have very fond memories of sitting on the deck each night, eating fresh fish and drinking cocktails while the little ones were asleep!

Our only complaint was the animals that come with the house. There is a house cat that guests are required to feed, something that most definitely was not disclosed to us prior to paying a deposit or arriving in Moorea. So if you're allergic to cats this is not the place for you. The cat peed on the floor in one of the bathrooms a couple of times, not exactly something you want to be dealing with during your week in paradise! There are also two dogs that come with the house: one belonging to the owner and the other from next door. The owner's dog is generally very well behaved and not a hassle at all, however the neighbor's dog was a real pain. He would come inside the house, pee on our shoes and knocked over our small children a number of times during our stay. We voiced our concern a number of times to the owner and even went next door to complain to the neighbor but absolutely nothing was done about it. We finally resorted to chaining the poor thing up to a tree during the day!

So in general a fantastic place to stay and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Just be warned about the animals and if it's something that concerns you bring it up with the rental agency before paying your deposit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and private beach access
Liked least: Household pets
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11235813
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Tahiti Beach house for ten nights in October 2012, we are a family of four plus grandad, children 5 and 13 years old.
I must admit that I was reluctant to share a good review as we intend to return and wouldn't like the house to be booked out too far in advance! In fact we have already enquired about dates for next year!
The house is charming, plenty of space for the family and with everything you could need. It is very clean with a neat garden due to the housekeeper and gardener. It is situated on the edge of the lagoon where we saw every variety of coral fish on our 'Fish to see in Tahiti' guide plus more which weren't on it! We saw sharks, turtles and groups of eagle rays as well.
The weather was perfect throughout our stay- warm and dry- in fact, the way that the house is situated to the north of the mountains means that often it is raining inland but is dry in Maharepa where the house is located.
A small supermarket can be located about 50 steps from the property (closed from 12-230pm as with most shops). Outside this supermarket by night is Roulotte Mariana, with great, reasonably priced food -eat there or takeaway. Good pizza can be bought almost opposite the property. Not far away towards the Pearl resort (within walking distance) is a patisserie.
The real treasure of this property is Natea, the owner. Natea really ensured that we were comfortable and helped us to find all of the local arts and cultural locations that we were interested in. Natea speaks brilliant English too.
We have enjoyed a holiday at the Hilton Moorea in the past as well but will be reserving the Tahiti Beach House for our future vacations due to its charm, privacy, space for family, great lagoon and ability to cook using fresh local ingredients in the kitchen.
We can't wait to return!
Mauruuru,
Kirkwood family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience of having house close to everything needed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing