We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Perfect”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Tahiti beach house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
house and mountain private outrigger canoe
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
house and mountain
private outrigger canoe
tahitan neighbour fishermen
master's bedroom
living room
tahitian food
fresh raw fish and coconut milk
breadfruit from the garden
smooth lagoon
white sand
rainbow in the evening
sunset bliss
living room from the loft
roofed alley through luxurious garden
room 2
Bathroom 2
room 3
pieces of art
fresh tropical fruit
room 2 and alley
gardens
kitchen
bathroom 1
master's bedroom
terrace, front garden and lagoon
outrigger canoe
morning or evening glaze on the lagoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Moorea, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
yogagirl4...
Ilwaco, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having never been to French Polynesia I didn't quite know what to expect in terms of amenities and comfort in a private home. Tahiti Beach House is perfectly set up for a long term stay. We were three girlfriends traveling together and each of us was comfortable in our respective bedrooms. If there had been more of us the loft has more beds as well. The main area of the house has oodles of sitting areas although we spent most of our time out on the deck or in the yard. The yard became our morning base for yoga practice. The dogs and crabs kept us company. Kind and thoughtful Natea made sure we had what we needed and connected us with people who could take us on tours. We are active travelers and had something arranged for each day. Living next door, Natea regularly checked in evenings and weekends. Julienne, the longtime housekeeper, masseuse and now part of the family, gives outstanding massages and is one of the nicest funniest people I met. We had lengthy conversations in French full of hand gestures and laughter. I give her lots of credit for improving my French skills while there. I would have loved to have spent more time with the two of them. Frederic, another family member, took care of our car needs and checked every day to see what fish had been caught. He had designs to cook us a meal, but wasn't satisfied with the catch of the day. One evening Natea arranged for her former sister in-law to cook for us a traditional Tahitian dinner at her house. Nita was at one time the best Tahitian dancer on the island and we were in for a one of a kind treat. She not only made the best meal we had- sooo many ways to prepare fish-- but also played the ukele and sang and danced for us. Her Brazilian husband is equally talented and both made us feel right at home.

The house is within walking distance of a fantastic French coffee shop, Carmeline. They have breakfast, lunch and the best pastries we found in French Polynesian. We could also walk to the ATM and the Moorea Beach Cafe, a great place for sunset and dinner. We were able to go for runs along the road and snorkel right out from the house. I saw a shark and sting ray though for truly incredible snorkeling you will want to go to the Lagoonarium. We did find that having a car was a necessity. All three of us agree that a hotel or resort is no match to the quality of vacation that can be achieved through a home stay. I would not look any further than Tahiti Beach House.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReJoyceJo...
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Tahitian Beach Front House in Maharepa, Moorea”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a great way for my husband and I to experience the island and culture of Moorea with 6 of our good friends! We traveled as a group of 8 adults and stayed in this wonderful, cozy, Tahitian beach house, right at the water's edge, in the heart of the island's biggest little town, Maharepa.
This house is not modern, so if that's what you're looking for, keep looking. This is a real island beach house that was built by the owner's father 35+ years ago! The house has 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms on the main floor, each room having a king size bed. The loft on the 2nd floor, has 2+ beds, queen & king size. There are also 3 more couches in the Living Room that could accommodate 3 more people if you needed more beds.Only the main Master bedroom which has its own bathroom has A/C, the rest of the house has fans.
The best part of the house, in my opinion, is it's location! Right out the back of the house is a large grassy backyard, and just beyond that is the clam beautiful ocean with great snorkeling. Keep swimming/paddling just past the deeper, darker blue water (we saw 15 Monterey swimming down at the bottom here!) , about 50-100 yards out, and you'll come to a shallow sand coral area with lots and lots of fish, unique sea shells and coral...it's amazing!! The house comes with a 1 person kayak (we fit 2 people) and a 2 person outrigger (we fit 3 people but we tipped it!). Then we also rented 3 stand up paddle boards for the week from Mika (he owns an independent SUP business on the island, http://www.fenua-standuppaddle.com) who dropped the boards off at the house for us, and then picked them back up. So, we had plenty of water toys for everyone for the week. Plus we all brought our own snorkel gear, fins, vests, etc. so we never ran out of things to do.
The house comes with a bbq grill so most days we grilled fish, chicken or steak for dinner and ate out back on the picnic table under the stars in our bathing suits! Then we often danced the night away on the backyard deck. The owner told us the next morning that she loved hearing us having such a good time!
The grocery store is just across the street, which makes it very convenient to buy daily fresh baguettes, croissants, Hinano Beer, etc. Liquor is very expensive here, glad each of us brought some in water bottles packed in our suitcases! Shopping for jewelry/souvenirs is just up the street 1/2 mile, best shopping on the island is right in this town, Maharepa. We did venture out to the Sofitel Hotel & The Moorea Pearl Hotel for 2 dinners which was a quick 5-15 minute drive away, very nice to see & experience. It is pricier than eating at the house of course, but we expected that and had 2 wonderful nights out all dressed up in our resort casual wear.
We only did 1 paid excursion for the week and it was AWESOME, The Lagoonarium (look for my review on Trip Advisor). It's about a 25 minute drive from the house, 10 minutes past the ferry/dock area, past the hospital and a big "Locals" grocery store (best/cheapest place to buy groceries, beer etc. All the local residents shop there). The Lagoonarium was a highlight and only $35 US Dollars per person for all day, including boat transport to and from the little jewel island! It's a must do when in Moorea.
The house comes with a german shepherd dog name "Itsu." Very well behaved, doesn't beg for food, doesn't come in the house and loves to swim with anyone who enters the ocean. Everyone took turns falling in love with him.
Bring water shoes, the beaches here have a lot of coral. I was happy that I brought Neosporin and bandaids because someone fell off the paddle board and scraped his back on the coral. It healed nicely. Bring an underwater camera with several SD cards because you will take a lot of pictures, esp when you go to the Lagoonarium! Also bring plenty of DEET for mosquito repellent! I recommend bringing a blow up snorkeling vest, mask and your own fins so no matter where you go you have your own equipment that is fitted to you, your face, your feet, etc. This way you can thoroughly enjoy the sea life under the water without frustration of equipment that doesn't fit or work, and/or fear.
On the very last full day we rented 2 cars, 1 from the owner of the house and the other from a car rental at the ferry, and drove around the island in about 1 1/2 hours. It was a nice drive to see the entire island. If you do this, visit Tamae Beach to see the aqua blue water. If you get hungry stop at Snack Makaha, you'll see it on the one and only main road. They serve great seafood and burgers!
I hope you enjoy your visit to this wonderful island & Tahitian beach house. Tell the owner, Natea, "Joyce" says hello.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house, the water, the backyard, affordability for group of 8 to travel together
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: on the water --great coral and fish to see
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
los angeles california
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScottHaid...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect Place to Stay with Friends”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I and a couple of friends stayed here for a week in June, and could not be more positive about our time at the Tahiti Beach House. Natea was so welcoming, kind and helpful. This is not a holiday apartment, rather it is a big spacious and breezy house, which is great for relaxing and sharing good times with family and friends. While there is a cat and dog, they are both lovely and do not cause any troubles at all (just entertainment). We hired a scooter, as transport really is necessary, and spent a lot of time around the wonderful different places on the island. It is also very affordable when compared with other options around the island. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cg0994
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Living Like a Local”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We recently rented this wonderful house, just a short walk from the Moorea Pearl, where we've stayed several times. We found the location and the tranquility to be major benefits of staying here, and we highly recommend it for those looking for an affordable experience in a beautiful part of the world.

The house has three bedrooms, one with A/C, though Natea tells us she plans to add A/C to the other rooms eventually. The main area of the house doesn't need it in my opinion, because during the day the house is constructed with sliding glass doors that allow a great crosswind from the ocean which keeps the place cool in the sun.

The spacious master bathroom opens into a huge shower built as an extension on the house made from opaque glass bricks, with its own doorway to the outside. It's a great way to wash off the ocean salt after a time in the water.

We spent much of our time snorkeling out back. The rear deck of the house looks out on a grass lawn which ends right at the water, and the snorkeling is excellent. Many big coral heads attract dozens of species of fish at all times, but at the same time the area is somewhat sheltered from ocean traffic, in part due to the neighbor's long dock, so boats don't come by often. We were very fortunate on one particular day, when a school of dolphins swam right past us, followed literally ten minutes later by a group of five eagle rays! No idea how often things like that happen, but it added to the feeling that this is a special place where the ocean's more beautiful species like to hang out!

Each morning we bought food from the market down the street for breakfast, which included fresh baguettes and pastries, fruit, juices, etc. At the moment the island doesn't get eggs in stores, so our initial plan of cooking egg breakfasts didn't work out. We did make pancakes with instant mix we brought from home. The kitchen is fully functional with a gas stove, refrigerator and microwave, plus all the pans and utensils one would need to feed a very large family. We were dismayed after we left to realize that the big tree overhanging the back porch is a passion fruit tree, and we surely would've eaten some had we known. Horticulture isn't our specialty!

For lunch and dinner we explored the many great restaurants on Moorea, so cooking wasn't our main focus. We rented Natea's car for the duration, which worked out perfectly. We were able to come and go as we pleased, and had a relaxing place to come back to after each excursion.

One caveat I'd offer is that if you're not used to areas outside of the resorts which spray for pests, the mosquitos and other biting insects do come out here, particularly at sunset, when we tended to be outside relaxing. My wife is highly reactive to mosquito bites, so she ended up with a few welts. I recommend you bring repellent and after-bite treatment. The house does have electronic repellent devices in every room, as well as some cans of bug spray if you forget your own.

We had no problem with the neighborhood's dogs, and we had previously requested that Natea remove the cat who lives in the house, as my wife is allergic. We never laid eyes on the cat, and allergies were never a problem. We mainly saw two dogs, Natea's dog Tonga and a big neighbor dog, who do play and frolic in the backyard, but usually kept their distance and never came in the house.

Overall this house is a great deal. You get so much of what makes Moorea a beautiful place to vacation, and the price is far lower than any resort. Living like a local can be great fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and snorkeling off the back yard
Liked least: the mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaVan...
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place to escape it all!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Tahiti beach house as the first leg of a three week adventure through French Polynesia. We decided that Moorea would be a great place to "blend with the locals and rent a house. We loved that we had a ocean front property all to ourselves. We also were thankful to have the convience of a refrigerator, stove, coffee maker and all the stuff you would need to be comfortable just like at home.
The first day we walked over to the little market and stocked up on wine, food, snacks and coffee. Although the food at the grocery is quite a bit more expensive then at home, it was nice to have snacks, make cocktails, and have our morning coffee while watchng the sunrise.The location if this property is ideal. It is only a short 10 minutes from the ferry and airport, maybe even less then that. It also is close to a snack shop, and market, and a pizza shop, andf le mohagany which we liked as well. We also loved being able to snorkel right off the house. We saw all sorts of marine life while out there, keep in mind you want to go pretty far out to get to the reef, yet it is not too far to swim.
The house was plenty large for the three couples. We all felt we had the privacy thhat we needed, and found plenty of great nap and reading spots throughout the home as well. The layout and furnishing in the house were very nice, everyday I discovered new art, I loved that.
Do keep in mind that this is a open home, and you will not be the only residence. There were gieckos every night on the ceiling, which we loved, and they eat bugs which is a bonus. There were also a few VERY large cenipeeds...about four-five inches long, some of the people were a little freaked out, but they did not bother us. There is also the cat,, the dog, and the neighbor's dog. NOw I mustadd, that despite the fence, the neighbors dog stil comes to paqy a visit. I LOVE dogs, and the neighbor dog is very cute, and very playful, yet does pee eveywhere outside...but he never came in the house, neither does the other dog. Only one of the six of us was bothered by the dogs, as she does not like dogs, and they both came and peed by her while laying out one day. There are also, huge crabs that burrow throughout the yard. We enjoyed watching these little guys come out at night. No worries, they will not bother you, in fact you can't get too close at at, they are very scared of people. And finally, there are lots of misquitos, so come prepared and bring lots of bug spray. I have to admit I did not use any bug spray, and never was bit, yet the other I was with got eaten up from time to time....but hey...it's the tropics!!!
While in Moorea we rented the car from Tepapa, which was very convieniant. We went around the entire island the first day associating ourselves with everything. The Island is pretty small, you can make it around the island, stopping and looking at things in a little over an hour. I must say the ATV excursion was a ton a fun, and took us to the most beautiful sights of Moorea. I just took the house bike down the road a few minutes and booked through Alberts. It was great!!! We also visited the Lagoonarium 2 times, as it was amazing snorkeling...make sure you go to a feeding, which they have 2 times per day. This is inexpensive and one of the highlights of the trip for me. We scuba dived with Moorea FUn dive...wow, they are the best!!! and the diving with Lemon sharks was awesome!! There is lots more to do as well. We missed the tiki village show...boo, we did not relaize it was only certain nights of the week. All in all, Moore4a was less expensive then Bora Bora, and we really loved the lush and laid back vibe of the island.

My only tips for Tepapa would be to put up a white dry erase board/clander so guests could sign up for the polynesian dinner her sister in law can make, or for massages, or car rental ect. We were really wanting to have dinner prepared one night, as well as book massages, yet we did not get to. Also there was a little confusion with what days we wanted the rental car. I think if there was a calander guests could sign up for which days they want to car, massages, and dinner served. Tepapa could just check it in the morning..just a thought.
The ONLY complaint I have regarding our stay is an issue that arose with the outrigger canoe. WE were all very excited that the home came with an outrigger canoe. ON the first day after we settled we went over and wanted to take the canoe out. The poor canoe was in poor condition, filled with water and was falling apart. Luckily my brother in law is pretty handy, so he drained the water out and got the canoe at least to the point him and his wife could take it out, yet the outrigger part was barely hanging in there. I opted not to take it out, since it was not in the best condition, I did not want to get stuck out there. The night before we were leaving, Tepapa told me that one of my family members had broke the canoe!?!!!! I was thinking we all walked up to the cnoe when we got there together, and I saw that it was already broken, in fact he helped fix it enough it could be taken out. She said she was going to have to pay to have it repaired, BUT she would NOT charge us. I did not want to argue with her and since she did not charge us, it as not a big deal, HOWEVER a very akward situation.I would hate to damage anything, and would wish to resolve any damage we had done, yet this was crazy.I think that Tepapa should do a walk through upon arrival with guests assessing the condition of things, and then a final walk through if she is going to address things concerns with guests ever. It was weird to have enjoyed such a great week at the home, to on the final night be left with such an akward situation. I really wish that we would not have been addressed with this issue, as it was really the only downfall. Also, this is water front property..not really a beach front property, there was not really and beach. It is shalllow enough to walk right in, but just to be clear no beach.
I think if you are traveling with a group/family to Moorea this is a great choice. It is a very comfortable home with everything you need to enjoy a wonderful vacation...even games and music if it rains. The wifi was also a plus for booking activites. I am thankful to Tepapa and her family for welcoming us. She is very knowledgeable of French Polynesia and we enjoyed chatting with her. We booked this rental, then OWB in Bora BORa, and then finished at NInamu in Tikehau. I must say it was the PERFECT well rounded vacation!! Happy Travels

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Private ocean front
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing