We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KAVEL Crab, ( coconut), an experience”
Review of Restaurant Tiahura

Restaurant Tiahura
Ranked #13 of 82 Restaurants in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polynesian
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Also known as Chez Irene specialises in local seafoods.
Opposite the old Club Med site where I learnt to scuba dive some 40 years ago. They claim that these 6 hectare site is now valued at over 600 million dollars , wow. Tiahura offers a wonderful range of fish including moon and mahi mahi but I was sold on Label Crab, not cheap, in fact very expensive, more so than lobster. It is a land based crab located in coconut palms. Apparently quite difficult to access these days, coming from less inhabited islands of the Society. Mine $90 for 750 gm!
For me the flesh a little dry and the flavour only slightly coconut but sauce made from the non flesh part of the crab absolutely delicious.
If you enjoy crab then this is the place to try a coconut crab

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Babu_of_Kili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 299 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Had the day’s special, fresh fish and lobster were nice, vanilla source very good, taro nice too, car pick up from Intercontinental hotel.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 674leid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We were greeted earlier in the afternoon by the waitress as we were walking. We weren’t looking for somewhere to eat but she told us about there menu and included they had coconut crab freshly caught. So we booked a table and chose our crab and returned later, we had also selected our wine as she wished to get it to correct temperature. She also explained this was CASH Only - all good - there is an ATM down the road if necessary.
The staff are warm and friendly - we shared a 1.1kg crab which came with rice & salad and coconut bread, a poker to get the meat out, nut crackers for the shell, a rubbish plate and face wipes. This was an awesome experience - Coconut Crab isn’t on the menu very often - please be warned it is very expensive - but hey we are on holidays.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 790ericab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Came to dine here on our second night in Mo'orea. The staff were very friendly and courteous, definitely made us feel welcome.

Hubby had the mahi mahi which was delicious. I tried the lobster and shrimp plate special. The whole plate was yum although the lobster was a bit dry, which hubby thought it might have been in the freezer for a while.

It offers various drinks and French wine also. Overall, we had a good time and enjoyed the evening.

One thing I would suggest to Tiahura is to have a credit card facility. It would make paying easier I suppose. Luckily we had some cpf with us that night, since we originally thought they took credit cards. To be fair, it does say on the front board that it's cash only. We just didn't read I guess and it was kinda dark too haha

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank SilvSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Got the mahi mahi and my wife got the curry shrimp. Both were great and waitress was very nice; she seemed to be the only one working. Food took about 15 minutes to come out after we ordered. Took longer to pay the bill then it did to order and eat it. They have free shuttle service which was very convenient. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Collin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Tiahura also viewed

 
Moorea, Society Islands
Haapiti, Moorea
 

Been to Restaurant Tiahura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing