We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the Middle of Nowhere”
Review of Boreal Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coldfoot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boreal Lodge
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We rode our motorcycles up the Dalton Highway this summer, 2011 and were told about this Lodge by some fellow ADV riders. Much better than the Coldfoot accommodations and half the price. Only about 13 miles north of Coldfoot and 3 miles off the Dalton and you get a wonderful host family, clean facilities and just a nice place to stay warm for the night en-route to Deadhorse. Don't expect cook meals but the main Lodge has some canned goods and staple foods for you to buy. Coldfoot is not far away if yo must have someone cook for you.

There is a shared kitchen that you can use and it is stocked with pots and pans, even coffee for you to make in the morning. No WIFI unless you are in the main lodge. Just FYI.

Highly recommend this place over Coldfoot not only for the price but the location. Oh, not many rooms, only 5 and a cabin so maybe call a head to make sure they have room.

Room Tip: There is no swimming poor which is not a big deal at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gatormandan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We went here on one of our stops on our Alaska honeymoon trip. We stayed in the lodge which hass two twin beds. Surprisingly, the beds were more comfortable than we thought. It was a nice stay with Coldfoot only 12 miles away for food and fuel.

Room Tip: Try to get the cabin if available. It has a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatormandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I thought a "lodge" would also offer meals. When we arrived we found out that they didn't. So we drove 60 miles (RT) to get to a place to eat. When we returned after dinner we found out that they DO sell some minimal amounts of canned and packaged food in their little office/store.

The bathroom for the room we rented is in its own separate building, but this was ok in mid-summer. Overall we were very pleased, and especially appreciated the hike recommended by owner Heidi.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for one night in Wiseman. We had stayed previously at the arctic getaway cabins but they were all booked up so we decided to stay here. After staying at the arctic getaway we couldn't help but make comparisons. While the arctic getaway cabins were truly wonderful, the boreal cabin left much to be desired. It wasn't nearly as clean as it could have been. There was a funny smell to the cabin and to top it off there were large black ants all over the cabin, including the loft bed where my children were sleeping. The only saving grace was the lovely owner Heidi and the great little shop she runs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspen Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

This is the best place to stay between the start of the Long Haul Alaska Pipeline Road (north of Fairbanks) and Deadhorse in Prudhoe Bay. The owner is a family of true Arctic residents, born and raised in Wiseman. You can learn much about life in the Alaskan Arcitc by staying at the Boreal Lodge. It is peaceful, serene, quiet, and as far off the beaten path as you can get. This is definitely the place to stay if you are exploring the only road to the Arctic Ocean in North America.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnduetshendorfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The lady, owner (Heidi) was changing the sheets at midnight when we got there (still bright) in the larger cabin, as she knew we were coming with 2 children to make us more comfortable, as that cabin had just become available (we were booked in a smaller cabin)..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nito_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Stayed one night in June. It is actually in Wiseman, not Coldfoot. Cabin was really cute and cozy. Had an oil burner heater that made the cabin really warm! Had a hot water shower that used point-source heating system, I think based on solar. That was a little quirky. The water was scalding hot, then tepid, then cool, then would heat up again and get scalding, then tepid, then cool. Still, can't complain, you're 70 miles north of the Arctic circle and everyone in town lives off the land for God's sake. Electricity, TV, stove, heat, hot water are amazing luxuries in such a location as far as I'm concerned. I would stay there again, for sure.

Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank BruceBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Boreal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boreal Lodge

Property: Boreal Lodge
Address: 1 Timberwolf Trail, Wiseman Village, Coldfoot, AK 99790
Region: United States > Alaska > Coldfoot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Coldfoot
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Boreal Lodge Coldfoot, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing