We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boreal Lodge
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
23
7
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We went here on one of our stops on our Alaska honeymoon trip. We stayed in the lodge which hass two twin beds. Surprisingly, the beds were more comfortable than we thought. It was a nice stay with Coldfoot only 12 miles away for food and fuel.

Room Tip: Try to get the cabin if available. It has a larger bed.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatormandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I thought a "lodge" would also offer meals. When we arrived we found out that they didn't. So we drove 60 miles (RT) to get to a place to eat. When we returned after dinner we found out that they DO sell some minimal amounts of canned and packaged food in their little office/store.

The bathroom for the room we rented is in its own separate building, but this was ok in mid-summer. Overall we were very pleased, and especially appreciated the hike recommended by owner Heidi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for one night in Wiseman. We had stayed previously at the arctic getaway cabins but they were all booked up so we decided to stay here. After staying at the arctic getaway we couldn't help but make comparisons. While the arctic getaway cabins were truly wonderful, the boreal cabin left much to be desired. It wasn't nearly as clean as it could have been. There was a funny smell to the cabin and to top it off there were large black ants all over the cabin, including the loft bed where my children were sleeping. The only saving grace was the lovely owner Heidi and the great little shop she runs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

This is the best place to stay between the start of the Long Haul Alaska Pipeline Road (north of Fairbanks) and Deadhorse in Prudhoe Bay. The owner is a family of true Arctic residents, born and raised in Wiseman. You can learn much about life in the Alaskan Arcitc by staying at the Boreal Lodge. It is peaceful, serene, quiet, and as far off the beaten path as you can get. This is definitely the place to stay if you are exploring the only road to the Arctic Ocean in North America.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnduetshendorfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The lady, owner (Heidi) was changing the sheets at midnight when we got there (still bright) in the larger cabin, as she knew we were coming with 2 children to make us more comfortable, as that cabin had just become available (we were booked in a smaller cabin)..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nito_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews