We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on Aitutaki.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

At first we were reluctant due to the price tag but now that I've visited the island and it's choices of accommodation ,I'm glad we selected Pacific Resort Aitutaki.On the personal taste point of view,I would have liked a more elegant rustic design as suppose to traditional.
They have the most amazing beach front and easy access to snorkeling without going anywhere else.We love the kayaks provided and service were top notch and the manager in charge Jason at the time was really helpful with tips and making sure we were happy.He was always out there talking to guests and making sure our needs were met.I would hire him if I had a resort :-)

Room Tip: Beach front bungalow was worth every dime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TLCWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Having read only great reviews on trip advisor about this property, it was no surprise that this hotel lived up to everything written about it.

From the greeting at the Airport by Nga and Paul Bishop, to the greeting by Jason at the resort, every detail was taken care off. As we were only on the island for 3 days, Jason made sure that we made the most of our time, and was able to recommend and book an Island tour by Paul Bishop (this is just great to hear all about the island) and a lagoon cruise (Ta Nova cruise, which was also the best food and crew).

The resort and room was very modern and the gardens are just lovely. The main eating areas and Bar are nice, with the food a good quality. Be prepared to pay a bit more, but also consider how remote you are, and it all then appears reasonable.

All the staff at the resort were very friendly and more than helpful with questions and request.

The gifts on departure and farewell from Jason again, just capped of a lovely stay.

I would highly recommend this resort and would not hesitate to return, to the best place on earth!

Room Tip: All rooms here face onto the beach, which is not normally more than 10 feet away, so any room here w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We decided on the Pacific Resort Aitutaki for a 5 night stay having just had 4 nights on Rarotonga; a total of 9 nights for our honeymoon. We're so glad that we did it this way round as we very much doubt that anything could live up to the experience we had at Pacific Resort.....

When we landed at Aitutaki airport, we were personally greeted and given a fresh flower necklace which smelled beautiful, then we were seated in the private airport lounge which is reserved for hotel guests only. It's the smallest airport we've ever been in but the fact you get a designated area was a nice touch and we completed some paperwork while our bags were offloaded and put into the exclusive transfer bus by the staff. The route to the hotel takes about 10 minutes as the driver goes very slowly and the host who travelled with us told us what to expect from the hotel and the island in general on route.

When we arrived we were seated in the lobby and were given fresh coconuts with drinking straws and were then personally welcomed by the acting general manager who again explained the resort facilities and the things to do on the island. We were shown to our room/bungalow (#102) at the Northern part of the beach/lagoon and when we walked in our jaws literally dropped; it was absolutely amazing with rustic Polynesian furniture and decor, a big double sinked bathroom, well stocked minibar and snacks, safe, king size bed, lounge suite, TV, DVD, desk etc and it opened onto a private balcony with about 6 steps down to the beach with our own outside shower for freshening up when stepping off the beach. The bungalow is totally private inside and almost private from the balcony/deck with a 10 metre walk to the lagoon edge with coral and fish viewing etc (snorkels provided). A nice touch was a complimentary straw sun hat for me and a sarong for my wife! All the bungalow's amenities were fully explained by our host.

A bit hungry after traveling from Rarotonga we ordered room service pizza; a tad greasy and one small gripe is that for each room service delivery you pay a NZ$5 surcharge. Also, don't get confused by the out-of-date in-room safe operating instructions, ask the front desk if unsure!

Generally the room maintenance is great, they come in the morning and then again in the evening and they leave a daily resort newsletter which welcomes and farewells guests individually by name and includes weather reports and things to do etc. The evening service also leaves a couple of complimentary treats (friand, biscuit etc). There was a pair of underpants in the trunk at the bottom of the bed (previous guests we assume?), anyway just a minor detail...........

The resort has two areas to eat at, the pool bar and the main restaurant. The food is excellent. It really is very good, good portion sizes, decent variety and price wise it's what you'd expect to pay at a decent Auckland restaurant. Typically, a bottle of water, two wines or beers, two starters and two mains and one dessert will cost around NZ$130. The service is attentive, not in your face and the views and ambience is superb. Likewise with breakfast choices etc but note that breakfast was part of our package and we were told by some other guests that the best thing to do is get there at about 10.45am (breakfast service ends at 11am) and order lots and lots so as to not need lunch! Apparently you can order as much as you like for breakfast although we were quite happy with one item each at normal breakfast time! There's an extra charge for flat whites etc but filter coffee is included... Our deal included NZ$50 credit per day so at the end of our stay we got $250 off the final bill which was good.

In terms of other facilities at the resort....... The pool area is magic.... There's an infinity pool with views to die for and there's a very small kiddies side pool if you can call it that attached. There are plenty of loungers around the pool with big cushions, some day beds etc with plenty of umbrellas should you feel the need to find some shade, clean towels aplenty too. The pool side also has a smaller bar which is manned most of the afternoon, if not you just ring the bar phone and someone will bring you what you want from the main restaurant. The are games etc like backgammon to use also. At night from 6pm to 7pm there's happy hour cocktails, ($12 each as opposed to $18), not sure if I'm the only one who struggled to taste the alcohol?? Lovely for sunsets though and very chilled. My experience of other resorts is that often the staff will come over during the day and ask if you need anything which didn't happen at Pacific as they leave it up to you to ask.

They have their own spa at the resort and we had a couple's massage. Personally I thought the massage was probably the best one I've ever had although my wife didn't necessarily think so, albeit she said it was good. The spa is small but well kitted out and has a lovely ambience, and both staff were friendly and attentive. It cost NZ$260 for the couple's massage and was worth every penny as it was on our penultimate day. They had to arrange for the 2nd staff member to come in so make sure you book early if you require two staff at once to avoid disappointment.

The only other facility at the resort we used was the library, most of which had books in German however I managed to find a great English one (ironically about Nazi Germany!).

In terms of island activities the hotel staff were extremely helpful in securing bookings for us, from dinner reservations at Tapuna restaurant on the island nearby and a taxi pick up, to the Vaka lagoon cruise (definitely recommend as it caters for lots of people, provides a full lunch and cash bar, there are toilets on board too, snorkels etc are provided and it goes to a couple of great snorkelling spots, One Foot Island where you can get your passport stamped, the Survivor and Shipwrecked islands etc at a good price, NZ$75 per person). The hotel also has complimentary bicycle hire but after using them for a day we decided to book a scooter which they organized at NZ$35 per day plus petrol and that gave us the freedom of the whole island which I really recommend you go out and explore.

The resort beach itself is lovely, the Northern part is better in my opinion, which was where our bungalow was as it's wider and there's no rocks. Most of the bungalows also have hammocks next to them but ours didn't. Down at the Southern end of the beach there are lots of rocks and not as much space for lounging and many of the bungalows there have quite a few steps up to them. I think they are the family suites etc. The lagoon snorkelling is good but not as good as the main lagoon cruise spots. Be warned that in places it's quite shallow so you have to watch the jagged coral however there's plenty of fish etc to see and the sea bed is littered with sea cucumbers. Many people used the hotel kayaks including my wife but that seemed far too energetic!

Overall it's an amazing place for a honeymoon or special holiday which seems more suited to couples as opposed to families but having said that there were quite a few families too. I would say it's the best hotel experience I've had and the website photos don't do it justice as it's even better than it looks. We will go back again without a doubt.

If you're tossing up between the Pacific Resort and the other big resort on Aitutaki, choose the Pacific as the other one is quite dated and nowhere near as luxurious and the food was really average.

Room Tip: Northern beach bungalows have the better beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lovely058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

From when you land until you depart stop thinking just relax the thinking has been done for you (except your meal choice)Manage meets you shows you around. Take the island tour for the best views from land of the islands and lagoons take a boat trip around the islands and get your passport stamp at one foot island swim and feed the gaint fish and view the giant clams,take a stroll into town and watch a football game starts with juniors girls and boys then adults ..Personalised farewell and gift is a wonderful and fitting end to your trip to paradise....Staff thoughout the resort are second to none.....
Please be respectful advise your travel agent not to arrive or depart on a sunday Thanks ...

Room Tip: rooms to the right have the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is an amazing place right from the initial contact at the airport. The greeting staff "Nga" was ours, made you feel ever so welcome and this is the place to be. Upon arriving at the resort you were then welcomed by Julian and then shown to your most outstanding rooms on the ocean. If you are in need of a break, just to get away (ie mine was to relax before my cancer surgery) this is the place to be. Hire a scooter, talk to the wonderful locals, snorkell and relax. You find that everyone else there is there for the same reason. Paradise!!

Room Tip: Beach side are just the best for snorkelling and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Beautiful, small, low-key resort and a great honymoon destination. Service was great and the staff very friendly. This is apparent from when you are picked up from the airport, when checking in, through to when you leave (including the personalised farewell from the manager). Very much a couples and honeymooners resort (we stayed 9 nights and saw only one or two children). We loved our room (no. 900), a beachfront villa. It was private, large and impeccably serviced. Bathroom was great and the generous provisions of Bulgari products appreciated. Good spa. The resort has the best location on the island, facing west with a stunning lagoon that you can walk out on or swim through the day. Everything is in easy scooter distance! Restaurant food is good, though the wine list is limited - largely because of the isolation and limited suppliers. The view from the open-air restaurant is stunning - on many mornings we watched whales breaching over breakfast. The 'Bedouin experience' is a must do - dinner served in a white tent as the sun sinks. Aitutaki has a timless feel and the best thing of all is the beautiful Polynesion people. Thoroughly recommend for honymooners or anyone that just wants to escape from the pace of life. A first-rate resort in one of the world's most stunning locations. Thoroughly deserves the awards it has received and ticks all the boxes for a fantastic unique expereince.

Room Tip: Would recommend a villa over a bungalow. Bungalows are nice but smaller and not as private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you are going one place, travel to Aitutaki. And stay at Pacific Resort Aitutaki.

A resort that was perfect in every way. VIP lounge at the airport - the world's smallest airport? And a lounge consisting of two sofas .. however, the only lounge :)

Shuffel to the resort, probably the finest resort in the archipelago. We arrived at 2-3 months after a hurricane, where 90% of the island buildings were damaged, the resort was luckily undamaged and in beautiful condition. The bungalow was breathtaking. Located on the undisturbed end of the beach with spectacular panoramic views of the lagoon and the Pacific. Large living room / bedroom, spacious bathroom and large balcony with sofa / seating area. Everything had a touch of luxury.

Beautiful pool area with sun chairs and a bar. Nice restaurant that served good food. Free disposable bike, scooter could be rented at a reasonable price. Spa / massage. Good servce from a friendly staff. A place that is recommended strongly.

2 drawbacks
- We did not get a late check-out (but we borrowed spa DUSS / wardrobe before departure)
- The beach at the hotel was invaded by sea cucumbers

Tip:
- Take the "Five Island cruise"
- Use the scooter to travel around the island (no traffic)
- Visiting Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and rent a canoe, paddle south along the small islands.
- For the romantic: private dinner for two at the beach.

Our trip was june 2012

Room Tip: If you want privacy, choose a bungalow at the end of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solveig_and_Espen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.3 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
166 reviews
3.7 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
169 reviews
3.8 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
464 reviews
1.2 km away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
935 reviews
0.0 km away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Aitutaki

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $710 - $1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pacific Resort Aitutaki 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury … The multi-award winning, five-star Pacific Resort Aitutaki, surrounded by the breathtaking, tranquil turquoise waters of the Aitutaki lagoon, offers an intimate collection of only 27 luxuriously appointed bungalows and villas. Each air-conditioned room offers uninterrupted views across the lagoon from your very own private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Resort Aitutaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing