We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
3
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
1
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Toms Cottage is the place to be on the Island of Aitutaki, very clean affordable good owners, very good communication, great location, less than a mins walk to the beach.
They have everything you need beautiful view to the sea.

Room Tip: Villa 1 and 2 the best to book
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2015

Despite not being advertised, the place still exists. It is run by a nice woman Tareta who works as a school teacher :)
It should be treated more like a short-term room/house rental rather than an hotel/hostel because it's no longer a main business for the people who run it. They do maintain it, but they also have to go to work every day. So, you'll have to entertain yourself by your own :D
The place is basic, but clean. And the bed in the unit where I was staying was really comfortable :)
It's definitely not a honeymoon accommodation. So If you are looking for luxury, cocktails, massage and stuff like this, it's not a right place.
If your main reason for visiting Aitutaki is diving, kite-surfing or you are a backpacker, then Tom's Cottage can be a good place for you.

Cheers :)

Stayed: October 2015
4  Thank feijoa-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I arrived on Aitutaki with two friends by charter yacht from Rarotonga in mid-winter. Tom's was the only accommodation available in the township vacinity,due to a health conference being held on the island at the time of our visit. When booking 3 nights accommodation over the 'phone there wasn't an issue with accommodation availability, nor was there one the day we arrived by sea. We were given access to the older but more spacious self-contained cottage next to the sports field, inspite of our request for the newer yet smaller cottage located absolute beachfront.
Unfortunately the following morning we were advised by the owners that new arrivals being repeat guests were arriving from overseas to occupy the same cottage as us. Inspite of an offer to take up rooms within the family home/guesthouse we instead moved next door next day to Rino's Motel which by now had a vacancy for our final night on the island. All in all we enjoyed our stay at Tom's due to its convenient location and the amended price was a welcome compromise for the overbooking issue. We also received a good rate from Rino for his motel unit, and were helped with shifting our gear, by a friendly local. All in all our stay at tom's wasn't too inconvenienced by the administration oversight. The cottage is due for ongoing maintenance, but the beds have been replaced since my previous stay several years ago. Tom's family including grandchildren, are considerate of their guests needs and they all helped to make our stay both relaxing and charming.

Room Tip: Two fully self-contained beachfront cottages, encouraging self-catering & peaceful relaxation. and beach-.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frangipani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2006

I stayed at Tom's Cottage a while back... It was not my favourite place to stay and after being on Aitutaki for a few days I saw there were better budget options.

Tom's is okay if you are on the barest of budgets and have few expectations. it is very basic and I would not call this accommodation a "honeymoon" option.

The facilities needed improvement (the kitchen was FILTHY) and the toilets needed attention on a daily basis.

The beach is non-existant here, as it is for much of this side of Aitutaki. The grounds around Tom's were a mess... It needed a good deal of tidying and maintainance.

There were only 2 other guests there in the week I was there.

Tom and his family are friendly enough, but aloof and often were hard to find if you wanted something (like toilet paper!)

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Islandboi321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2006

If you are after a 3, 4 or 5 star experience, this is not it.

This B&B is basic but don't think that's bad. There are two bungalow's (ask for the one on the beach) and a larger house with dormatroy/backpacker style accommodation.

The bungalows have a nice little kitchen, bathroom (hot water which some other's don't), living area and bedroom. They are basic but that's not why they are the best. They are on the beach, right near town, isolated, quiet and Taretta (the host) and her kids make you feel at home. The bungalow's are cleaned every day, fresh sheets, fresh towels, the lot.

If you're looking for luxury, this isn't it, if you are after a great holiday, it is.

Taretta's mohter had her birthday whilst I was out one day and when I returned they had left two peices of cake in the fridge for us - a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews