We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
937
58
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
937
58
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar our honeymoon cook islands lagoon cruise absolute beachfront the managers honor bar fish beachfront villa yogurt day bed pacific resort each morning a special place koru cafe heaven on earth beautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Etu Moana for 4 days at the end of September and can't wait to go back there.Such a beautiful setting in tropical gardens.The units we stayed in very comfortable and private so very restful which is what we wanted.The staff couldn't do enough to help with anything we needed and when the island ran out of petrol Terri kindly gave us the use of the car for our last night's meal as even the taxis had no petrol

Room Tip: garden rooms very private seaside rooms right on the beach .all have views of the sea
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally_519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Kia Orana,

Our 12 night stay at Etu Moana reafirmed all of the reviews that we previously read. For my wife and I, vacation means relaxing on the beach where beauty and tranquility prevail, and Etu Moana was the perfect venue for our reprieve.

The staff at Etu Moana are personable and professional-a truly amazing crew led by Amanda and Steve-the highlights of our stay. From our arrival until our departure, the daily interactions with staff during breakfast, in the lobby, the cheerful housekeepers, and gardeners was enriching.

The villas are all beautiful and afford decent views and privacy. Do not fret if you are unable to secure an absolute beachfront villa, we started in villa 5, and moved to villa 4, all arrangements had been made prior and in hindsight we would have been content staying in villa 5. Each villa has a covered terrace that is the perfect place to spend quality time with your significant other while enjoying a nice cup of coffee in the morning, or an evening drink. The beach is no more than a 45 second walk from any villa.

The flora at Etu Moana are spectacular. The daily breakfast serving table is adorned with fresh cut flowers, and the beauty is in the simplicity of these wonderful arrangements.

The residential "ambassadors" Ginger and Sailor add to the charm of Etu Moana. These felines are personable, and occasionally make their rounds checking in on the occupants of the villas.

Etu Moana just replaced their old bikes with new bikes that are great for touring Aitutaki, some guests had rented scooters or a car, but we preferred getting the exercise while pedaling around the island.

Ensure that you bring plenty of insect repellant and sunblock. The mosquitoes are prevelant, and the sun is intense-so don't forget to protect yourself.

You will not need to bring an alarm clock-the islands roosters will have you up at the crack of dawn adding to the exoticness of the island. If you enjoy snorkeling, snorkles, fins and masks are also provided.

Recommeded to do list: 1) take a Lagoon Cruise-this was by far our favorite endeavor-in fact we enjoyed this so much that we did it twice, as did a few other couples. We used Aitutaki Adventures, they were safe, family oriented, and their food was simply amazing. 2) watch the sunset from the beach while enjoying a self-prepared drink from the Honesty bar. Note-I am not a mixologist, but Etu Moana provides recipes for both cocktails and mocktails. However if you have a favorite drink you might want to brush up on how to prepare it prior to your arrival. I "winged it" for my wife and she enjoyed the cocktails that I prepared for her. 3) See the Tamanu Island culture show-a 12 minute walk from Etu Moana and reportedly the best show/venue on the island.

Aitutaki will be one of the most pituresque place you will ever visit, and Etu Moana's charm, warm and cheerful staff, beautiful location, and spacious villas makes this the perfect conduit for enjoying this exotic locale.

Room Tip: There are 10 villas total-you cannot go wrong with any villa.....
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciscospudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Such a lovely setting with such lovely staff. They really go all out to help you in every way possible. Even before we arrived the girls had helped so much with birthday surprises and plans. Beautiful villas and lovely little touches like a bottle of champagne in our room for my partners 30th birthday, a cd of Island music to take home after your trip to remind you of that fabulous place. Lovely space to just chill out in and a wonderful stretch of beach right outside. Could not fault a single thing.

Room Tip: Villa 6 is lovely and private and tucked away from everything but still had a nice view.
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Etu Moana is fabulous.The welcome by Amanda and Steve set the theme for a very short stay but one that we will not forget. Its is our hope to return to paradise.
The villas were kept in pristine condition and the guests made very comfortable. The staff made you feel at home nothing was too difficult. The equipment provided snorkel gear;kayaks and some brand new bicycles could be enjoyed by everyone,
The breakfast by the pool with the other guests was a plus, great food and made for great conversations on the day or night entertainment. It took me back to the good old days when people trusted your honesty with the pool side bar and the things provided there.Please don't change that - Trust is a great thing.The only down side was the mosquitos boy they were hungry!!!!! A great place to relax and recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjpchristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Etu Moana is beautiful. We spent six nights/seven days there for our honeymoon and adored every second of it. Everything is perfect - the villas, the grounds, the staff (who are just amazing and always so friendly and happy) - everything.

Every morning the beach is raked and any debris that washed up over night is removed. We noticed the beach wasn't as well looked after at other resorts on the island and were glad the staff take the time to do this.

There were always plenty of kayaks, snorkels, flippers and reef shoes for everyone. Be careful kayaking at low tide though as you may become beached on the coral! :)

The breakfasts at Etu Moana were great. It included a great range of food including fresh bread, juice, jam, cereal, boiled eggs, fruit and yoghurt. Staff always greeted us with warmly and were so attentive and helpful.

The location of Etu Moana is perfect. It's on the sunset side of the island and isn't as windy as around Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. The beach isn't as perfect blue as the lagoon around Aitutaki Lagoon Resort but it's more interesting with a lot of different fish/starfish and coral to explore.

Although there's no on-site dining option for lunch and dinner, Etu Moana is within walking distance of some great places to eat, including the restaurant at Tamanu Beach Resort, Tauonos Organic Cafe and Puffy's. If you don't want to walk, just jump on one of their many pushbikes and cycle over. Some of the other restaurants on the island offer transportation if you don't have a car or scooter and want to explore some of the other dining options on the island.

Room Tip: Villas 3 and 4 are one step back from the beach but you still have fantastic ocean views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Droplet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews