We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Matriki Beach Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matriki Beach Huts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you want luxury - don't come here! If you want privacy and isolation - don't come here!
If you want a tropical holiday - with unlimited snorkeling opportunities a few feet from your beach hut - unbelievable sunsets, the opportunity to meet travellers from all over the world, the chance to unwind and relax and recharge your body, mind and soul, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lara67GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Matriki Beach Huts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in a few place when visiting Aitutaki and this hands down was my favourite. I meat great people and Matthias was an excellent host.
The location is perfect and the huts are great. If you looking for luxury then this place is not for you. However if you looking for a great place with some interesting people then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

As a family member of the writer of "Wolf in sheeps clothing" and who shared the same experience and stay at Matriki, I am writing to apologize for what are absolutely untrue critiques of our stay, as put forth in that review. I have formerly apologized to our hosts Matthais and Riki and would take this opportunity to clarify. I would at first draw the readers attention to the two very positive reviews on this page which offer a very different view of experience than the "Wolf" review. How could both be accurate? The answer lies within an individuals perception at a given moment.

The Wolf review was written in a state of reaction to perceived events which included among other things a total misunderstanding of our hosts cancellation policy, as it related to our decision to amend the length of our visit to Aitutaki and thus Matriki. That decision was based only on our choice to reconnect with friends arriving on Rarotonga, earlier than anticipated, and had nothing to do with conditions at Matriki. In truth Matriki was very clear on their website in this as well as all other regards.

In response to being charged for days which we did not actually stay (a policy clearly outlined on the website, along with a suggestion to consider travel insurance if considering a change of plans) we found Matthais to be most helpful in working with us to find guest replacements on short notice due to our leaving early. This he accomplished in a magically and deeply appreciated manner to the complete satisfaction of all involved.

In point of fact, we found the accommodations very clean, bug free, a plentiful supply of hot water, and yes the stove top was propane supplied as are the vast number of other guesthouses we've stayed at, as well as my own stove at home!

Our own decision to not take advantage of a lagoon tour and snorkeling trip with our host was predicated on electing to engage in other available island activities instead. There was no pressure to engage in any offered activities.

Finally, I would add that this is a most beautiful spot to vacation. There is a slow and relaxed atmosphere with wonderful sunsets off the western beach at this location. I would also like to thank Matthais for the insightful conversations we shared during our stay.

Steve

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

By no means am i disregarding the beach and the snorkeling here. But if given the opportunity i would advise staying at a place a bit more hospitable, and going here just for the water during the day. As a chef in the hospitality industry i am shocked at the poor level of how this is run. We are staying at place called matriki beach huts here on Auitutaki. The guy was late to pick us up at the airport, when we arrived we walked into our "hut" and it was leaky, filled with bugs, ran off of propane, no clean drinking water except for hose down on the beach, our shower doesnt work and there is no hot water. We were made to make a half deposit for our duration. Upon finding these circumstances we decided to leave on Saturday which our depost was going to cover. We told the man and now he is charging us with the whole amount of ten days even though we are leaving. And he still tried to tell us we were going snorkeling and fishing next week and he was expecting payment for that on Friday.

Room Tip: If your looking for a nice clean decent place here on Auitutaki, i highly recommend Amuri guesthouse...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WellingtonMichaela_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Paradise simple and natural as I wanted it. Directly on the beach where you have the main island's best snorkeling spot just outside the door. Delightful, stayed 2 weeks in the tree top lodge.I did not care to travel to Atiu, but I stayed a week more of Matriki because I liked the place so much. After sleeping on the couch in Mattias house for 2 days I got the place in Garden villa it was more luxurious with private toilet and shower. Mattias snorkeling tours are something extra when he knows the best snorkeling spots around the lagoon. I know that because I've done snorkeling tours with two other local companies on Aitutaki, which did not give the same experience. Snorkeling trips outside the reef was also an outstanding experience when we swam with turtels and swung back and forth in waves with the fishes. Matthias also taught me the most about coconuts how to use them in its various stages as food and drink. Sailing with Hobicat the lagoon was also a highlight. Also, on a fishing trip with Mattias where we got a yellowfin tuna which we grilled on honymoon island the next day when we were on snorklingtur. Concluded days by sitting on the beach and watch the sun set in perfect harmony. Everyone who lived on Matriki Beach Hut during my 3 weeks loved the location.
Rolf 65-år från Sweden

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Rolf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Two weeks of bliss in the Pacific.
We arrived and were met by Matthais and Riki at the airport, it is only a short 5 min ride to the Beach huts. Very friendly interesting people who had a wealth of knowledge which they willing passed it on if you showed interest. The cabins are basic but have everything you need, good gas cooking and a small fridge and bed with moz net.
We don't travel to spend time in a room so it does what it needs to do and its very reasonably priced.
So why so GREAT!!!! then you ask
Well its all about the water, your in the pacific as far from anywhere as possible
and right outside and I mean right outside is the best snorkelling on the main island.
The coral starts about 10 feet from the beach directly in front and goes out to the outer reef about 1/2 km.beautiful live coral and enormous amounts of fish of various sizes and shapes.
For me a 3 hour snorkel was a part of every day, the water is very clear and super warm though it is not very deep all of it under 5 ft in depth.
You have to spend time out there or get lucky to see big fish, but I did see turtles and Eagle Rays here.
So no walking, no traveling, no boating just get up walk 10 yards to beach and start your dive
Next
Then there are Matthais boat trips to the outer islands, outer reefs and snorkel spots on distant coral outcrops in the far lagoon.
Do these trips !!!
Usually about 5 or 6 people max
Your not with 25 -40 other people and you don't go to all the touristy places and you have it to yourselves its a no brainer.
At the pinnacles inside the lagoon (10 minutes by boat) we had two of the largest fish I have seen under water, giant Trevally, swim with us for 30 minutes it was a once in a life time experience that prob happens quite often here.
Trace loved the aquarium snorkel spot as it was so warm not deep lots of coral outcrops in the one place and a million colourful fish. A dive not to be missed (seriously if you only do one thing do this)
We saw larger fish Tuna Trevally and prob 15-20 eagle rays just cruising around on the outside reefs.
We also sailed Matthais Hobie Cat down the Lagoon to One foor island what an amazing place to sail, the water was so perfect so many incrediable colours and shades of blue truly a fantastic day.
The beach units was always a welcome place to come back to and to watch the sunsets on the beach with other guests hey there might be 3 couples max.
Special Hello to Rolf who entertained us nearly every night, hey everyone is happy in a lace like this.
Matthais was an excellent host, his boat trips, his knowledge, his insight into local life, his friendly nature are inspiring, its not often you meet people as interesting as him. He really is a top bloke very helpful great sense of humour and a pretty damn good cook as well.
Would have been nice if he had agreed to adopt us!!!
To sum up
Best Value, Best Ocean, Best Host, Best Day Trips, Best Nearby Reef, Best Sunsets
No Stress, Few Fellow Travelers, Quiet Peaceful (except for Rosters)

Room Tip: Garden Unit has own barthroom and toilet Beach front ones have showers but shared toilet. Its not...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagicalTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Matthias and Riki are very friendly characters who take much enjoyment in what they do. They don't get in your way but are there when you need them. Great accommodation in a Robinson Crusoe style!Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.9 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,154 reviews
1.3 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
162 reviews
3.1 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
459 reviews
0.8 km away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 6 in Aitutaki
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matriki Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matriki Beach Huts

Address: Anaunga, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range: $108 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet budget rustic self contained absolute beachfront huts on the nicest natural snorkeling and swimming beach on beautiful Aitutaki, Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Matriki Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matriki Beach Huts Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing