We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit in just over three years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I suppose the title of this review speaks volumes and we have already booked another trip here in 101 days (but who's counting). It was very much a case of Paradise revisited and I had forgotten so much of what is fabulous about Daydreamer and Rarotonga.

Dave and Sheryl were the icing on the cake, as they were on previous visits, with their friendly, welcoming hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble and they ensured that our comfort was something we will talk about when we got home. The apartments are private but close enough to chat to the people in the other units and compare tips and trips. It is a quiet, peaceful place, handy to everywhere with a delightful tropical garden with a pool and a shaded outdoor lounge. It is a welcome haven to return to after a frantic day on the beach at Black Rock or it is a place to just stay home and relax in as the fancy takes you.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allanm237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave sheryl T, Owner at Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Third time and who is counting? We are looking to your fourth visit.
We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review, and are happy you still find Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort fabulous.
We both enjoy meeting and greeting new and previous guest alike.
It is an equally nice feeling seeing our guest mingling with other quest, relaxing beside the pool or in their own courtyard, enjoying the peace and quiet.
It is lovely to hear we have created a haven , in which you both enjoy.
Take care and see you in under 100 days now. Who is counting?
Dave and Sheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Self contained apartments set in a tropical paradise. Apartments are self contained, very spacious, clean and also very private. The tropical gardens and pool area are stunning. Dave and Sheryl were amazing hosts, very friendly and go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect, they will book any excursions and offer recommendations.
Was very windy when we were there so didn't get the opportunity to go to the beach across the road, but is meant to have good snorkelling and would be lovely when sheltered. Due to the wind we spent the week swimming and snorkelling at the lagoon by Black Rock (round by the airport), was nice and sheltered there.
Would highly recommend Koko Lagoon Cruise, dinner at Vaima Restaurant (about 500m down the road) and On the Beach Restaurant. Coco Putt mini golf was also good value!
For wi-fi also suggest you get the $50 sim card at the airport which gives 3GB od data.
Thanks again and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave sheryl T, Owner at Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

It was nice to have you both come and stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon, and thank you for taking the time to review us. It is alway informative for our potential guest to see the reviews of previous guest.
Some winter months are windy here, but there is alway somewhere to snorkel, and this does give you a chance to explore other places.
Thank you for passing on all the lovely tips for other guest. I am sure this will be helpful to them.
We both look forward to your return soon.

Sheryl and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Small resort with 5 "apartments" with different set ups. Beautiful outdoor garden/pool area. Is like staying in a house, with a fully equipped kitchen/lounge/dining area. Sheryl was very helpful. Can recommend for people looking for a quiet relaxing friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RaeHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave sheryl T, Owner at Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We do have a small Resort and it is lovely and peaceful, away from the hussle and bussle.
Many previous people have comment on our gardens and pool area, and enjoy relaxing in them.
It is also nice to here, it felt like a home away from home.
Thank you once again , for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again , in the not to distant future.
Sheryl and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Very clean and tidy If asked for anything it was attended to promptly and in a friendly manner. Resort owners very easy going friendly and very accommodating. My room was huge and every possible thing I could have needed for my weeks stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank NaniJanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave sheryl T, Owner at Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you felt you had everything you needed, and we attended to you in a quick manner.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort.


Sheryl and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Daydreamer is a lovely resort with spacious apartments (with fully equipped kitchens), beautiful gardens and a good location. Our airport pick up was seamless even though we arrived at 1.30am and Sheryl was a great host - nothing was ever a problem. She recommended excellent restaurants and helped us with car hire. We appreciated the snorkeling gear and the yummy breakfast on the first morning especially the home made bread. We will definitely be back! Thanks again Sheryl.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave sheryl T, Manager at Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review Kylie, and thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future.
It is not problem to greet you on your arrival , or organise a transfer for you on the very late arrival. We enjoy meeting and getting to know our guest when they first arrive.

The bread is definitely a hit with most people. I am glad you enjoyed it.
We have quite a few nice restaurants on this side of the island, and many who will pick you up and drop you off, this is a definite bonus, if you are on a scooter or have no transport.

Take care,
Sheryl and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Amazing people (owners) and so friendly and helpful. Beautiful gardens. Good location: within walking distance to the beach. Highly reccommended. All rooms are clean and tidy. You wont regret it. We look forward to going back, to have their place as our accommodation when we visit Rarotonga again in the future.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank AmazinTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave sheryl T, Owner at Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for your amazing review and high recommendation.
We alway enjoy reading what people have to say about Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort and the beautiful gardens. It is nice to hear our guest appreciate the gardens as we do.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon, and we won't be sorry to have you back again in the near future.

Regards Sheryl and Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by Dave at the airport with a fresh flower lei.

We stayed in the only separate studio room which is tucked away in a quiet, private corner of the resort away from the road with noone walking passed. The studio will suit you if you want privacy, but you may feel a bit left out of the action if you prefer to mingle.

We also had a private patio, with BBQ, table and chairs, sun loungers, outdoor shower and clothes line.

The resort is in a beautiful, well maintained garden setting with a lovely pool, and beautifully lit at night. Most of the time you can get the pool to yourself to enjoy!

Dave & Sheryl are very hospitable. Dave gave us the use of his car to go to the night food markets on our first night as we hadn't yet arranged our transport.

It was lovely having the passion fruit vine right outside our room... when the fruit falls off the vine, give it a couple more days to ripen before enjoying... a real tropical treat.

The local chooks and cats may meander passed your room, but aren't intrusive and are part of island life.

The breakfast on the first morning was delicious, with home made bread, preserves and a yoghurt, fruit and muesli parfait.

Unlike larger resorts, the studio was self-catering with a fully equipped kitchen, so there's no bar/restaurant on-site, but there is Wigmore's shop and some good restaurants/cafe's nearby.

Located on the south coast, it is a decent drive to the main centres of Muri and Avarua. There is the bus stop out the front, but hiring a car/scooter will make getting around a lot easier.

We didn't manage to see Dave when we checked out but somehow he managed to find us at the airport to say bye and thanks for staying before we flew out.

If you want to stay somewhere small where you feel welcome, greeted by name and not asked for your room number every time you ask for something, I thoroughly recommend Daydreamer.

Only issue was with the plumbing in the studio which was a bit unreliable.. the shower mixer was hard to regulate. The gas must have blown out during the heavy rain on our last night as we had no hot water and the water from the basin tap was brown. These issues may be isolated to the studio as I think the main block has solar heated tanks on the roof.

Fraser & Harp
Wellington, NZ

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fraser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave sheryl T, Owner at Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

We always like to give our guest a taste of the island way, as soon as we greet them from the plane. We are please you enjoyed receiving the neck Ai.
Many people who choose , to use the garden studio apartment, enjoy the privacy of being tucked away in their little piece of the garden.
All our apartments have fully equipped kitchens and their own BBQs, Loungers and outdoor dining furniture, allowing you to eat and cook either indoors or outdoors, or go out for the occasional meal.
we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast with the homemade tropical jams, bread and parfait. The passion fruit are just a little treat when they are in season.
we have now replaced the gas califont, thank you for letting us know, so we could do something about the water variation.
After heavy rains, the water from the hills does come down brown, Our island way, but rectified very so, after the rain has stopped.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Regards

Sheryl and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
7.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.3 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
1 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.8 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Arorangi
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort

Address: PO Box 1048, Cook Islands (Formerly Daydreamer Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: $136 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daydreamer offers the perfect venue for casual holiday home in paradise. Located on Rarotonga you will have no problems swimming and snorkelling in the various crystal clear lagoons, relax in our clean and tidy 5 spacious apartments which are set in lush tropical gardens with tropical fragrances of hibiscus gardenia and bougainvillea permeating the air. Our units are all self catering with full kitchens as well as having your own bbq on your terrace,so you can dine in or out at many of our local restaurants, or cafes and shop at our local supermarket which is all in walking distance. Local bus transport is at the gate.Or we can arrange a car or motorbike hire for you. Come and enjoy our piece of paradise, we would love to share it with you and your families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rarotonga Daydreamer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing