We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“FOB is delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, New Zealand, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FOB is delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Mooring is a simple but great little spot for lunch. There are gorgeous views of the lagoon from the outdoor picnic tables (with umbrellas for shade).
We had the Fresh Off the Boat burgers - mahi mahi with salad and lime mayo on turkish bread. So delicious we went back more than once. And they cook the fish when you order, so it is still nice and hot when your burger is served.
The only downside is that unless you feel like a burger/sandwich, or having the burger/sandwich made into a salad, there are no other menu options. This definitely wasnt a problem for us as the burgers were so lovely.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumba103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,356
    197
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic but Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

They serve very basic food - just sandwiches and salads, but they are excellent! We had the Capt Moko tuna sandwich and the FOB fish sandwich. The bread is excellent and fresh (best bread on the island I think). We also loved the smoothies!

Not the cheapest ($10 for sandwiches and $7 for smoothies), but cheaper than a restaurant option and worth every cent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank russnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Deserves being rated #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Read about the Mooring Fish Cafe, near Captain Moko's fishing charters, Muri beach in the Escape magazine. So glad we did, as we went there twice in a 4 day visit. The best cooked tuna sandwich I've ever had. Unpretentious, but fun setting - served from a painted container - great sitting out in the open by the lagoon enjoying FOB - fresh off the boat! My husband loved the passion fruit & mango smoothie. Friendly service - doesn't get much better than this!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Had the FOB (crumbled Mahi Mahi on turkish bread) just fantastic
Great food & service

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stunning spot. Unpretentious, delicious food. Nice break from the usual chips with every meal! Fresh fish and salad. Relaxed and good value.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwilisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing