We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Spyglass Inn B&B(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Cabins(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kenai Peninsula Suites(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$300
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End Resort(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn(Homer)
US$239
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homer Stay and Play(Homer)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
8
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
8
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2016

I was honestly not sure about Homer but this cute little town took me by surprise. I had an action packed three days in Homer and i chose Sea Lion Cove to stay - the pictures on their website don't do justice to the place. First off, the location is just perfect - It's in the heart of the spit and has amazing restaurants around. The place is very comfortable and has brilliant views. I liked the little things like - coffee maker, binoculars, microwave, stacked up tea/coffee/creamer etc considering that this is not a proper hotel and more of a stand alone room. For any other needs, there is a store at walking distance so that is convenient. I also really enjoyed talking to the owner (Gary) who gave some great tips about what to do and where to go in Homer. Overall, it was a great experience and while every one has their own preferences, i would recommend the place if you are looking for something low key yet centrally located.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MegypS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

This place needs some TLC. Television only gets 3 channels, one of which actually work. Pillows are gross, flattened out, and GoodWillish. Grungy Curtains do not fit the windows. All the blinds are falling apart. Bedroom/living room separated by a xirty curtain. Shower and sink have holes in them. Carpet is dirty. Mostly a nasty place with great views
Not sure where all the great reviews are from, but this one is trustworthy. The owner seems detached from the lodging part of his buisness. Room does not get serviced daily. Parking is a HUGE problem. Location is great, but the lack of TLC kills this one. It's a one show pony. Viewed some others while we were in town and the other choices are nicer and just as conveniently located. Any of the beach side lodging needs to be reserved 6 mths ahead. Avoid the one if you can. If the owner would just put few grand into these rooms, he'd bave a quality place to stay.............2 stars strictly for location.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Airpower2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiglax, Owner at Sea Lion Cove, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2016

Greetings Airpower,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay at our lodging was not up to your expectations. I apologize.
I want to address some of your concerns that I feel might be inaccurately reported.
Our TV has five network channels with four sub-channels on the state-run system. I discovered that the coax cable was faulty during your stay and it got replaced the next day. My apology for that inconvenience.
We provide two pillows for each person to accommodate individual needs. One is low-loft and the other high-loft. We can provide more pillows on request.
That unit has one set of curtains that are clean. The unit you stayed in has four sets of blinds and NONE are broken! They all work fine!
The sink has a barely visible nick and the tub has a small patch that the builder applied when installing the tub. Neither of these are a hole. Both barely noticeable.
Both of our units are cleaned fully, including vacuuming. On multiple night stays we do a daily refreshing and a full clean with changing of linens mid-stay. The carpet is definitely not dirty.
Parking is very convenient with, even on the busiest day, a walk of no more than 100 feet. We give our guests a windshield note that identifies their car as belonging in our lot. At night most guests park right in front of the building.

In summary we provide a very nice place to stay on Homer Spit. We have many regular guests who choose our lodging way in advance. Our business is open all day long until 8 pm, for any special requests. All our staff have lived here long term and can answer questions and provide recommendations for an enjoyable stay.

We are certainly not perfect but we are conscientious!

Gary Lyon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights 8-16 to 8-20
It's a great location on Homer Spit to stay. Stayed in the south unit but not much different than north one. The views are great. This place is very clean. Was quiet except hearing the waves which was very nice.our favorite restaurant was next door. You can walk everywhere on the spot from here. Salty Dawg Saloon great place to have a cold one. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Blenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015

We are about to check out but I wanted to write a review of this little gem of a place to stay in Homer. First off let me say the location is great right In the middle of the spit. It is within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the small boat harbor. You can pick up some groceries and save some money on food. The inn has dishes, utensils, oven, microwave and even electric burner and pots and pans to cook your meals. The owners have went out of their way to make sure you have everything and for Homer the price is nice too. I highly recommend giving this place a try. The view is awesome on the beach and the mountains are amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tbrevell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights here. It wasn't quite as big as we thought from the pictures but it served our purpose. We were able to eat our breakfast in the room or on the deck when weather permitted, watching the boats head out. The locations was fantastic, overlooking the water, walking distance to the shops and activities on the spit. It's not a fancy place and in the morning when deliveries were being made at the restaurant next door it was noisey for a bit but it didn't hamper our good time. Gary was very helpful in answering all of our questions.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6sharon220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews