We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice sampling of local artists”
Review of Ptarmigan Arts

Ptarmigan Arts
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Homer
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ptarmigan Arts is Homer's only cooperative art gallery, owned and operated by local Alaskan artists. The gallery carries the artwork of established Homer artists as well as newcomers to the Homer art scene. Open year-round, Ptarmigan Arts offers unique, quality artwork and handcrafted items in a variety of media including ceramics, woodworking and turnings, fiber/wearable arts, glass, photography, paintings and etchings, stone lithographs, jewelry, sculpture, and Alaskan fine art prints and cards. Located in charming downtown Homer, the gallery is within walking distance to other galleries and a myriad of other shops, restaurants, and other local attractions. All major credit cards are accepted. Shipping is available and free gift wrapping is offered for purchases.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Wide choice of different artists. We appreciate seeing offerings from true artists vs tourists’ gift shoos

Thank joyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaduck1, Owner at Ptarmigan Arts, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Thanks for your review. Our artists are all local Alaskans, and on any given day you'll meet one of them serving as the Artist of the Day. Glad you stopped by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local artists"
in 35 reviews
"co op"
in 18 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 3 reviews
"great variety of items"
in 2 reviews
"wood working"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful artwork"
in 2 reviews
"handcrafted items"
in 2 reviews
"bought several"
in 2 reviews
"t shirts"
in 4 reviews
"tourist shops"
in 2 reviews
"jewelry"
in 22 reviews
"paintings"
in 23 reviews
"gallery"
in 19 reviews
"treasure"
in 3 reviews
"anchorage"
in 4 reviews
"browsing"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2018

We stopped in here our last day in Homer, great shop with lots of local artists with reasonable prices!

Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaduck1, Owner at Ptarmigan Arts, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Glad you stopped in! We always appreciate visitors taking the time to write a review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018

If you're going to be in Homer, you might want to stop at Ptarmigan Arts, a lovely gallery with a variety of art and crafts for sale. Painting, photography, handmade items, turned wood, and other goodies. Best of all, the artists are all local to the area.

Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaduck1, Owner at Ptarmigan Arts, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Thanks for your kind review. We always appreciate hearing from visitors to our cooperative gallery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

When you want to find Alaskan art by the local artists that is not mass produced, this is the place. Great selection of gifts and treasures for everyone, including yourself. I bought so many different things from bookmarks to books, art prints to handmade memo books. Jewelry to pottery and baskets. It was near the end of a vacation, chilly and rainy. The place was warm and friendly and I could have spent another hour just trying to decide what treasure I was buying for family friends and me

Thank GeriSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaduck1, Owner at Ptarmigan Arts, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thanks so much for your review and for supporting our local artists. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to our gallery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017

You don't go here because the art is cheap. You go because you like the art and want to see your money in the hands of the actual artist.

Thank Bo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaduck1, Owner at Ptarmigan Arts, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

We appreciate your comments. Our gallery is a great place to visit if you enjoy talking with local artists. No matter what day you visit, you'll find a friendly and helpful "artist of the day." Our members are more than happy to answer questions about their techniques and their work and that of the other 30+ artists represented in the gallery. Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Ptarmigan Arts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ptarmigan Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing