We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place to stay! Would stay again in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Rose Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Rose Cottages
Ranked #29 of 41 Homer B&B and Inns
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay! Would stay again in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I and our 14yo son stayed with here at Wild Rose Cottages with Ann 6/20 - 6/22. We stayed in the furthest most "cabin" (far end of that cabin) and it was quite homey. We were in AK for 16 days and of all the places we stayed my wife said she felt the most at home here. The room was nice. Had everything you could expect. All the way from internet to a full range/stove dishes etc.
Ann is an exceptional host. Full of info and very helpful. She'll give it to you straight. The dogs are a joy! This place is just perfect. And the view of the Spit from their observation deck is like no other!
The room was very clean and the beds were very comfy. This place is far up the hill from all of homer so your not walking to anything so remember that.
Shay away from the caribou cafe. Captain patties is by far the best sea food place in town. Don't bother going any place else. And don't bother shopping other restaurants for pricing because we've done it for you. Captain P's is spenddie but fair and 100% worth it!
If/when we return to Homer for another trip if this place is still up and running we'll for sure stay here again!
Like i said Ann is a wonderful host and even when we sprong potentially staying another night (which she didn't have avail) she went out of her way to try and find us another place to stay! She made many calls on our behalf while we set out and did the Homer thing! Simply amazing!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AruoraKode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stay here with my wife and sister-in-law while visiting my niece who lives in Homer. Beautiful view of the bay and the mountain range! There were a couple of ships in the bay while we were visiting which was kinda neat at night seeing them out there with their lights on. The house oil heater worked like a champ! Couple of the morning we a little nippy downstairs, but after turning on the heater that quickly changed. Downstairs has the kitchen on one side with a full sized table and chairs. Misc dishes, pans, et are in the cupboards for those looking to do a bit of cooking on their own. Fireplace, chairs and sofa on the other side of the first floor. Second floor is a living room area and TV, with a side door leading to 2 bunk beds and laundry facilities. Upstairs houses a total of 3 beds and a bath. A small bath (toilet and sink) is also downstairs. The deck on the upper level has a walkway extending along the full length of the house with chairs and a small table. I believe there were some side benches also. Beautiful views of the bay, mountains, and a small glacier on the other side of the bay. When we checked out, the hosts were very nice and friendly. Chatted with them for 30 minutes or better. Nice people.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LordImGettingOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrkpa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

great location awesome views plus bob and anne and the dogs made it a memorable stay... my favorite of my 10 days ...made you wanna stay longer was a home away from home

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mavrkpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

The 3-BR, 3-BA Kelly House of Wild Rose Cottages was a smart choice for our 5-person family group. Communications throughout were great with Ann Hayes; it was quite refreshing to not be given lotsof rules, policies, and dictates regarding deposits, check-in/-out procedures, and guest behavior. She was always willing to offer advice on things to do (though much of it was the typical majority advice). As others have said, the view and the distance from the commercial clutter make the locale worth the drive up the hill from town. The location is a short drive to the Wynn Nature Center Trails and we saw a moose en route.

The property was well-kept and had new or recent furniture and supplies. Kitchen supplies were plentiful, though some were leftovers from previous guests (but of the long-shelf-life kind).

An added bonus was being given a discounted rate upon checkout. Even at full rate ($250/night in summer '08), it was a good value.

Would agree with the minor demerits for clutter/knick-knacks and owners' dogs. The latter were friendly to the point of being slightly pesky, so you have to be at least dog-tolerant.

  • Liked — Friendly owner, rate
  • Disliked — Distance From Town and Other Cabins in Group
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

Wild Rose Cottages was a great place for my 11 year old son and I to stay during our 4 nights in Homer. Ann is just the nicest person imaginable. She has two darling dogs who hung out with us much to my sons delight.
We stayed in the smallest of the cottages. It had a full sized bed and a chair that folded into a bed. My son was fine on the chair- especially since it gave him a great view of the TV. My bed was super comfortable. I agree with one of the other reviewers that there might be a few too many nicknacks around- making it a bit difficult to find places for our stuff. But that really wasn't that big of a deal to us.
There was a nice kitchen and it was very clean. It's not truly a bed and breakfast because there is no breakfast- but we just purchased some food at the nearby Safeway and that was fine. The view was visible to us and was lovely. And I really liked being outside of the spit- which is pretty touristy. The location is great- just about 6 minutes from the spit.
I would recommend it- for sure. It's not for people who are used to deluxe hotels but is a very quaint, "homey" place to stay.

  • Liked — location, hostess
  • Disliked — clutter
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

We spent 3 nights at the Wild Rose, in the Homestead Cabin (smallest). My biggest complaint was the musty odor, which set off my allergies, and that not all the windows have drapes or shades. With long summer daylight hours it makes it tough to sleep. This particular cabin had hardly any view as it sits behind the main house. It's an old cabin that was added onto, and is squeaky. There's a funky swinging saloon type door into the bathroom which was noisy. There was a coffee maker, small fridge, and microwave.

The setting for Wild Rose is lovely, up on the hill overlooking Homer and the ocean, but as one guest commented, trees have grown up obstructing much of the view. The bed was comfortable, and hosts were outstanding. They told us stories of the area, and Ann went out of her way to help us arrange a fishing/bear viewing trip out of Solodtna when our Katmai bearviewing trip was cancelled due to bad weather. We had to leave a day early and she didn't charge us for the cancelled night. Ann even made the call for me at her expense and time, and was anxious for us to have a good experience.

The owners have 3 dogs who were very friendly, and we were told that bear come through the property regularly. We actually hoped to see one but didn't.

If in Homer again, we might look at staying somewhere else, particularly because of the mustiness of the cabins. Can't say enough though about the wonderful hosts.

  • Liked — Hosts and setting
  • Disliked — Old squeaky, musty cabin
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed in the Northern Exposure Cabin for 2 nights last week. This is a rustic cabin with a kitchen. It would work well for those trying to save a few dollars on food (you'll need to, trust me). The front porch is large and wonderful. The cabin is a duplex and there was someone staying next door. We did not hear them. The view has been somewhat overgrown by trees, but would be wonderful if it were trimmed up. Ann was wonderful and suggested some good places to eat. I would stay here again. It's a couple of miles outside of the Homer Spit, but it's also quiet and peaceful.

  • Liked — Value pricing, saved money on food.
  • Disliked — The view was blocked by trees
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.0 km away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.3 km away
Almost Home Accommodations
1.9 km away
Whalesong Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
5.5 km away
Juneberry Lodge
Juneberry Lodge
#5 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.6 km away
Pioneer Inn Homer
Pioneer Inn Homer
#9 of 41 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rose Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rose Cottages

Property: Wild Rose Cottages
Address: Homer, AK 99603
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing