We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
293
107
13
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
107
13
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews made to order breakfast shuttle service mendenhall glacier close to the airport quaint hotel breakfast was included young ladies grandma's house jacuzzi tub downtown juneau room rate hot breakfast breakfast was amazing shower curtain in town the ground floor spacious room
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 423 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

Grandmas featherbed close to the airport very clean very friendly with a nice selection of breakfast. The cold selection is free while there is a charge for a hot breakfast. Shuttle to the airport was very easy to use and on time. Also able to drop off frozen goods to be kept in the freezer overnight. I stayed in room 201 which is a very large room very pretty on the front of the hotel. As you can tell from the pictures it is a nice small Best western very pretty little hotel. 201 is on the front of the building so surprisingly there is a little road noise and also there are lights in the front of the building. Also steep stairs to get to your room if you have heavy luggage probably you should select the ground floor.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Southernpoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja C, Manager at Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review of our property. We appreciate your feedback. Just to clarify, the made-to-order breakfast is included with your stay. We charge for the breakfast only if you are not a guest of the hotel. We do not have an elevator, but our staff is more than happy to help with luggage. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Mechaela was on duty when we arrived and was super helpful. She had some great tips on a local lunch spot and how to get around town. Friendly and helpful staff really makes a difference. Thanks Mechaela!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja C, Manager at Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review and kind comments for Mechaela and our staff. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Quaint Best Western hotel. Each room is different similar to a bed and breakfast. Not worth the extra money over the standard Best Western down the street (same owner). No king size beds!!! Staff was OK nothing special, not very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOM Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja C, Manager at Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. As you may know, Grandma's Feather Bed has only 14 rooms total. Only one of these rooms has a king-sized bed. We appreciate your feedback and will reevaluate different options for room configurations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018

This is a delightful small hotel, close to the airport but many miles from downtown Juneau. It is associated with Best Western, and must be one of the most unusual Best Western’s. But be careful: our taxi driver left us off at a different Best Western about a quarter mile away. The two hotels share a shuttle service, so we were driven to the proper venue in the shuttle, and to the airport the next morning. The quaint hotel is located on a busy street with a quiet wooded area behind. Every room has a Jacuzzi bathtub, which can sort of accommodate two people; it also has a shower. Our room was attractive, with a comfortable bed, a mini-fridge, and a toilet in a room separate from the sink and the tub. The small hotel has a small, pleasant-appearing restaurant. We were initially disappointed to learn that the restaurant was closed the evening we were there, but then pleasantly surprised to discover that on days the restaurant is closed, the kitchen is still functioning and you can order room service from the menu. (The portions are large, the food was good though not great, and the place apparently does not have an alcohol license. People leaving for early morning flights are nicely accommodated by grab-and-go breakfast bags and/or a partial breakfast buffet that was ready before 5 a.m.) The person who served us at the front desk was helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear are probably quieter
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja C, Manager at Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Thank you for your kind review of our property. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others. As you mentioned above, both our Best Western's share the same courtesy shuttle. You can call from the airport or ferry terminals using the courtesy phone in the baggage areas and we will pick you up for either property. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We stayed here for three nights before getting on a cruise and really enjoyed it. The location is outside of Juneau in the Mendenhall Valley very close to the airport. On the one hand, there is not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, but the staff are very helpful with information about where to go and how to get there, there is a shuttle to the downtown area every two hours, and we liked being out of the cruise ship crowds. Our room (137) was good sized with a large jetted tub in the room. The only downsides to our room were (1) there was not enough storage space for us to unpack very much at all -- no dresser and a very small wardrobe, (2) the blinds did not shut out light very well, and (3) we were right by the back door and staff came in and out very early in the morning. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja C, Manager at Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear the staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews