We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour Guide”

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guide”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We had Tick-Tack as our guide and she was very entertaining and great fun. We highly recommend signing up for the Saxman Village and wildlife tour. Very interesting to see the salmon and eagles. Dolly's is interesting, but not a required stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    10
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Worthless tour of Ketchikan tour despite very good guide”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We arrived in Ketchikan on a cruise and were promised to be shown totem park along with wilderness. We were lucky to get very knowledgeable bus driver-guide, so first part – totem park was very educational. However, the second part -wild life – was a joke. Our first intended stop was on the bridge to look for sea lions hunting salmon, but driver told us that only bus is permitted to stop at this bridge and if stops he can be fined $100, so he suggested that we walk to this bridge on our own after the tour (we followed his advice, and it was our best wild life experience in Ketchikan). Our next stop was parking lot of near a boat dock where 2 bold eagles were unfortunate to built their nest, so now every 15 minutes a tour bus comes to this parking lot to look at eagles and their baby… Our third stop was an abounded parking lot across private boardwalk that cruise build for their more expensive “wilderness tours”. That boardwalk leads to salmon hatchery, so there is a good chance that bears would come to hunt salmon. If they come, they can be seen from the parking lot as well even though a binocular would be helpful, we didn’t see bears, but bus driver told us that at least on tour a day sees bears and I believe him. Our last wilderness stop was a small waterfall near a road – nothing special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurmont, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guide was very knowledgeable”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The guide (I believe it was Jason) was very knowledgeable about totems and totem carving as well as the local wildlife. We didn't get to see bears as they weren't out but the information provided was very educational

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfafftown, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great tour of Ketchikan”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We arrived in Ketchikan on a cruise without any plans for the day. When we got off the ship we went into the Ketchikan Tours & Attractions building where they were selling discounted tours of the area. We decided on the Totem Tour due to a reasonable fee and relatively short duration. Our tour guide was Ray, an older gentleman (he said he was 72) who has lived his entire life in the Ketchikan area. He was very informative and his anecdotal accounts of the history were very enjoyable. We visited the Saxman (sp?) totem park and Ray spent some time explaining what each of the totems represented. He showed us all around the city and dropped us off at Creek street with directions for returning to the ship. Overall, it was a very enjoyable tour and I highly recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank G8RRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sea Plane Tour”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I booked a sea plane tour through Misty Fjords with this company. Unfortunately it rained in the morning and when I checked in with them at the Ketchikan Alaska Visitor Center, I found out all helicopters and sea planes were grounded. I waited around for 1 1/2 hours only to find out the female representative was not doing her best to find me a tour that was starting to fly. She sat around waiting for people to call her back rather than being proactive and calling around. At the end of 1 1/2 hours she told me no company was flying yet. After speaking with another company, he informed he had sent out his sea plane 1/2 hour prior and they were flying. A wasted time with Alaska Sourdough Tours. JR

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bklynbabe1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alaska Sourdough Tours also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Sourdough Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing