We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have eaten at several restraunts around Ketchikan and find that Cape Fox Lodge has the best well rounded menu specializing in seafood. The halibut chips were wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Cape Fox Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

Cape Fox Lodge is a pretty place in a beautiful setting, but suffers from some quality issues both in terms of facilities and staff. We spent two nights here in January, 2012. Although we almost didn't get there because the shuttle driver went to the airport ferry dock instead of the AK marine highway ferry dock, where we had called twice to say we were waiting. The manager apologized profusely for our 45 minute wait out in the cold.

Our room was OK, good bed and hot shower, but it was extremely warm (~80 degrees) and we had trouble sleeping the first night. The knob on the heater was non-sensical and the room stayed very hot even after the manager turned it off, and we used an electric fan to blow air out the open window (remember, this is January and it is about 30 degrees outside). Both knobs on the windows were broken off and one window actually had been screwed shut so that it could not be opened, even in an emergency! The other thing with the room is the lack of electrical outlets that could be reached, there were very few, all hidden behind large pieces of furniture.

On our second day the Tram, used to reach downtown, was closed because of "a funny sound", and stayed closed for the rest of our stay. So in the dark we negotiated the slippery, winding Married Man's path on a skim of snow and ice, for the 300 or so vertical feet down to town, and then back up again.

The worst single issue was rock and roll music resonating through our room beginning at 8 pm and lasting till after 11 pm. The first night we tried to ignore it, but the second night, unable to sleep I dressed and walked down to the office after 11 pm and described the bass and drums as somewhere between Iron Maiden and Twisted Sister, or whatever their modern equivalents are. The manager instantly said "oh, it's the kitchen staff" and shuttled off to deal with it. That was the end of it, but still it seemed inexcusable in what should be a quiet hotel in January. We were almost the only guests here. I pictured a dazed 20-year-old dishwasher head banging his way through his shift. This might not be a problem in other rooms. Ours, room 240 was directly above the kitchen--avoid this room!

Breakfast in the Lodge restaurant was very good, and a fairly good deal at $7.99 each. We had tried to find breakfast in town and the Pioneer Cafe was $11.99 or more for something similar, on seats with large tears in them. We tried to find a sit-down dinner spot, but instead punted with a Subway sandwich in the room after a man who worked in the food industry complained to us that there was nothing acceptable in Ketchikan. We had looked at several places but everything seemed substandard yet very expensive. And some still allow smoking in the restaurant, which is unacceptable.

The Jitters coffee shop lady was nice and had some interesting coffee varieties for sale, but she botched grinding our coffee for a French Press--I specifically told her to grind it coarse. So she comes back and says here, it's ground for drip or espresso. Hello?? Please get an education about coffee grinding if you are going to run a coffee shop and sell bags of coffee to people from Seattle.

In summary, almost everything went wrong on our stay at Cape Fox Lode. I would not stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid a room anywhere near the hard rockers in the kitchen (north side, mountain view)!! They have...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trekkin_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have stayed,worked and ate at this Hotel and resturaunt for several years. I'm heartboken that the numshe coffee shop will be closing it's doors on the 20th. This coffee shop is the first thing customers see when they pull up to the front doors of the hotel. Hanna our barrista, Hands down, makes the best coffee in Ketchikan. It would be a shame and a great dis-service to Cape-Fox if their were no coffee shop to come to. The rooms are nice, not as comfortable as some I have had the pleasure of staying in. The food is awsome, The chef and Kitchen staff Work very hard to provide a beutiful menu and the food itself is out of this world. The resturaunt staff to the front desk staff and in between are wounderful people. These folks go out of there way to make sure the guest are taken care of. Overall this hotel would be a very nice place to come and visit.

Room Tip: The outer core rooms are quieter. However if you need an elevator you will want to be on the main l...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Cape Fox Lodge is really well positioned with access almost directly down onto Creek Street. Comfortable rooms, good restaurant and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are really worth paying the little extra for.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoroniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed four nights at the Cape Fox lodge, nesteled in the hills above Ketchikan, easy tram down to the "Creek Steet" historic district and easy walk into town, minutes from the Totem Heritage Center, a must see, and the Fish Hatchery. We followed the signs from the lodge, and walked over a bridge where the salmon were spawning in vast numbers below us. We also rented a car while in Ketchikan, highly recommended, and drove to the Pioneer Park and did the rain forest hike there, beautiful, and an easy hike. We bought the "Misty Fjords" flight and I would highly recommend this--flying above the fjords was one of the most incredible sights I have seen anywhere...we landed on a lake, walked out on a rock platform.Back to the lodge--it is rustic in some of the rooms, water can accumulate on the windows incessantly and is clearly a challenge for maintenance. I did not mind, the bath room was very clean and the bedroom as well. Room was equipped with fridge and microwave. Eating in Ketchikan, I highly recommend the lodge restaurant. I was cautious given some of the other reviews, and we ate at several other restaurants in town, but dinner was more predictable at the Lodge, the food was good, go with the specials. At the other restaurants (Fish Pirate, Annabelles) our food was mediocre and the charge was just about as high as the Lodge.Having a car was very nice, cheaper than buying the tours to see bears, and totem parks, and could do all on our own timetable. Recommend: Bight Totem Park, nice variety of totems, Saxman park and bear viewing off the road at Herring Cove. We had a wonderful vacation in Ketchikan! Final note on the lodge: Great service in the coffee cafe and restaurant, service at the front desk was great during the day, more uneven in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Compassrose50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We chose this lodge in Ketchikan to be close but not too close to the downtown action. After arriving at 5:30am we caught a cab to the hotel ($11). At a more civilized hour the city bus ($1, get off at Creek Street) or the hotel van would have been better transportation options. They let us in our room because it was not occupied, something we appreciated and needed after such an early start. Loved the northwest native artifacts onsite and the woodsy feeling up on the ridge.

Did not love the too-firm beds and the spotty wi-fi coverage in the buildings. One day it worked in the lobby, the next in the bar, another time on the second level, and once or twice in the room. Our view was mostly obscured by the fogged window (between the panes). Cape Fox could easily get a higher rating if they attended to the little things like these. Don't shower with the door open even a crack, as you will set off the smoke detectors. One thing I would tell the lodge is to clear out the alders growing on the city side of the complex--they are quickly growing into the view that we paid a premium for and there is plenty of other vegetation to preserve the forested effect.

A funicular (free for guests) takes people from the lodge to Creek Street below, or you can walk up and down on a trail and stairs to town. Cape Fox Lodge is in a great position to walk to almost everything from tours to trails. With thousands of people disembarking cruise ships each day, I was happy to be a bit above the downtown streets. We departed in the afternoon and were able to take advantage of the complimentary Cape Fox van.

Room Tip: From downtown looking up at the lodge it appeared that the highest levels of the 400 building might...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DigginWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great place to stay and convenient, but don't both eating at the resturant!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aksweetie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 km away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
338 reviews
3.5 km away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
377 reviews
0.4 km away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
111 reviews
3.6 km away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.4 km away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $163 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan
Cape Fox Lodge Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing