We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Evening!

We took a boat cruise with Marty and Marion at the end of June 2018. We had an amazing evening. We... read more

Reviewed July 26, 2018
kirstenjb15
,
Atlanta, Georgia
via mobile
Unique boat cruise with an amazing dining experience!

Marty and Marion are extremely gracious hosts. We truly enjoyed our evening aboard the Sea Breeze... read more

Reviewed May 29, 2018
Daniella_Ambro
,
Eagle River, Alaska
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
18
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wealth of knowledge delicious dinner boat cruise pineapple sea lions marty dessert expert dip cove wildlife island
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2015

This is a bit pricey but well worth the expense. It is a cozy cruise around the area. You will see harbor seals, puffins, oyster catchers, eagles as well as sea otters. To start your evening, you will be introduced to the animals you will likely see. In addition, Marion will delight your senses with some mouth watering appetizers. Our night included a salmon and pineapple dip paired with chips and green apples along with halibut rolls. Dinner included a light pasta salad served over fresh greens, red salmon over rainbow orzo will dill sauce and a fresh nectarine salad. The night was complete with a final cruise into the harbor and a spectacular trifle dessert consisting of vanilla pudding, lemon poppyseed cake cubes, rhubarb sauce and candied ginger! If you have the opportunity, don't pass on this one. Book before it is too late as this dinner cruise seats 6 making it all the more cozy but tough to get in on short notice. Marty and Marion's hospitality is remarkable as they make everyone feel welcome.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank AKReviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2015

On a chilly gray day, we tendered ashore from a cruise ship to take a cruise around the harbor with Marty and Mario (not the gourmet dinner they also offer, but this was the only place tripadvisor would let me review them). What a great experience we had! Their yacht was charming, filled with good smells (from coffee and freshly baked savory pastries), comfortable seats, rugs on the floor and bird/animal-spotting books and binocs. The yacht had wrap-around windows to see the view if you didn't want to go outside or up top. We saw sea ottesr, lots of sea lions, and several types of sea birds including terns, cormorants and an eagle, up close. Sadly no whales. Kodiak has an incredibly scenic harbor with little rocky, ttree-capped islands nearby and beautiful snow-capped mountains off in the distance. So the day was a success, even tho' the weather really wasn't great, mostly due to the kind and experienced hosts (Marty was the harbor master, Marion a photographer). I'd love to return and stay in their B&B and join them in a meal afloat.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2014

You will find this event a very relaxed but pleasurable experience. Marty and Marion are excellent at educating you on the area, wildlife, and of course providing an excellent meal. The small group experience is great. Both have a wealth of experience on the area, with Marty being a native of Kodiak. Boat is excellent and the tour of the area is great. A few nit picks, tour is a bit pricey, and is now $150 per person, although when I booked it the web site said $140. If you want wine or beer bring your own which is no big deal as a liquor store is nearby, although a free glass would have been nice to have for the price of experience. Marion is also a well versed photo expert !
Well worth doing and you will be happy with the experience.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Marty is the past harbor master of Kodiak. Marion is a columnist in the local paper and a photographer/cook/gardener extraordinaire. As a team they are hard to beat. We had booked a day trip with them to Long Island, site of a WWII fort during the war with plenty of structures still to be viewed. (Marty had played here as a child) It was such a grand time with good people that we wanted to extend the day, and there had been a cancellation for their gourmet cruise in the evening, which we were delighted to fill. There was wildlife to view, the cruise itself, and a wonderful meal prepared by Marion and served in a quiet cove. We stopped by their bed and breakfast the next morning to see more of Marion's photos and to tour her garden, where much of her food is grown. All of us, my wife, our 11 year old daughter and myself rated this as a highlight of the trip. Our daughter wants to move to Kodiak and get a job on their boat! A high recommendation. The boat is large enough to sit indoors comfortably below (lots of windows) or in the enclosed pilot's house that Marty has added. Everything is kept ship shape, neat and tidy. You feel confident in the captain. Be sure to supply your number and/or call to confirm that the weather and number of guests is appropriate to cruise.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank SkipJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I loved this tour which Marty took us on. I was concerned I may feel queasy and sea sick and not enjoy the meal but the evening was lovely and we moored in a sheltered cove with great views of sea birds and islands. We saw lots of birds and eagles, sea otters and it was a totally wonderful experience. The people included were wonderful and the smallish number of people meant we could all enjoy a meal and converse together as a whole which is something you miss with a large group.
And the food - to die for! I can still taste how gorgeous the meal was, from the nibbles to start to the dessert to finish - all prepared by Marion.
Top class and a must for anyone to do whilst visiting Kodiak.
I travelled on my own and Marion and Marty made me feel comfortable and relaxed. Thankyou both for such an enjoyable and memorable time.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank JHJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews