We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cabin with lovely hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
A Cabin by the Pond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Cabin by the Pond.
Dream Cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
A Cabin by the Pond.
Dream Cabin
Melba moose with two calfs laying on the lawn.
Joy cabin
Gratitude Cabin.
Gratitude Cabin
Dream Cabin
Chapel Lodge
Historic Log Lodge
Peace Within Cabin
Serenity Cabin
Serenity Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Soldotna, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susanne H
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cabin with lovely hosts”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for four nights in the Dream Cabin. It was perfect for the two of us. Very comfortable bed, well stocked kitchen, bathroom small, but totally okay. Fast wi/fi. Enjoyed the setting of the cabins under the spruces, very peaceful and quiet. The hosts were very inviting and helpful. We enjoyed the campfire in the evening, everything was provided, even all the ingredients to roast some S'mores. Around the lot a lot of building is going on, so no moose Melba, but a fun squirrel looking for peanuts fed out of the hands. Supermarkets and restaurants are a few minutes drive away. Overall a great place to stay, we absolutely enjoyed our time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: nice setting, cozy cabin
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysmeta...
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This place is awesome! We were treated so well by Millie and Paul and the resident squirrels! We got to mingle and chat with other guests by the fire each night and have smores that were provided to us by Millie and Paul. The cabin was clean and full of everything we needed. It was a nice, enjoyable experience and we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of the family setting
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifiduded...
Arvada, CO
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We hope to come back again!”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked the Peace Within cabin for our stay in Soldotna. We were very happy here. The cabins were really clean and had everything you could need for your stay. The grounds themselves were spotless. Paul and Millie do an excellent job of visiting with guests while maintaining excellent accommodation standards. The location is very convenient to town but still manages to be quite peaceful. We enjoyed the fire circle at night and the s'mores with other guests. You can choose to socialize with other guests or find your own little peaceful place on your porch and still have a good time. We definitely plan to come back with our family and take one of the larger cabins for our stay. Thanks Millie and Paul for the great visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: The signs need to be a little more visible. The bushes are growing over them so it might be hard for others to find the sign unless they know where to look.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B90
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed our stay in the Serenity cabin and the hosts were very nice and accommodating. The grounds are very pretty and well kept. The cabin had everything that we needed. The property is conveniently located close to town and not too far from river access. I would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanC1952
Leavenworth, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Cabin by the Pond - our favorite spot in Alaska!”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed @ "A Cabin by the Pond" for two days & wished we could have stayed longer. The camp hosts: Millie & Paul were friendly, helpful & very accommodating to our needs. We actually stayed in two different cabins; The JOY cabin & Peace Within cabin. The cabins were both decorated & furnished with beautiful items. The beds were so comfortable...we didn't want to get out of bed.
The highlight of our stay...of course...was seeing Misty the mama moose & her twins!
She visited both days we were there...and stayed for awhile...so we could get lots of terrific photo's. Also...we loved feeding Jerome the resident squirrel & her two babies. She was really stock piling the peanuts...getting ready for a cold winter, I guess?
A Cabin by the Pond was everything & MORE that it was advertised to be!!
We LOVED every minute of our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife
Liked least: no answer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juddbrink
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
“A Cabin by the Pond was the highlight of our Alaska Adventure experience!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A Cabin by the Pond is located in Soldotna, AK an area close to great fishing and wildlife viewing. One of the reasons we choose to stay here was an opportunity to see a moose that often visits the pond. We also wanted to stay in cabin in the woods as part of our Alaskan experience and searched online and found them and watched the moose video. We made reservations right away to stay here instead of what the tour company had suggested. Within in hour of checking in we got a knock on the door "the moose are here" my dad and I scrambled to get out the door with our cameras and phones. We watched "Misty the moose" and her twins standing in the pond for 40 minutes! Now I am taking my own photos and videos of the moose like I saw from their website. This was very entertaining and made our stay extra special. The caretakers are wonderful people who made sure everything was great during our stay including buying fans for our cabin during the warm weather. I would highly recommend visiting their website and make a reservation you will never forget seeing the moose if they decide to show up! Thank you to A Cabin by the Pond for making this trip extra special for my dad and I.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSchmit...
Chugiak, Alaska
1 review
“LOVED!!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

No words can describe how AMAZING this place is. I traveled with my father, mother, and daughter. We stayed two nights in the Gratitude cabin. Upon arrival we were tired an annoyed by our trip aboard the Kenai Fjords tours, but our host Millie was so patient and understanding. She waited up for us until almost 10:00 pm and had movies ready for my daughter (6 years of age) to settle in. The next day we got home from a long day in Homer and there was a gift at the front door for my daughter. Paul and Millie had wrapped hot cocoa up for her.
I work in the medical field so cleanliness was EXTREMELY important to me, and the cabin was above my level of satisfaction. I even watched them clean the cabin next to me and they washed everything and cleaned thoroughly.
The location is GREAT if you want to travel to Homer and Seward. There are several restaurants and stores less than a mile away. If your a Green Bay Packers Fan, you must stop at PJ's for breakfast.
I can not brag enough about the cabins. Just book already and enjoy.
PS.... Millie and Paul deserve a PAY RAISE :)

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing